Reema's Film Launched (merged)

Re: Reema's Film Launched (merged)

well who cares if it done better then 1 film, the film is a plain diesaster, and no its being run on only 2/3 cinemas in its second week and it didnt even make it to the charts, i doubt it would be running in any cinema in its third week now. reema has made a massive loss and that will not encouage other pak films to release, i doubt we will now see another pak film here for a longgggggg time.

Where are u kids getting your information?

^^^^^
open your eyes and read my post again.

some of your posts are cited, not all of them.

Re: Reema’s Film Launched (merged)

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/statusicon/post_old.gif

Aug 31st, 2005, 02:16 PM #109](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3474806&postcount=109) suhaib vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3474806”, true);

well the film is no different to larki punjaban at the box office and its doing terrible.
It is at 25 in its first week and has only collected 10 lacks with a screen average of just £1,020.

25 Koi Tujh Sa Kahan PAK £10,195 Bollywood Films 1 £1,020 10 £10,195

http://www.ukfilmcouncil.org.uk/sta…qQ1F7FD3C&skip=

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/statusicon/user_online.gif

WOW! What a great session I missed out totally. Anyway, please cool it as there is absolutely no need to fight over anyone especially when the main third party does not even know about it.

PCG---let me make one thing clear to you and others. No writer is good enough to write a story independantly, it is the director who will make a writer do it. Remember this is a director's medium and not a writer's at all. Well untill recent past film writers and television serial writers were not even accepted by other litreature or writer of books and novels and stories. There mainstay was that only a writer who does not see himself published will resort to films and television. Well thank God that opinion is fast changing especially after God father and its sequels.

Someone remarked over here that i read that I am not advertising????Well dudes I was until we could not come up on the 12th. As you may know we were delayed by pressure tactics due to a fight with the censor board and yet we manged to get the film cleared. Anyway now in short we are finding it very hard to get the same cinemas in the near future and right now we are talking to them for a release date. I cannot leave out cinemas that supported me and release my film in others. Thats selfish and unfair and definitely unethical. So in the next few days I think by wednesday Inshallah we shall have it all sorted out so then we can start to advertise again. There is no point in advertising unless you haev a definite date it is really silly.

Far as Reema is concerned I dont see why her personal life is being discussed when its her film that should be the point of argument. PCG and Bollybuster you both will be surprised to know that despite strange claims by many the film has gone down very badly nad chances are it will not recover its initial investment. I will not blame the film for that but the audiences. Since I feel the people have a right to approve or reject any film but in this case many people did not go to the movie at all and rejected it. Thats unfair and not right. After all if a high budget film with huge publicity fails to make decent money then who will invest in the films? Perhaps one reason is that Reema concentrated too much on her own self in promoting the film as a consequence her film went in the background whilst she got a lot of publicity. Now since Reema has been out for some years as audiences had preferred others over her they felt her movie is not what they wanted to see. Sad but true like in Karachi she was never that popular even when she was young and if you see the figures then from the first show Karachi was down and never went to a single houseful. In Pakistan for an Urdu film to do good business it is imperative that it draws big time in Karachi like YDAKH.

I spoke to Reema sometime back and asked her how her film is going to help the industry when most of her work is done in India, if her movie does well then all it proves is that new makers do not make their films in pakistan but in India. It is this kind of rhetoric that I am against.

I think its time that our film makers grew up not making any silly claims and simply concentrated on their movies. This film is a mixture of many other films but then so are countless Indian films let s not be so harsh in our judgement. It has taken her two years to complete the film lets give her at least two months of respite at the box office. By the way some copies are absolutely divine like Kuch Kuch Hota Hai a direct lift from Sleepless in Seattle is what I consider to be one of the best films I have seen except Munna Bhai...also Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gham, so copying may not be a bad idea if oyu can make it better in presentation. Sometimes a copy is even better than the inspiration.

I hope now only comments about the film will be posted and not individual's personal lives.

I would though like to Thank all of you for being so open with your sentiments because it does give someone like me a lot to think about as most of us are cut off from our viewers and this is the first best hand feedback i get.....Thank you all.

What a conflict of reports. Some people are saying its a good movie and some not. Here is a review I came across:

**Honestly speaking, I did not expect too much from the film and was ready for some intellectual shocks and the usual bloops and blunders. There weren’t any. The film is shot with the beautiful backdrop of Kuala Lumpur, with an excellent print to top it all. Reema obviously took the safer course of flying the cast and crew to a foreign location where there are no availability problems of the stars. Here, the posh look was achieved easily, which would not have been possible in our local studios. There are no forced scenes, fights, editing jumps or breaks in continuity, which are a trademark of our regular Lollywood flicks. It is clear throughout the movie that the director took care of little details and made sure that all scenes and dialogues are justified and well explained. KTSK obviously had a written script, not one haphazardly put together on the sets during the shoot.

The cast is thankfully small and the casting has been done well. Reema’s only problem is her very newscaster-ish mode of dialogue delivery and her English accent. The audience laughed whenever she would break into long English dialogues. Her “wadding caramony, maiee sweetheart, and wht a coincident” generated guffaws from the hall. But one forgives her these hitches for all the hard work and effort she has put in the movie. Reema herself has never looked better, and has acted her heart out in her own venture. The same goes for Moammar Rana who appears quite young, with his dancing skills improved and voice problem solved. He has handled the role superbly and one seriously feels that a Shaan or a Babar Ali would not have looked half as good.

The surprise packages of the film are Simran Kaushik and senior actor Tariq Shah’s son Babrik Shah. Simran looks every bit the supermodel that she is said to be. She is taller than both the male leads with a perfect pencil thin figure and has a grace that Reema and Veena do not. She has a role almost equal to that of Reema’s and performs well for a first timer.

She has an obvious advantage when it comes to speaking English and her scenes with Reema do not go in favour of the latter. Babrik Shah, who plays Simran’s love interest, shows potential as an actor.

Now something about Veena Malik. It won’t be wrong to say that she is the only disappointing factor of KTSK. She overacts throughout. Her attempts to appear vampish and seductive are completely amiss. She even overdoes her catwalk style of walking, and her “sir” at the end of every sentence is annoying. She tried her best to play the role of a sexy and sluttish personal secretary but has failed miserably.

One gets the feeling that Reema was inspired by the recent success of infidelity based movies in Bollywood and asked her scriptwriter Khalil ur Rehman Qamar (a well known TV writer) to give her a story on the same lines. Qamar, who has plays like Boota From Toba Tek Singh and Landa Bazaar to his credit has succeeded in his first film project. He comes up with sharp one-liners, which are high on emotion but never third rate or sleazy.

Dresses and make up have been given due attention, as could be expected from Reema. Amir Adnan and Beejee have provided the wardrobe, a prominent feature of the film. Make up was done by Saima’s Salon in Karachi and New Look in Lahore.

The finishing touches to KTSK are its slick editing, done in Mumbai’s Lakdawala Studio, and the cinematography by our very own Waqar Bokhari. The film was processed and printed in Bangkok. The industry desperately needed another hit, as its last major success was Javed Sheikh’s Yeh Dil Aap Ka Hua. Who knew it would come from an actress we all took as just another pretty face? We all stand corrected and gladly so.**

:hoonh:

You know guys, its like cheap as dirt to purchase a cinema ticket in Pakistan for pretty much all those who are on here (I assume that if you have enough money to be on the net all the time, you’ve got enuff money to buy a lousy ticket).

Go watch the movie and boost some sales. Our movie industry needs it.

They still showing in UCF in trafford Centre, so go and watch it Manchester dudes and girls....
me and my wife saw Barsaat other day, not a movie to watch with family....good story but some scenes are like we are in SEX show....

All these positive reviews talking about good choreography, cinematography, lighting etc… and it just boggles my mind. I mean all you need is to take a look at each of the 5 songs which are on the film’s website. We had much, much better cinematography/choreography/lighting etc. in films like * Tere Pyaar Mein* and even Mujhey Chang Chahiye. The only positive I could spot in those rather laughable gaanaas was the print quality – I’m sure she got it optimised for the tellie promos though. The songs by Amjad Bobby are good – but I’m sorry, it seems they had an inept assistant of that Saroj Khan [whoever she is] who couldn’t even rehearse the steps right with the actors so they all dance in sync. The camera movements are shaky, the phool-bootas are still the favorite dancing spot. The dresses were hilarious – specially in that Aaja Karley Pyaar number.

Great going Reema :k: you spent the money well on all those journos :hehe:

Barsaat? This is about Reema's movie - is that the one you saw?

well i think Reema has done a good job.Iv’e seen the film and it’s really good.How many pakistani films do we see in cinemas any way?
Shes done a great job and we should under stand how difficult it is to make a film:blush::rotfl::nono: