Practise ![]()
I don't know what you guys have against saavan or how you perceive it in Punjab...But Karachi, being a desert city by nature, is hot, dry and humid...And during the summer it felt just great when the blazing sun was scorching your skin and suddenly the wind became cool and in a matter of minutes the sky became overcast and coolness permeated the air...Just before the first drops hit the ground, a wind, clear and refreshing went into your lungs and revived you...Oh man, that was just amazing...
I remember before I became a mullah and started lowering my gaze, my parhosan and I would come upon our rooftops and exchange glances as the cool breeze picked up...I would take out my cigarettes, and I would light up as the first drops started pitter-pattering around us...She would shield us from the rain with her duppatta...And underneath her dupatta I would offer her a toke...sigh Youth...How reckless it was...
Then the roads would be flooded upto knee high and cars would be stranded in the streets and naalas and gutters would overflow...Somtimes you could even see human excrement float by...That, BTW, was not romantic...But apart from that, the droves of people who would come out on cycles to celebrate the ariival of monsoon and the 'batti jaana'...All part of enjoying the wonderful season of the rains...I loved it.
all these paindoos are so in love with saavan in their respective pinds, but seems like they have sold out to an urban lifestyle :)
aray bhai, saavan in pind itna hi accha hai toh why are you not there?
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
all these paindoos are so in love with saavan in their respective pinds, but seems like they have sold out to an urban lifestyle :)
Too many cows...
Oyee Funguy: ap aur app ka nanna sa dimagh :D
:p
*Originally posted by funguy: *
roshnie, that's your opinion. Some people may find wet & smelly (good) very romantic.
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Baat bulkul sahi ki hai ap ni pir sahib. Always words of wisdom!
LJ im almost shocked to read about ur youthful escapades. I bet all the boys r envying ur parosan. Didn't she have any brothers? I would have suffocated the guy with the dupatta if he was smoking in my face!!! Good thing I don't live in these saavan celebrating areas.
Vaisay I believe Bombay residents enjoy saavan for the same reasons. It probably doesnt get as humid in coastal areas because of the wind. In other areas once it rains after a scorching hot day they humidty stays.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
LJ im almost shocked to read about ur youthful escapades. I bet all the boys r envying ur parosan. Didn't she have any brothers? I would have suffocated the guy with the dupatta if he was smoking in my face!!! Good thing I don't live in these saavan celebrating areas.
Vaisay I believe Bombay residents enjoy saavan for the same reasons. It probably doesnt get as humid in coastal areas because of the wind. In other areas once it rains after a scorching hot day they humidty stays.
FF, no need to be envious of my parhosan...She was good company, no doubt which you can be too if you tried...
I am extraordinarily good with those worthy of my company...without any efforts. For the unworthy I'm sure I would have to really try.
Actually rooftops are very good place to be in saavan, not only for the veiled relationships but for good clean family fun as well.
In our pind only a number of rooftops were cemented, ours wasn’t one of them so we used our wearahs as a play ground. The elders wouldn’t mind as long as we don’t make a lot of noise.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
I am extraordinarily good with those worthy of my company...without any efforts. For the unworthy I'm sure I would have to really try.
That's so deep...I bet you must have put in quite an effort to come up with this one...That means I am unworthy, oh well...:/Can't win em all, can we...
You said that not me. I haven't been good or bad to you.
oye Fraudia, nothing to feel bad about if Karachi sucked in saavan...we did not chose to take birth in the pinD like you did not in Karachi.
daana paani khich liyaunda,
kaun kisay de jaanda ay...
but the point is Saavan is more important, more visible and more enjoying season for rural folks, a break from their daily monotonous lives...than it can be for cities. Now that is a truth regardless of whether I rode a majj or a kaTTa in Saavan.:) Of course we are saying what it felt liek to us when we were there in Saavan..I don't think Saavan has the same charm anymore in the time of ACs and refrigerators.
FF: what is this tradition of married girls going to their maika during Saavan? Can you tell in detail? which part of Pakistan you see it observed? Thanks
*Originally posted by Lajawab: *
That's so deep...I bet you must have put in quite an effort to come up with this one...That means I am unworthy, oh well...:/Can't win em all, can we...
Lajoo, lower your gaze dude..FF is too hot for you.
CM that is all they blabber on about in those songs… savan mein amma ke ghar gaey and the freakin piya never came to get her and the lousy saavan went by. Oh this song on ptv went like this…amma meray babul ko bhejo savan aaya and a whole lot of other similar *$hitty songs.
I was listening to Iqbal Bano's "Dasht-e-Tanhai mein" the other morning and I felt so Saavan saavan. Acha hua qareeb may koi mujj nahee thi, werna mai us kay ooper charh jaata.
This morning on prime TV they were showing ‘Pop Gun’ where Shafqat Amaanat Ali was singing ‘ saavan beeto jay piharva, mann mera ghabraay…’ and my mum as usual went on with her views…’tarakka hoya saavan jo honda hei, habs da maarya hoya.’ So I thought I would discuss it with you lot.
FG you watched on tha tghazal time show?? I watched it too. Ahmad Faraz and Amjad Islam Amjad were soooo young. Rohi bano looked lovely. Nice program. I think i will request a nice ghazal too.
Well, you didn;t put any effort in this one, so I am worthy…make up your mind…![]()
P.S. What’s a majj?
FF, yeah. Let's request the same ghazal one more time.
Whats their email addy?
hehe
FF: I know they have it in songs but do you know any actual tradition in Pakistan like that?
Here is what was the tradition in Punjab amongst all different communities few decades ago. The girl was supposed to to stay at her maikey(Paikay) during the first Saavan after the wedding. [month of Saavan starts in the middle of August] So just s the hot month of JaiTh and HaaRh end, someone from girl's family goes and brings the girl to maikay home. As soon as the Saavan month is over the boy comes to susral and takes her desperate wife back home to enjoy the after effects of Saavan. The superstition was that the newly wedded girl should not face her mother in law the the whole first month of Saavan after the wedding...or one of them will die or something.
So this little superstition gave rise to a good tradition of girl spending a whole month at her parents home in the company of her girl friends and do some oochhal kood in the rain...but of course she longed to be with her husband at the same time..so Saavan became part of these separation songs.