^^ Symphony the first Pakistani female band was pretty good too. Huma Khawaja was the lead singer i think. I still like listening to some of their songs.
yes someone did actually ![]()
hi this is Fifi Haroon - was surprised to find my interview of Salman here but was interesting to see some of the comments. Just wanted to answer and correct a few things if that's ok with you guys!
I live in London now and sang on the first Junoon album which was ages ago. To the guy who thought I was tooting my own horn - Junoon and I go back a long way when they weren't even a band. Was a different time altogether; rock music was a very new thing at the time and I think all of us were trying to support and promote it in our own way. Which is why I sang on the album - as a friend. Years later for all of us to end up at the Albert Hall was something we could never have imagined. It would have been stupid of me to write an intro where i pretended that none of that happened. The interview is more a conversation between me and Salman so if you hear a few horns here and there it might be because we've had to work so hard to get this far in the last 15 years. But your point is noted!
Thanks to those who appreciated the interview; was fun to catch up with Salman in London even if he was verrry late! BTW i used to run a magazine called Xtra in Karachi and not in the UK. My father was never a Governor, that was a relative. In any case that part is of least importance.
The important thing is this; I believe in Pakistani music. And i do believe that we are creative and innovative and dont always succumb to commercialism. I also btw happen to think Ali Zafar is pretty darned good in his own genre. What I love about Junoon is their energy, which will always live on despite the ups and downs in their career as a band. Thanks for reading the interview; I hope I'll be doing some more that you find equally interesting. I write for Ahlan (www.ahlan.ae) which is the Middle Eastern edition of 'Hello' magazine and for the Indian Express. I think I'm going to give the TFT a call since I used to write for them a long time ago and might be time to do that again! If you have any suggestions for what you'd like to see written about more please do post them here - would love to hear from you
Oh and Smooth Guy thanks for saying you liked my singing in Jogia!
Cheers!
fifi
hey! welcome to gupshup!
nice to see u here.
You rock fifi, by the way, Im the guy salman asked you to get the pictures from, sorry couldnt get you any high res pics, I sent the ones I had! But the article was awesome! You should sing in the new upcoming junoon album too, for old time's sake! Also, what happened to Xtra? I remember I was like 12 or 13 when it came out, and we werent allowed to look at the mag :)
Junoon 4 life!
Welcome to Gupshup!
Thanks for the corrections :)
:k: :k:
aaj spock ko neend nahi anay ki
puri raat fifi sahiba ke ik ik sentence ko le kar jhoom raha hoga.
Fan ho tou esa, millat fan jesa :k:
‘Jogia’ was something I did in the early days of Junoon. That someone remembers it and enjoyed it then or now is kind of nice to know so thank you
I don’t really have plans of singing again but hey, who knows. Life sometimes takes unexpected turns.
Spock, I left Xtra in 2000. They had planned to continue it but never did. Just felt at that time in the late 90’s that there was a need for a magazine which spoke about taboo subjects and which approached things in an unconventional way. And yeah we tried to keep our sense of humour intact.
About the local Asian music scene here, most of it is R & B and Bhangra centred; gets a bit repetitive but one or two people like Raghav and Jay Sean (both with hits in the top 20) have real talent. I recently interviewed a girl called Nina Jayne, half-Pakistani and half Jamaican who has just been signed on for a major deal by Sony BMG UK. I think she’s prob the first Pakistani to get such a big company believing in her, so do look her up. you can see the video at Music GIFs | GIFDB.com or check her website at www.ninajayne.com
*Originally posted by digitalsurgeon: *
spock yaar whats up with so much obsession with junoon ? even i am not that much obsessed with computers even tough i am a nerd/geek :-)
Junoon is obsession, my geek friend.
Will certainly try do that digital surgeon :)
so what kind of music does everyone listen to?
Try something Jazz, Blues, Soft Rock (Sarah McLachlan) a bit country/western (Shania Twain) and a bit hard rock/metal like Jogia :)
Something different from what majority is doing.
fifi, I checked out the link you gave, that girl is promising keep us posted on her progress and do you have the url/link of the interview you took? And yeah, shes pretty!
How can I sing with junoon? ![]()
Yeah I think she has potential too spock. And in the music business its imp to have a big company behind you. There are so many people who spend their whole life trying and never make it.
*Originally posted by ffh: *
Yeah I think she has potential too spock. And in the music business its imp to have a big company behind you. There are so many people who spend their whole life trying and never make it.
Thats very true (having a big name behind you, for support). Sadly, when such a thing happens in Pakistan, people start terming the artsist as a 'sell-out', or 'succumbing to commercialism'. But I agree, some artists/bands do go a little overboard with that.
smooth guy jogia can not be classified as metal. Maybe rock but certainly not metal. In Pakistan although we have finally started differentiating different genres but we seem to term them wrong. We call Noori a rock band. Noori can be termed a pop/soft rock band but not a rock band. Junoon has toned down a bit too from their initial days but their songs still have or atleast some of them have enough oomph in em to be called rock.
Pakistani music industry has come a long way since the Dil Dil Pakistan days. The opening of dedicated music channels has helped bring the talented artist in limelight but with that a lot of not so talented people are trying to make their mark in the industry too. Anyone can be made to sound good in a studio. Junoon fame over the years have a lot to do with how they play live. With one of the most powerful voices in Pakistan at their disposal Junoon brings the energy to sweep you off your feat. Although I never really enjoyed Salman’s vocals but try hearing him sing “with or without you” live. Whatever Salman lacks in his vocals he makes up for it with the passion he displays while on stage.
All the Junoon haters can just sit down relax and think about one thing. If Junoon is not so good why didn’t any other Pakistani band ever reached the popularity that Junoon did ? Heck even VS cant claim they accomplished more then Junoon. If VS was the pioneers of band oriented music in Pakistan so was Junoon with Ali and Salman both part of the first two mainstream bands in Pakistan (Ali in Jupiter’s & Salman in VS). Junoon albums sell like hot cakes not only in Pakistan but India and over sea’s as well. Junoon initiated the peace process between India and Pakistan way before all the mushy mushy India-Pak friendship talk started. Junoon has been recognized but international media and organizations. They had the privilege to perform at the UN.
ffh nice to see you here. Al of those who have never heard Jogia, I’d recommed you give it a try. For all the old Junoonis listen to it for old times sake
Here’s a link to a demo of Jogia, if you like it you can buy the album from Junoon.com from Junoon’s J Mart](http://www.junoon.com/jmart.html)
Click to Download JOGIA](pakistanimedia.com)
This is for Fifi… Jogia Cover by a band named Black Warrant.
HAHA .. we are talking about JUNOONz song which is not METAL at ALL .. please dont post the COVER songs ..
Kyoon tujhe takleef ho rahi hai kya? You should stick to Noori.