Question to Hindu Members

yeah n tasneef qadiaani musalmaan hi nahi hota kyunke in islam we consider ALLAH to be the only god n Prophet (SAW) to be the last prophet n if u know in qadiaani…mirza somethin was prophet n they have a couple of prophets at the moment n they’ve a jannat in pakistan, rabwa…where there r hoor n everythin n they r financed by the west…if it was khilafa rashideen’s era they would’ve done jihaad against them but as its not other religion but they call themselves muslims…but in pakistan we r on our way to secularism as said by pervez musharraf n moin haider…

Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam
Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa

well i really enjoyed this post...but anyways..NYAHMEDY, if u really want to gain spirituality...why thru hinduism...i mean why don't u read abt sufism...i know many ppl call it an innovation..but if u r going to hindus for spirituality why not try to find it in Islam itself?

Moved to Culture

NYA,

We believe that the best place to keep an idol is in the "Eeshanya" corner, meaning the corner of the house which is towards the North-East.

The Idol can be facing any direction. The location of the place should be above the room floor level, so that no dust or water could seep beneath the idol.

Also, the mandapam you use should have a perfectly square base. If you use a rectangular base, then it should follow the pythagoras principle, i.e. the two triangles of the rectangle should obey the pythagoras law.

eg. it can be a rectangle of 6 inches x 8 inches, thus the diagnol works out to 10 inches.

As you must have read about Hinduism, you can pray as you like, with devotion. These rules are just guidelines. You can find a sect in Hinduism, called the Lingayats, who tie the shiva Lingam to their holy threads on their shoulders.

NYA Bhai,

As Victory has pointed out, please make sure you keep the 6-8 inches in mind. :)

Mod

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/sleep2.gif

You finally woke up on the 22nd posts & 5 days ??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

This thread from the beginning had spirituality & religion in it as much as Meat in the diet of South Indian brahmin.

Father is like the referigerator light .You only notice it when it is fused!

NYA..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/tweetie.gif

“I am big fan of Lord Shiva. How do I go about it? I have a small house, with enough”

Dont feel shy & selfconscious ,you mean,SHIV LiNGhAM …o.k.

and Ahmedjee is right about the linear specifications!

Dont forget to call your wife PARVATI while she is lost in her fantasy shivji ,snake ,trident ,u need dead animal skin to sit on too.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nah.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif

NYA Bhai,
As Victory has pointed out, please make sure you keep the 6-8 inches in mind. :)<<<

Ahmadjee Bhaijan, Victory does make a good point, but I think that it is not the length of the devotion but depth of the spirituality that counts, which I am sure you have, so no need to be envious. If you feel a need to further deepen it, when you visit NYC, Chaltahai and I will be happy to oblige you.

,u need dead animal skin to sit on too<<<

Emergency, man you are very funny. Really. Are you offering yourself to me? I will take it except sitting on pigs is not my forte. Hope you understand it. I mean it with all sincerity.

NYAhmedi, the best day to perform Shiva Puja will be Monday, altho’ you can do it any day or everyday.

Monday ie Somvaar is associated with Somnath ie Shiva.

Shiva Ratri is celebrated in mid March every year, you should observe that too. On this day the devotees abstain from taking food or even a drop of water throughout the day. At night Shiva linga is worshipped with vilwa leaves with chanting of the Panchakshyara mantra ‘Om ! Namah Shivay!’

You don’t need to know any elaborate mantra, a simple ‘Om ! Namah Shivay!’ will be enough.

Still I post the link to famous Shiva Stotra by Pushhpadanta
http://www.zen-forum.com/ForumE/showthread.php3?threadid=922

I’dd suggest you don’t stress too much on rituals. Rituals is just an external part, your devotion and quest to attain the spiritual enlightenment is the core thing. You can get a Shiva Linga or the photo of Lord Shiva, some flowers (5 combinations if possible), oil lamp and incense sticks. Light the lamp and the incense stick, make
a sandalwood paste and put a tilak on the Shiva linga and also on your forehead. Then chant ‘Om ! Namah Shivay’.

Amitayus, thanks man. Very helpful suggestions. I am leaving on vacation and I have bought 5 books to study while I am on vacation. I am very attracted to Hinduism only after reading small collection of poems (mainly Bhagavad Gita) as well as some other books, but I wish to improve my knowledge about this great belief system.

Om Nimah Shivaya

Ahmadi, let Chaltahai know if you need any help erecting Shiva statue in your basement. He would know.

Roman: I would be most helpful however the real issue is whether shiva would awaken and adopt the avatar of natraj at the sight of such a dissapointing Parvati.

That's a good point. Let's hear from Parvati.

Parvati is probably still fumed at been declared an infidel.

Parvati, tum kahaN ho?

Lagta hai ke voh nahaan rahi hain.

Right in the middle of the day? Why?

Your perverts, my Temple is not to satisfy your perverti needs. I don’t need any help from Kafirs like you two. When I build my Temple, you can come and join me in Puja if you touch my feet first. You can touch other things too, but not while doing Puja. Bring your own oil, although you wont need it. But it is nice to have it for my lamp.

<>

But you said that your diya hasn't been lit for years? Maybe that's why the ode to shiva....

Yeh, his diya is all fumed out.