This demonstrates the above about true orbit being a collective wobble around centre of mass … so with 9 plus bodies in the system this wobble will be forever complex for the sun and every other planet in the system. And we have not even started talking about satellites (moons).
Re: Saudi cleric claims Earth is stationary, does not revolve around Sun
Yes it does … but as you get higher up the effects get more complex … Lower to the Earth there is more air and more substance and that behaves more like a gel that takes everything with it … in other words a hoverfly or hummingbird if they were constantly in the air they would remain in the same place without having to adjust due to the movement of the planet. However as you escape gravity you also escape that atmospheric inertia too … planes can’t fly high enough to escape that inertia because their ability to remain in flight is dependent on air (the atmosphere’s) presence. Gravity is less significant and the air is more significant in the troposphere. If a body escapes the atmosphere then its speed is what keeps it in orbit.
It is in actual fact falling all the time, but it never comes down to the Earth because as it falls it slips past tangentially around the Earth and remains in orbit. So objects that are in orbit are actually constantly falling in to what they are orbiting, but never actually fall because their speeds prevent them. The effect of relative motion is not present as much … Note: special relativity is a concept used to explain space and time based on the principles of relativity. It is impossible to re-enter orbit head on … a gradual trajectory has to be established as well as the optimal speed. If too fast it will not go down, if too slow it will burn up on re-entry. Sling shots are also undertaken using gravity of bodies in space. They put the object on a trajectory that would be too fast to get in to orbit but slow enough to get a power boost. What they do is they get the probe near the planet, trap it in gravitational orbit and time the escape by moving outwards at the right time … the effect is like a person pushing someone on a swing at the right time. Objects in space within the Earth’s orbital region such as satellites will traverse along the arcs, but also move up and down orbital levels to go faster or slower.
Hi Southie,
I have added the word SOMETIMES in my post. Maybe it will now make sense but let me try.
Retrograde is when any planet moves in the opposite direction than the usual (This is quite a usual planetary behaviour). Meaning if earth’s usual movement is anti-clockwise, there’ll be times when it moves clockwise (not always but SOMETIMES). This motion is too slow and some planets being heavier in size (I think Mercury carries more weight but not sure) become stationary before starting to move in the opposite direction. Just compare it to a car. When you have to reverse it, you cant do it without first applying brakes. First you have to bring it in a stationary position and then only put on a reverse gear to move it towards the opposite direction. Same with planets but they do it on their own. They have to become stationary from anti-clockwise movement before starting to move clockwise (retrograde).
Peace Sady
You are quoting a correct phenomenon but you are understanding it incorrectly or explaining it wrongly. Orbital retrograde motion is when the oribter travels in the opposite direction to the rotational movement of the orbited body. This concept of sometimes goes backwards is from apparent retrograde motion and is not real. It is observed when things going in the same direction will elapse faster than other bodies. When they take over it makes the slower object appear to travel backwards and these are signs of orbiting bodies. Planets motion in space proves that they circle the sun like we do.
When viewing objects like the Sun from Mercury it is not to do with the weight it is to do with the rotational motion being significantly low with respect to the orbital motion. Which means from the surface of Mercury, on some parts, you will see the sun rise, go backwards and set and rise again all within one Mercurian day.
The stationary concept is nothing to do with actual motion stopping and reversing … it is to do with circular motion of multiple bodies and how those motion paths appear to behave.
Rotational motion of the moon is roughly equal to the orbital motion of the moon around the Earth. This results in the same face of the moon always being seen and the other side never being seen. On the moon, on the side that faces the Earth … the Earth will always be seen and will never set, although it will have phases New Earth being a slight sliver of light the rest being in night time (darkness) all the way through Full Earth and back again.
Aap bura naa manein. But baat baat par God knows best jab Bola jata hai, tab hum debate karna Chod dete hain. Yeh jo ho raha hai, healthy debate ho raha hai. God bhi chahenge ke aap debate mein fully engaged rahein. Aur sachayi ki talash karein healthy debate dwara.
God does know best - is baath se hum sehmat hain. Lekin iska matlab ye nahin huwa ke aap apni rai (opinion) na pesh karein.
Am not so sure it is about relativity; it is about gravitational pull of the earth. No matter how high you jump, you will still be ‘bound’ to the same point on earth.
gravity is only responsible for pulling two objects together … it is not responsible for landing in the same spot … that is relativity.
When you jump the ground you stand on is already moving - i.e. the rotational motion of the Earth. From your point of view you jumped straight up and came straight down … from an external vantage point your actual jump was a curve that started at a point and landed at another, the ground merely moved the same distance that you moved in the lateral plane while your motion vertically was purely yours.