Question for North America/ Toronto-based Guppies

Re: Question for North America/ Toronto-based Guppies

Where did I say that Montreal is not a safe place to live? Some of you Canadians need to get out of these extremely defensive and insecure mentality. Its like, at every turn, you want to prove to yourselves that you are living in a great country. Like here, I am talking about my personal preferences and what is important to me, and Fret Wizard bhai jaan is quoting UN Development Indexes to satisfy himself that Canada is better. Jeez Louise... whats wrong with you guys? Bhai jaan, if you live in Canada and feel that is the most perfect paradise on Earth, then be it. Be happy. No one is taking your happiness from you. Pls stay there. But if someone else is very happy in Geneva or Dubai or Burkina Faso or Johannesberg, and says so, why do you need to jump up and down and say "no, no, Canada is better!". Sheesh!!!

This is a discussion board and people give their personal opinions. If legbreakgoogly unkil wants to base his decision based on UN Development Index, then I am sure Google will be a far easier method of getting all that information.

Actually, I think it’s the other way around. Americans just love to take cheap shots at Canada without knowing jack about the country. I quote the UN development index primarily to educate those particular “Americans”. Whether you believe it or not, doesn’t matter. They are the facts. There is nothing for us to prove. It’s been proven year after year…after year. The real question should be asked, what’s wrong with those “Americans” who think that the world ends at their borders.

It’s interesting how you think of the UN development index is a joke. It’s a measure of poverty, literacy, education, life expectancy, childbirth among other factors. I think any country that measures high in that index should be proud of the acheivements made. There’s no need to bash the index simply because the US is on a lower scale than Canada.

Like I said before, personal preference is all fine and dandy, but the index still prevails.

Fret, I am not sure if I am getting through to you, so this time let me type very slowly.

UN development indices etc aren't the sole guide for people when deciding where to live - infact I don't think many people even look at these when they are deciding where to live. They are usually after the fact, feel-good thing. There are many other factors that people consider, including personal considerations. Poverty, life expectancy and childbirth may be important factors for you, but they are not for me. I think where I live is one the best places for me to live, and for many other people; but its not the place for everyone. Its very expensive. I understand that. And may be you should understand that about Montreal too. Its good for you, but its not for everyone. Extreme cold weather may not be a problem for you, but it can be for other people. Speaking French may be second nature to you, but not for everyone. Maybe you like shoveling snow, but others may not want to. You may have a great job in Montreal, but others may find that to be a problem. See, every situation is different. You have to understand that, and not keep waving the index, without understanding context of a discussion.

I already gave my personal opinion on why I selected the place I live in. No one said that those living in Monrtreal are in a rats hole and are damn fools for being there. So, please get out of this super-sensitive and defensive mentality.

As long as people are happy where they are, no one should have a problem with that. You can be extremely happy living in Baghdad for all I care. You can post tens of reasons why you believe that Baghdad is the place for you to live, and I'll say "You go, man! Good for you". I wouldn't say, "oh, but in the UN development index, Baghdad is rated so low, and I am trying to educate you because I know so much more about your personal situation than you do!!" It doesn't just sound stupid, it actually is. :)

Did I get through to you now, or are you still waving the index?

There is a Toronto Masters, ATP event. Pre US Open right?

Someone mentioned London, Ontario as an alternative to Toronto. I read recently that Canada is seeking 360,000 immigrants a year for the next decade (on canada.com I think)…that bodes well for my ambitions.

Looks like someone is having trouble remembering what they wrote themselves

As a response to your sarcasm, I posted the murders per 100,000 persons stat to prove my point.

Seriously, its simple as that. I don't have some hidden agenda to promote Canadian cities on this board. I just don't care much for clear defiance of facts and figures. I recognize every city for whats its good for and what its not good for. Personally, I would much rather live in NYC than Montreal but that still doesn't change the fact that Montreal is a far safer place to live.

I'm Kool unkil, aap tau dil pe hi le gayay. Aap T dot O dot, Can mein hi achay hein. NYC mein kiya rakha hai, hain ji? Jahan raho khush raho. And by the way, a li'l sense of humor goes a long way too. You don't have to jump everytime someone says "Canadian cities are far more safer than....". Cheer up!