Sensitive Question re: Ethnicity

Re: Sensitive Question re: Ethnicity

HA!

So what? It's not skin colour that matters...It's where the heart is that does...HA!

I always put other or mixed...

Thats very bizarre! When i filled in my daughters nursery form they had millions of different boxes under ethnicity and still "other" if ur child was none of them. Over here they normally have a box for "white and asian" which is what my daughter is.

North Indians and Pakistani's are legally classified as caucasian.

US vs. Balsara case: 1910, the lower federal court had held that Indians were Caucasians.

Justice Sutherland of the US Supreme Court, the same judge who had declared Whites as Caucasians in Ozawa vs. US, pronounced on February 19, 1923, that Thind and other Indians were not "white," but they were Caucasian.

There's your answer :)
I just put other on all of my stuff anyway, I'm a real mutt.

Ethnicity is not inherited through a paternal or maternal line. It is a compilation of both parents. Ethnically you're Punjabi/Pathan. If you grew up in Punjab, your culture would be Punjbai. If you were born and raised in America, you would most likely have a dual culture of desi and American influences, but ethnically, you're still Punjabi/Pathan.

Ethnic: of or relating to large groups of people classed according to common racial, national, tribal, religious, linguistic, or cultural origin or background <ethnic minorities> <ethnic enclaves> b : being a member of a specified ethnic group

Thaks MS

That is a fascinating case and aside from the race stance from a US perspective, it gives us a good insight into how things were in US at one point in time :)

We get the message Pir sahib. You prolly look quasi-gora, just don’t rub it in for us kalas. And pleeze no BS about color not meaning anything for u. I bet Bhabhiji is safed as aata.

you should check off MIXED RACE or OTHER if either of these is an option.

yaar dont take it personally, shabash. The point is that immigration officials directed me to check caucasian, and thereis enough information provided in this thread to suggest that enough confusion exists on this topic that different officials may have different views.

As far as my own views, you can search my posts and see for yourlf that I said I look like an average Pakistani. dinn say arab, dinn say italian or greek or whatever.

now to cher you up...whats that song

"kalay hain toh kya hua dil walay hain"

and color has no meaning for me, colour on the other hand does, I have personally tested each colour to make sure I know what I am talking about.

Thank you, Drive Thru

I have always checked Asian myself…but there have been times…when they say it out…u dont look Asian(by that they mean chinese ofcourse)…
On my ticket though(which I got on the 28th of feb for the first time ever:crying:..the cop put me down as race was N/A…and the other was handwritten white…so watever in my book…I am still Asian in my book:D

I know mostly people in USA mistake Pakistan as in Middle East, I had lot of people arguing with me that Pakistan is not in Asia but in Middle East and I always had to give them a lesson of geography...lol

Before 9/11, I think it was even worst... someone said to me "you are very pretty, where are you from?" I said "Pakistan", the guy said "Is Pakistan in Wisconsin?"

I wanted to bang my head in the wall...

I think they should make changes in the ethnicity section on the forms and stuff, with increasing intercultural marriages and stuff; these forms aren't really collecting accurate information even if you look at it through the statistical point of view...

Lusi there is a Lahore in Virginia:D…me from Lahore:halo: