Re: Science Quiz
I didn't understand the last sentence about kite vs plane lift.
Plane lifts up because of pressure difference. Kite rises because wind pushes it up
I didn't understand the last sentence about kite vs plane lift.
Plane lifts up because of pressure difference. Kite rises because wind pushes it up
@Monk @Southie @TLK jo hota hai upar wale ki marzi se hota hai, uski marzi ke bina patta bhi ni hil sakta, lid cheez hi kya hai, upar wale ki marzi hum tuchchh manusyo ki samajh se pare hai ;)
Tuchh
If the sun is 100,000,000 (hundred million) kilometers away from earth and a very LOUD explosion occurs on the sun that radiates from its epicenter at 50,000,000 km/h, how long will it take until the sound of the explosion is heard on earth. Assume that gravity and partial pressures of the atmosphere do not effect its velocity (i.e. speed of sound is 50,000,000km/h everywhere and does not drop or change neither in velocity nor in amplitude).
Good luck!
In space, no one can hear you scream!
Well you are not in space, you are on earth. How long until you can hear?
Sound waves do not travel through space. Medium is required.
Two hours?
TLK and ANJUL probably are correct
Define "hear"
Because radio telescopes hear sun, Jupiter.
Define "hear" Because radio telescopes hear sun, Jupiter.
The question is about "sound of the explosion".
well on telescope you would see frequency appearing on a thick spectrum.
More like impulse of white noise.
well on telescope you would see frequency appearing on a thick spectrum.
More like impulse of white noise.
Can we hear sound of the explosion? Yes, we can record electromagnetic waves generated by explosion but sound waves propogate through medium and can't reach Earth.
ok.
So when you see ultrasound on a screen, do you hear it or see it ?
@Monk the question asks sound of explosion, no signal, no evidence of explosion, nothing else. Read question once again.
ok. You are right ![]()
I think.
@Monk Actually Monk you are right in concept. This can be done for that matter we need to set a device there which can convert sound wave into electromagnetic wave and a reciever on earth to convert electromagnetic wave into sound waves. But in case of Sun, we till now we cannot because temperature is very high and device will melt before reaching there.
ok. You are right :D I think.
Thank you Monk. Isn't that always the case.
This exchange concludes our series on exchanges without unleashing ones inner uglies.
Good job whoever got the answer on past page (forgot, sorry).
Sound waves are disruption waves. They require a medium (like air or water for example) to move about. The sound you hear on earth for example originates at one point and travels in all directions by disrupting the air molecules in a wave form until it reaches your ear. In water, sound is amplified which is why the inner ear of humans contains a water-based fluid called the cochlear fluid that amplifies sound.
Anyways, the probable answer is... you'll never hear it on earth because space is a vacuum almost a vacuum and does not have molecules for sound to disrupt and travel along. Other forms of energy like light can traverse through a vacuum because it is not a disruption wave but actual particles in the form of photons. Hence why you can hear sound through a wall but not see light.
But on a very technical level, apparently sound can use light as a medium to propogate on.
The last sentence confused me.