It’s not the first time you’ve assumed this. Just because someone doesn’t concur with you doesn’t mean that they’re arguing for the heck of it. Moreover, points can be made without condescension.
I never said that the word “Pagan” was mentioned in this thread. I brought the word in here myself. Do not tell me what I…or anybody else for that matter…can or cannot bring to a thread. Needless to say…You do not have that authority.
Old…new…what does it matter? Many words in modern day languages are rather ancient. Kaafir is not a word that just recently came about. And I never said that there really was a coffin labeled as “Pagan.” I only put forth a relevant but hypothetical example. Do you prefer the words, “infidel”…or…“heathen”…“non-believer” instead? Different languages/cultures have own words that refer to someone who doesn’t believe. Just because someone is considered a disbeliever…doesn’t mean that it has to be said. While it’s possible that the labeling was a result of carelessness…it’s neither tactful nor professional.
I’m fully aware of what Kafir means. It’s your condescending assumption that I didn’t comprehend it. I only connected the word…to words in the English language that also have the same meaning…to illustrate that such a label just doesn’t sound right.
Yet another assumption on your part…accompanied once again by corny humor. I only implied that it would not have been tedious…or a hassle.. for the person to just write Hindu. Not difficult to manage. And the bodies could be marked/differentiated in other ways as well…apart from labels that indicate religious beliefs.
/ 6) Labeling the coffin by the specific religion will also point out that the deceased is not a Muslim…and will still ensure that the deceased gets buried according to religious beliefs. “Kaafir” is not the only word that could be used to make the distinction.
The sad demise of Prem Chand along with so many other people could be considered as National Tragedy but not by himself dying in this accident as asserted by the stupid article writer at Pakistaniat.com named as Darwaish.
Also, the act by someone allegedly calling or marking Mr. Prem Chand coffin as ‘Kaafir’ should not be considered as ‘National Disgrace’ as this bigot wrote in the article.
As far as that “thread” you’re talking about…I didn’t even think of it until you brought it up…and even then I don’t remember the contents of it. I also don’t have anything against the “other member” you’re referring to.
Diwana, I don’t hold grudges. There are a few members that I may not be overly fond of…but if I agree with the views in their posts…I don’t have a problem with making my concurrence known…or giving them credit.
When I posted in this thread…I was only sharing my opinion. You responded to that original opinion…and I addressed the contents of that post of yours…and I wasn’t being sarcastic in my second response…it wasn’t even about you. You then responded to my second post…in a condescending manner. To be the first to insult…and then throw a cow when one responds…real mature.
Don’t project your assumption of a “vendetta” onto me. Thank you for your concern..but I’m doing quite fine. Any attempts at trying to make me “feel better” are not necessary. Smile and wink away…it only confirms you nick.
I feel I’ve made my sentiments about the issue in this thread pretty clear. I’m not going to pursue it any further…or flood the thread with tamasha.
And as to your last point, 'kaafir' is not only a relative but a** reciprocal** term .
Yeah it's a big term but how long are we going to say this is an isolated incident or minimize it. hadh hoti hai yaar. I know what your saying, national disgrace for one persons actions is strict and hard. It doesn't represent everyone. But then has the machinery of the state done anything? (I can't say that I've heard anything being done..yeah a few calls here and there to create coverage about this but that by individuals). Then in my opinion it is a national thing. On one side bodies are being found and rescue operations are occurring, and around the same time something like this.
Again maybe it's just me.
Yeah it is reciprocal. Perhaps the man writing it should have thought have that.
a little surprised to see people actually offended by this when prior to this incident, posts like this were the norm.
instead of being surprised by this perhaps you should consider re-interpretting the other posts you have seen.
I don't know where you pulled CM's post to quote here but this thread is talking about the tragic loss of a human life and how the remains were disgraced. Civil people know when to offer respect.
you should take a look at the other thread, try clicking on my quote. it is not the only post in the thread where non-muslims are being casually termed "kafir".
point being, if it is legit to label living people "kafir" in a matter of fact fashion, what more disgrace is it to a dead body than to a live person?
Maybe it is time to remove the negative connotation from it since it never had and should never be.
Kaafir simply means someone who denies.
Please do not fall in to negative agenda by media.
Even non-muslims call different sects among themselves non-believers.
ur right whats in a name
diwana->pagal->mentally retarted.
It is a shame to label it Kaafir...could have wrote "Hindu"..or better yet just his name "Prem Chand" that would be clear enough.
In Quran we see the term Kaafir or Kuffar for non Muslims.. so it's really not that offensive to call someone Kaafir who doesn't follow Islam.. But in this case however, they should have written his name on a coffin instead of writing "kaafir" because they have marked other coffins with their names so why treat this individual differently.. I find it stupid!
point being, if it is legit to label living people "kafir" in a matter of fact fashion, what more disgrace is it to a dead body than to a live person?
People call each other kutta, ******, sala, this and that in anger and hatred. Does that mean those words become official and one who was called kutta should be called kutta on his tombstone also?
it is interesting to see you bracketing "kafir" along with the words you listed/cite anger and hatred as the reason for use.
and then there is the post right before yours about how it is not so wrong or offensive to call someone "kafir".
ur right whats in a name
diwana->pagal->mentally retarted.
It is a shame to label it Kaafir...could have wrote "Hindu"..or better yet just his name "Prem Chand" that would be clear enough.
Proud to have my nick! :D
A Kaafir should be too! Why make such wavela (fuss)?