Salary Package for Foreign Grads in Pakistan?

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
Spock yaara,

can you get into these unis with just an undergad degree? if so it sounds like the whole setup is not a of high standard. thanks.

Samby, I think a masters is required, I am not 100% sure, but all the teachers we had in NUST had atleast a masters...

irem, i know a georgia tech graduate who wanted the starting packge of 35+ but ended up getting 18K...

these days with the kind of saturation we have in pak, it would be no surprise to me if you have to go for 25K+... Plus expectation from you will certainly be high and youw ill be on a close watch.

Thats my take on it.

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Irem, have you applied at a teching post at the top universities of Pakistani.e. GIKI, LUMS, NUST?? I know NUST gives their professors about Rs. 60,000 starting, and some of them, based on seniority earned more ofcourse. LUMS probably offers more, and they would appreciate your degree more, and in your case you will end up with more money there.

btw, you know why I am forcing you to become a teacher right? :)

well you are talkign about nust giving 60K plus.. In Lums if u are a Phd you can expect atleast 100K+ starting.........
and sambs is right, undergrad alone is no good, even masters will require a lot of convincing to get in the faculty, and masters starting can be somewhere between 50-80K considering they are not given permanent faculty positions. They can get as high as in say administration of a particular dept, iff offered permanent positions. They can compliment that with teachin in other insistutes as well.

Aceones! u r right and thanks :-)

Khanzada yup i've been thinking on this line today after Boss's reply and u guys r absolutely right! thanks for ur advice :-)

Munni thanks for the reply... :-) i'm finding it kinda awkward to negotiate primarily coz my interviewer was so nice...i haven't yet given them a figure but i reckon i will today inshallah...and if they offer something too low then yup but i'ma definitely negotiate...

Spock :) yup I do...and thanks :-)
actually i'm not that nice/patient/kind of a person as papa...
i have taught before...not at schools but pvt tuitions at home...
i do enjoy teaching but i wanted a different experience right now...might consider it at some point in the future tho :-) also what sambrialian said they need masters...

sambrialian i think u r rite they need masters...

saby hmmm ya u r right...its confusing coz i hear of all different types of examples...some getting high some low...
khayr ho Allah kee marzi dekhte haen kya hota hae :-)
thanks for the info

ds there's no way i'm doing phd Allah bachaayay :D

*Originally posted by irem: *

Munni thanks for the reply... :-) i'm finding it kinda awkward to negotiate primarily coz my interviewer was so nice...i haven't yet given them a figure but i reckon i will today inshallah...and if they offer something too low then yup but i'ma definitely negotiate...

irem, please dont fall into that trap that many ppl do where they think (especially women) "awwwww, they were so nice and warm and sweet to me I couldnt possibly ask them for a dime more than they offer me, I might hurt their feelings, afterall they were so kind to even interview me." Employers like to see firm negotiators, because negotiating is a strength/skill, that you can use in your job skill to further not only your endevours, but the company's. You are investing in them, and they should invest in you. You need to let them know you are not worth little, but of course that doesnt mean one has to be greedy.

And dont forget, when you mention the salary you would like them to consider, let them know that you will give them time to think over it and will be awaiting a response. Employers always tell that to candidates, but you need to take the ball and hand it to them, rather than the other way around. smile

*Originally posted by saby: *

well you are talkign about nust giving 60K plus.. In Lums if u are a Phd you can expect atleast 100K+ starting.........
and sambs is right, undergrad alone is no good, even masters will require a lot of convincing to get in the faculty, and masters starting can be somewhere between 50-80K considering they are not given permanent faculty positions. They can get as high as in say administration of a particular dept, iff offered permanent positions. They can compliment that with teachin in other insistutes as well.

PhD is a another story... Even all those univs in Islamabad, such as NUML are paying their computer facutly with PhDs above 1 lakh. The highest paid PhD guy in Lums is Dr. Maud who was a professor of mine at EME, but at EME he was a ministry of defence employee, so he didnt make much, but lums pays him 1 lakh, 15 thousand or something. Last time I emailed him, he told me he misses teaching engineering students ;)

hmmm…thats really good advice Munni appreciate it a lot…thanks :flower1:

yaar, u r so rite, i was talking to this lady who’s an HR consultant and she was telling me that in the Pakistani market women r known to be weak negotiators and accept offers to be paid much less coz they r more accomodating etc…interesting huh?

i’ll try to have a somewhat flexible but not a total walk over me attitude…lets see what happenz :slight_smile:

thanks again :slight_smile:

Irem, when they ask you your salary expectations, ask them 'Industry Standard'...then let them quote the figure and you can then think about if its okie or not...you can negotiate laters about it...my be ask for some perks or more annual leaves or some jollies...

PhD is a another story... Even all those univs in Islamabad, such as NUML are paying their computer facutly with PhDs above 1 lakh. The highest paid PhD guy in Lums is Dr. Maud who was a professor of mine at EME, but at EME he was a ministry of defence employee, so he didnt make much, but lums pays him 1 lakh, 15 thousand or something. Last time I emailed him, he told me he misses teaching engineering students ;)

i mentioned Phd studens to give an idea of how things go for Phd versus Masters like i said Masters dont get that much scale while teaching but still its way above than a techie for example.

p.s Dr. Maud is a nice guy, highly respected at lums :) but he is not the highest paid i beleive. Not naymore, if he was previuosly.

i mentioned Phd studens to give an idea of how things go for Phd versus Masters like i said Masters dont get that much scale while teaching but still its way above than a techie for example.

p.s Dr. Maud is a nice guy, highly respected at lums :) but he is not the highest paid i beleive. Not naymore, if he was previuosly.

How do you know Dr. Maud??? Are you in lums??? Anywayz, nice to see another student (perhaps) of Dr. Maud!!! Hes one of the best teachers in Pakistan!!!

yeah, i m there... i know Dr. Maud, He is an excellent teacher and a very down-to-earth man :)

saby saby saby!!! U never told me you were in lums!!! Yes, Dr. Maud is a very nice guy. Let me tell you some thing more about him. He was teaching in E&ME College NUST for a long long time, under the MoD. Compared to the NUSTian teachers, he didnt get paid much, but he still loved the college and kept teaching there. However, he had some issues with the commandent (in which the commandant was totally at fault) and then he decided to goto lums. Did you take the signals and linear systems course with him? Man, I remember when he was in E&ME, we used to have such an excellent faculty.

yeah i know he was in EmE and related with MOD but he sure is talented, he is a natural teacher.... though i havent taken any courses with him yet but i took a few classes of Signals and Systems just to check weather the course suits me or not, he taught really well but the course clasehd with a core course i had to take so i dropped it.

I know in Punjab University the requirement is atleast masters and in the Engineering faculty there were 21 Phd's out of 23 teachers.