Shahbaz Sharif vs Doctors

Re: Shahbaz Sharif vs Doctors

I'll bring a few things in perspective, firstly according to the advertisement the government is paying doctors over 60000 however in reality they are being paid 42000 rupees. A guy working in the bureaucracy in grade 17 earns between 55000 and 65000. The doctors who are being portrayed as villains work long hours (30 hours) once or twice a week. They are asking for a service structure which the government promised during the previous strike but backed off later (which has been the hallmark of this government). As far as people getting killed in hospitals, I'll repeat again only OPDs are closed emergencies are open.

The underlying point that has everyone ticked off is the fact that the medical profession is one of the few where you take an oath to protect lives....and that oath is not dependent on the amount they are paid. The doctors have a right to protest, and demand more money, but they should not have the right to go on extended strikes, regardless of how mundane the strike is being made out to be (only OPD, etc). Most, if not all doctors, run private practices on the side, so it is not as if they are pressed for money.
They could have chosen to verbally protest, without suspending an medical services. They did the same last year, and that is what throws people off.

Im pretty sure it is a small gangster minority that is running the entire thing, threatening others into joining. There must be scores of responsible young doctors who want to go back to work, but are scared of their peers.

Obviously there's a lot of history to these strikes, as the doctors have been peacefully demanding the same for as long as the government is there. I for one know the situation very closely, it's very easy to pass judgements. My brother and his wife both are doctors both earning 42000 each, deduct taxes and if you are living in a rental house that's around 30000 per month on average in Lahore and the impact of hyper inflation. It's not easy to pass your month on the salary that these guys receive, anyways I guess it's tough luck to the doctors, they will leave when they will have enough or when they get a chance.

^^ Just because they are making 42,000 each, it gives them right to refuse to attend 1.5 year old baby and let him die.... Great logic i must say!!!

Your logic is absurd. Doctors or any other professionals are leaving Pakistan from the very first day.

I have firm belief if any of Young Doctors or leeches get a chance they will not spend a second in Pakistan. The current strike shows we are not producing doctors they are Frankenstein, i mean give me freaking break what kind a heart they have to leave a 2 year old kid to die?

Screw the doctors on strike, hang them.

If the kid is so serious what is he doing in the opd in the first place? Why isn't he in the emergency which is open? The government is lying as in their add they are claiming the salaries of doctors to be over 60000 when in reality they are paying 42000.

Yeah no kid died it is all lies... tell that to the parents of the kid!!! infact no one suffered from strike... people are all healthy and wealthy and are just visiting hospitals to join hands with the doctors... if no kid have being died then i believe everyone but the doctors are lying...

anyway, just for a argument sake, let us believe the kid is dead, can the doctors bring him back once their demands are met???

BTW, people only die in emergency, if they are under treatment in other wards, they cannot die if doctors refuse to treat them, is that what you are saying... since brother is doctor, you can tell us this and since he is doctor, he is all humane.... may be the kid was destined to die this way

Does government doing stupid things give licence to doctors doing stupid things too?

I agree that the matter has been mis-handled by Punjab government. They should have just asked the doctors to look at their contracts when they signed up for the job and see if anything to the contrary is being done to them. In my knowledge, the doctors are getting what they signed up for.

Regarding long duty hours and lesser pay, this has been a norm for decades now. Not long ago, recent graduates were paid ~Rs.5,000 per month and did the same duties as the current ones are doing. They always considered first few years of government service as training on the job and accumulating social capital what would be useful for private practices later.

A win-win situation would be to ask the government to match the salary and "perks" of doctors to those of military officers (even though doctors are much better qualified) or bring the higher ones down.

My brother is posted in emergency and he is going to his job, any how the issue has been mishandled by Punjab government they need to do some soul searching as well. The other day a channel was asking a woman about the problem due to doctors strike and she said yes she is facing problem in finding blood. For Gods sake...

The media isnt highlighting everything.

Do you know they arrsted a doctor on duty while rescusitation of a patient and beat him up? And the other doctor had to run away..and that person died..whose fault? Doctors again??

And do u even know, they arrested six fourth year students from services hospital from the hostels??? Can you believe it, students?!?!? who arent even doctors yet and had nothing to do wih Yda!

But why would media highlight those things? They are highlighting evey damn death as a fault of drs even if it's a natural one.

I didnt agree with YDA's strikes initially but after last night's escapade and the blatant one sided media stories, am sorry they are being forced to turn into ghundas!

^^ they are of much higher status then Ghundas, even Ghundas won't let die any person they don't hate!!! but only our doctors specially these young ones have tendency to do that!!!

This whole issue is of broken promises, the problem started during pervaiz illahis government when he started inducting people on contract. On contract you get a fixed salary which does not have many allowances, and it does not have the yearly increments. Their salaries were less than even constables, they requested the present government to see to the issue but nothing happened. Then they protested peacefully and nothing happened, then they carried out a strike and the government didnt bother. Now the salary has been increased as compared to before, but still lesser as compared to their compatriots in similar grades. Anyhow during the last strike the government convinced the doctors to end their strike on the promise of solving their demand regarding their service structure. Again nothing happened leading to another strike. In other countries governments facilitate doctors and give them more salaries as compared to their compatriots and it's the opposite in Pakistan.

I would want to know how would parents feel over arest of their innocent fourth year students right from the hostels without any reason? Did you even read my whole post about the reason the death occurred at mayo hospital? Talk about the crap treatment.

So in a nut shell it is money which these doctors are after, why they agreed to have this job or even bothered to enter the medical schools in Pakistan when they knew that the salaries aren't high enough??? I mean why to waste tax payers money on their education?

At that time they use all kind of efforts to get enrolled in the medical college, later they do whatever it takes to find a job in govt hospitals... didn't they knew what they salary is going to be at the time of taking up the JOB??? Didn't they knew what is the demand of this profession while getting admission in medical colleges???

These students are at least still alive... i wonder if all these doctors can bring the dead ones back??? the one died because their sheer greed

I hope Doctors can enjoy the scene

Is this how women doctors should be treated? :slight_smile:

am appalled and shocked honestly!

actually they should be treated worst then that, scumbags !

^so if these female doctors who WERE working in the wards and emergencies FYI should be treated worse than this according to you.. God help this country then !

kaam kero to tab bhi laathi charge na kero to tab bhi chaapay... WAH ..kya insaaf hai !

Finally this is the perspective of a doctor himself.

A plea from a young doctor – The Express Tribune Blog

**Finally this is the perspective of a doctor himself.

A plea from a young doctor – The Express Tribune Blog

**Dear people,

**I do not receive any pay, perks or privileges for my job. I have to work 28 days a month with only two Sundays off. Every week, I have to perform emergency duties at least once for 12 continuous hours, apart from ward duties that extend up to 30 consecutive hours.

**Who am I?

You guessed it – I am a young doctor working in a public sector hospital in Pakistan.

This hospital is in Punjab and I’ve been working here for some time now. There are three main departments in any hospital namely the emergency department, the indoor department and the outdoor department. **The emergency department (ER) is open 24 hours a day and caters to patients who are acutely ill. The outdoor department functions eight hours a day for patients who are ill but their basic functional capacity is not massively impaired. Patients who need monitoring and further treatment are admitted in the indoor department.
**My colleagues and I are in the eye of the storm because of our demand to formulate a service structure for doctors. The same demand was made by doctors at the time when my father graduated form medical school back in 1980.
The attitude of successive governments has not changed in the slightest in the last 33 years. **After last year’s protests, the government had promised to act upon grievances of doctors and that included the demand for a service structure. After countless committees and deliberations held amongst doctors and representatives of the government, a proposed plan was presented. However, it was rejected by the health department of the Government of Punjab in the end.

****The deadline given by the government expired on June 7, 2012. Following that, seminars were conducted throughout the province by the Young Doctors Association (YDA) to enlighten the medical community about what the service structure is and why it is important.
In the third week of June, it was decided that until our demands are met, Outdoor Patient Departments (OPDs) will remain closed. This was meant to be a token gesture and not a full fledged protest because patients from OPDs could go to the ER – which they do a lot of times to get the required treatment.
Like last year, the electronic media went in an overdrive in their propaganda against young doctors and their ‘brutality’.

Despite getting bruised multiple times by the bitter truth espoused by representatives of young doctors, TV anchors and reporters went on defaming my profession and my fellow professionals. I must admit that in the last few years there have been isolated incidences in which some members of the YDA behaved rudely with people and there were instances of physical fights but that has been an exception, not a rule. It should not be forgotten that the same doctors closed OPDs last year and worked in tents outside their hospitals in return for no fee from patients.

**The intransigence shown by the Punjab government in this aspect is shameful, to say the least. It has disgraced itself and its employees. Let me recount the tactics used by the state machinery in this whole scenario.
**First came the threats; a notification was immediately issued which cancelled leave for all employees and emphasised that no one should abstain from their duty. In case of absence, arrest by the police was stated as a threat to doctors.

Then came the news that army doctors have been called in to fill in for us in the government hospitals. There was a deliberate misinformation campaign started by the Punjab government against doctors, portraying them as mercenaries. As proven by a representative of YDA, the figures given in those ads are totally wrong.
**On Sunday night, a meeting involving the leaders of YDA was disrupted by the police and doctors were arrested. It was accompanied by vandalism in the doctors’ hostel in Services Hospital, Lahore. Some medical students were even arrested and various wards, including the ER, were thrashed.

After such appalling actions against us, doctors are thinking of shutting down the indoor departments as well.
The major questions being raised these days are:

1. Why are doctors protesting?

2. Should doctors go on strikes?

3. Why are people dying while doctors are not providing them stipulated services?

I have answered question number one in detail above. Regarding the third question, I will reiterate that closure of OPDs does not lead to any deaths because patients in a critical condition are attended to in the emergency departments of major hospitals. Isolated incidents in smaller cities should not mean doctors are simply not working at other places. The most important question is question number two.

**Doctors, like other professionals, are also human beings. Doctors, like other human beings, also have needs and demands. If a whole year of protests and committees could not procure a change in the stances of the opposing party, what are we supposed to do next? Are we to start immolating petrol pumps and blocking roads?

**I believe the smear campaign, started by Khadim-e-Ala’s government, should be countered by doctors- and they are doing so, as much as they can, by participating in talk shows. Unfortunately, we do not enjoy endless state resources to get ads printed in national newspapers nor do we have the ears of media personnel close to our pockets. What we can do is plea, and that is what I am doing.

**My fellow countrymen, we are not the aggressors or brutes. We never wished harm for any of our patients. The only option left for us─ if the government does not accede─ is to either leave the profession or leave the country.
If you cannot help us with this, please do not start believing in the state’s propaganda without finding out for yourselves. That is the least you can do for all the services we have provided you in the past.

Yours truly,
A young doctor