PTV's 44th Anniversary

Yes it's a good discussion going on here so please do not make indirect remarks at anyone such as the ones above to ruin anyone's mood. Refraining from such indirect comments at other members might prevent alot of arguments from arising here so let's stay on topic =)

PTV's dramas definitely had the quality that no other channel could match up to.

Ptv still shows remains of poor old uncle sargam =( and kissan time..the "khwateen" shows are soo boring.. the drama's that used to be aired on Ptv were and are classics. I agree with lilly these days it's ALL competition to who can out-dress who!

A girl wud be fast asleep and yet she'd have oodles of makeup and false eyelashes too! The sets are repeated.. it's all a fashion parade of clothes and jewellery now.

And they've learnt plenty from Indian soaps, especially the freeze framing and sound effects to highlight suspense! irritating!

Raju bhai, dont get me wrong, we all want good production from PTV and other stations as well. Part of it for me has been that living away from pakistan for ages and before getting pakistani channels was easy, there were many programs I did nto watch, so there is a definite gap in my knowledge and I ont know when the deterioration started. All I know is that somewhere in 90's i just saw standards slip overall, and now its pretty bad.

I look back and think about shows like ragon mein andhera, and even a show I cant recall which was about sindhi fuedals..the trademark phrase of the villain was " tum do takay ka aadmi", and even andhera ujala, alif noon and honestly think that there is no comparison now. akhri chatan was another amazing show

I would love to recommend pakistani shows to others, one of my south indian pals is the biggest andhera ujala fan I have seen :D but the current crop of crap, something is just nto right. This is the reason I have cancelled my subscription to prime, gro and ary. everytime I would watch it, not only would they not keep to schedule..the programs would suck.

Now you are a busy executive, you know how schedules can be, so I put it on DVR to record, and then find out that half the time the show started late or started early and I dont have the full episode. I can accept that some major event happened and due to that all programming is delayed, but not half the time. There were some shows which while not dne very well had potential like "mein aur tum" but then I gave up. or a show looks promising, and then they cheese it up.

I am not sure who the target audience is, but phakkar mazaaq, and just over the top hosts get a bit too cheesy..fake bubbly approach just does not work.

Please dont take this as critique for the sake of critique, but maybe you can get the words to people you know.

Can we please do period pieces like akhri chatan and do them well, can we do mystery shows..heck we have jasoosi dunya and imran series to base things on if we want, we can have an entire mini series based on shafeed ur rehman's work...I would be jumping with joy for that, can you imagine an episode based on Uncle frankie? or one with moody jones, shorty and all in the mess?

why the unwillingness? is it lack of ability? lack of motivation? ego? the cheap soap operas are really getting too much.

Would you be so kind to pass the message?

on our part if PTV folks would like to get a sample of people to get views on what they like and do surveys, By all mean this site will support those efforts.

Ptv needs new talent..they've kept all the old people that were with them from the begining. The only things that change are the hosts... which are neither well-spoken or presentable.

They play re-runs of every drama atleast 4 times.. and repeat every show too.

Re: PTV's 44th Anniversary

^ re-runs are good for people who didn't get to watch them earlier. but it's high time PTV came up with something novel .It can't rest on past laurels for long.

Our senior artists should do something constructive. If they had acted more responsibly , our newbies wouldn't have been so clueless and technically deficient. Wonder why greats like shahzad khalil, MNH could not pass on their skills to the new breed? There was so much you could learn from them.very unfortunate that we lost such gems!

But still,there are loads of talented senior artists around who should take it upon themselves to change the situation and not waste time on criticism for criticism sake.

This is what they can do to regain our past glory:

1. open up an academy to teach people the technical aspects of film and tv industries.
  2. volunteers to give lectures and conduct workshops in film/tv schools like NCA.
  3. encourage new talent. and not promote people just because they happen to be son/duaghter/nephew of falana falana .
  4. filter out those people who only join these fields for money or fame but have no required talent or skill. 5.PTV should open a training school and the merit for admission should be kept high.as far as I know, PTV used to have a training academy where shoaib mansoor and haseena moin used to teach.wonder where did it go.

and siufarshi ppl who are in show biz because thir chachay mamay are actors or producers should be discouraged.

talent is not genetic..michael douglas is a living testament to that :D

PTV mein itni corruption hai koi had nahi. people who haven't even passed BA and have no skills or experience have been employed as directors. I remember sahira kazmi was telling in one of her interviews that when she came to join PTV she wanted to be a director but Aslam Azhar told her you must start from the very basic. Thats why she went into acting first and then onto other areas.

freelance writers should be given a chance.

Re: PTV’s 44th Anniversary

since we are talking about classic PTV, i thought i’d share the link of an interview with an old drama actress huma akbar, amazing clips shown

Huma Akber & Sahira Kazmi in Brunch w/ Bushra P-1/6](HugeDomains.com) http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=19987

I think she's the elder sister of saba hameed ?

HUMA AKBAR is the daughter of Akhtar Khanum (who, during 70's.. worked with the IAL.... International Adverrtising Limited...an affiliate of PIA years back now connected with SAATCHI & SAATCHI).

HUMA became ever popular is a famous TV serial "CARAVAN".

Later she got married to Zeba Bakhtiar's brother and migrated to USA where she assists her husband with their hospital in Milwaukee.

Incidently, Huma's khala....RIZWANA KHAN a.k.a Kookoo...(who runs a beauty parlor also) is one of the first ones on PTV-Karachi of late 60's. I have done many plays & serials with Kookoo and of the last of her famous ones..was Rubina Ashraf's PHIRR YUN LOVE HUA .

Huma Akbar is a wonderful person and indeed doing great as a mother, a wife and a big support to her husband..a Doctor, in his pursuits.

Let's wish her best...

Regards,

Raju Jamil

Hi guys,this is my first time posting on gupshup.Just came across it last night.Atlast a decent forum to discuss everything Pakistani.However I have noticed there are too many threads to follow.Due to this it is hard to follow whats being discussed.

Anyway Arjay:Are you the worthy son of Muhatrim Jamil Uddin Aali?If yes,then you have appeared on many PTV dramas right?I watched Ankahi two days ago,you had a brief appearance in that serial too.
When was it telecast?