Rang De Basanti

Re: Rang De Basanti

It will go as one of the best movies Bollywood has ever produced. A true classic piece of art.

Excellent movie. Especially the blending of the freedom fighters of past with present was really good.

Here are more details of some of the revolutionaries from the film -

Bhagat Singh , Raj Guru, Chandra Sekhar Azad

http://www.shahidbhagatsingh.org/sbsphotos.asp

http://www.shahidbhagatsingh.org/copatriots.asp

Ashfaqullah Khan
http://pib.nic.in/feature/feyr2000/fdec2000/f261220001.html

Ram Prasad Bismil

To be truthful just looking at their faces and seeing the determination on their faces made me feel shameful, the present generation doesnt even begin to compare with them

I think a movie is really successful when it makes the spectator start to think..and by that yardstick this is a really successful movie.

a great film

what a total bakwaas movie. can amir khan think of a different topic now:snooty:

watttttt^10

may i ask you your favorite movie please?

huh??? what’s wrong with making movies about patriotism and dealing with pertinent and current issues?
You should stick to Kabhi khushi kabhi gham :stuck_out_tongue:

Hayeeee AMIR mujhe nehi peta tha tum ney Qayamat sey qayamat tek, Dil, Dil tera aashiq, andaz apna apna, etc etc wala chola kyon bedel liya kese bedel liya. Aur kese itne patriotic, loyal to one’s country ho gaye. Mujhe pehle peta hota mein kabhi bhi kabhi bhi…---------------- khair choro ab es sey kaya ferak perta hai jeb tum ney pyar wali rahein chor ker doosri hertanak rahoon ko apna liya hai aur watan ke liye lare ja rehe ho lare ja rehe ho… Abhi mein Lagan dekh ker tumhare rukh morne per thora dilbardashta he howi thi ke tum ney Mengel Panday bena ker mera toota dil mazeed tor diya aur ab ab jeb mein kisi ACHE ki tamana ker rehi thi to tum ney ek bar phir…Rang de basanti bena ker mere sare rang berenge khwaboon per pani pher diya. :bummer:

Here are some responses from prominent Pakistanis..

Rang De Basanti – A vigilante flick or a classic?

Rang De Basanti is definitely getting people to talk; not about stars but about the issues at hand. In these times of terror and the loopy war on terror the film has inspired extreme reactions. Some love it, others hate it, but as Instep learned, no one is indifferent to it…

By Maheen Sabeeh

Hasan Zaidi

Director Karafilm Festival

It’s a very well made film but its glossy without much substance to it. Despite what many people have to say about Rang De Basanti breaking conventional norms, to me it’s a conventional film dealing with themes such as corruption and politics in a simplistic manner. I watched the film in Delhi and no doubt it’s interesting but not something I would watch over and over again.

Saqib Malik

Filmmaker

Rang De Basanti is made on a taboo subject, ‘Defence’ – it’s a subject that we cannot even think of touching. It is an important film. It reflects on the youth of India and popular culture. India is in transition right now, things are changing and it’s a confused state. And while, it is an effective film when watching at a cinema, it doesn’t leave me with a lasting residue. I will not wake up the next morning thinking about it.

Adnan Malik

Director/Model

It’s an important film and is well made. I don’t think it is too violent nor is there anything wrong with showing what they have. Rang De Basanti is a landmark in Indian cinema. This is one of those films that would make one want to act. And it wasn’t an art film. The way it was shot and made, it is a commercial film. It’s like a great one night stand. You don’t wake up next day thinking about it but while you’re watching it, it’s hypnotic.

Fawad Afzal Khan

Vocalist, EP

It’s a well shot film, its picturised well and the acting was good. My only issue with the film is how these characters are so aloof and how their careless attitude is glamourised. Drinking and dancing without care in the world and when suddenly a friend of theirs dies, they’re reaction is so angry and that is just because they suddenly see real life and its problems. If something like this were to happen in real life, there would be two ways to deal with it, either one would forgive or take revenge. They took revenge. In real life, such an act would not gather a positive response of the public. It will not create a revolution. In fact, this film was not revolutionary but more about personal loss and revenge. And, the film did cater to these questions when a lot of people in the film said that killing was not the way to deal with it.

Ali Azmat

Musician

It’s a brilliant movie. It’s dangerous, free and wild and out of control. The direction, acting – I like all of it.

Usman Peerzada

Actor/Director

The film is nothing too good to write home about. The whole story didn’t make any sense. There were a million ways in which they could’ve tackled the subject. The could’ve raided the radio station and make themselves be heard. There was no need for them to become kind of terrorists and shoot the Defence Minister. These were conflicting ideas. Aamir Khan is a great actor but I’ve seen him do better. He wasn’t unsually great or anything. But I really liked the new lot of actors. I think they saved the film. Cinematography was great but then India is getting technologically advanced with each passing film. Overall, this film is not my kind of cinema.

Samina Peerzada

Actor/Director

I think Indian cinema has come off age. Since Lagaan to Page 3 and Black, Indian films have changed for the better. I loved Rang De Basanti. It is a remarkable film. We always talk about bringing a change in our society and our country and watching this film reminded me of my own college days. This film is very personal to me. I’ve always fought for my beliefs and watching that film brought those memories back to me. I saw this film in Bombay and it was fabulous. A.R.Rahman’s music, the acting and direction, it was a delight. And I must say that the way Aamir Khan has let the younger actors take the front says a lot about his confidence in the script, in himself and the director.

Anwar Maqsood

Playwright

It wasn’t bad. I was expecting more but I enjoyed nonetheless. The part about the Defence Minister wasn’t necessary and the film could have done without it or something different could’ve been done. I liked the acting and the direction. A.R. Rahman gave some lively music. It was different and after a long time I saw a whole film so I have no issues with it.

Amena Khan

Director

I liked the film, the acting and the direction. The five boys were shot dead and they were unarmed. Extremism has become a part of our culture. Violence of this sort makes our people notice things, even if it is for five minutes. It’s sad. Also, it’s a certain group’s opinion and they have a right to express it. Every nation has a right to revive its youth. India is doing a good job. They made Yuva sometime back, with the same message of bringing educated young blood into the government posts to correct the system. However, the ending of Rang De Basanti was chessy but then again most Hindi films are like that.

Zainab Qayyum (ZQ)

Model/Actress

It is brilliant. Lagaan made it to the Oscars. If Rang De Basanti goes to the Academy, it will surely win. I saw this film in Dubai and from the trailers I thought it would be something like Dil Chahta Hai. I was so wrong. All of us have studied Pakistan Studies and we all know about the Jallianwala Bagh massacre. Back then, the foreigners were the ones who were killing us (Indians and now Pakistanis). The irony is that right now, its us against each other. This is the central point of the film that I got. One with their own hands. fought for the country only to destroy it

I rate this movie 3 out of 5. It started off so nicely, but the end was horrible. I was expecting the Lagaan touch, but this movie is no where near Lagaan.

I just finished watching it and I have mixed feelings. I enjoyed it for the most part but the drifting into the past and present was driving me insane. The music was excellent. I would definitely buy the soundtrack.

All in all, it was a great concept but the movie was all over the place at times. It took my attention away sometimes.

Aamir Khan and his buddies acted very well.

yeah I think all of us saw the end coming. I wish they would have taken a difft route then killing politicians. BUT I also learned a lot from the movie. There are hardly any times when a movie 'educates' us. I did not know about the crappy planes Russia has been selling to India and the # of pilots who have lost their lives due to the planes malfunctioning. So it was a learning experience for me. And the main reason I liked the movie.

omg it was such a waste of ma time, couldnt get one where i lived. SO when i went to NY got a bootlegged one and dang it stank. y the **** was it even a big hit.
Indian movies are gettin worst day by day. The only nice one they recently came up with was Black and even that was a copied based on helen Keller's life.

:halo:
I think you should too stick to Kabhi kashi kabhi gham kind of movies

buddy didnt i just tell ya, all desi movies suck. How can u compare black with K3G. I just think u guys need to quit watching crappy bolly movies and start watchin hollywood movies.

it was a good movie and better in terms of its message than any recent indian movie that's come out with the exception of Yuva.

But I did have a problem with some parts of the movie like when the students were having a peaceful candle light vigil for the pilot friend who died "accidentally", why were they attacked to death? That totally didn't make sense and was a tat bit too much.

I didn't understand why they had to take violent action against the politician. I think the director should have thought that part out a bit more too.

Getting your voice heard through the radio was the right step to take but violence NEVER should be the answer.

I think Yuva's message was much better since in that Ajay Devgan was trying to join politics to make his country better. In RDB, they took the violent approach and killed a corrupt gov. official, that's not really a good message to the younger generations.

It was big exggration i didnt like that part too, i was laughing in the theatre ( while others were looking at me and thought i was crazy) on that scene. i doesnt make any sense. another part that i didnt ‘agree’ with was killing of the minister.
I mean dont get me wrong, i like the movie but i have some clashs of opinion with the movie. At least this movie had a point and meaning, unlike other bolly movies where the only conclusion of the movie is who gets the heroine.
nice effort, nice direction, nice songs and nice acting. :k:

Yuva was more commercial i think. RDB is much better. If you really wanna see a serious movie on this issue then watch "Ankush". it leads the way. It is nana's first movie and lot similar to the two mentioned movies in terms of theme.