pregnancy and fasting

Re: pregnancy and fasting

Good to see i am not alone, I aint fasting either. This is the first Ramzan I am not fasting I felt too depressed. I don't feel sickness just suffering from a very bad backache. I know I would be able to fast if I am allowed to but my family is against the idea anyway pray for me too. Bless you all mommies-to-be

its not a matter of «if you think its harmful»...fact is that it IS harmful to keep an unborn baby hungry for 17hours...there is no question about it and "IF" doesnt even come into it. how can you judge yourself if keeping the baby hungry for 17 hours is harmful or not? do you actually talk to the unborn baby and ask if its ok and also ask it if you're doing any harm to it? im sorry but what you said doesnt make any sense at all.

errrgh. it's one thing if a pregnant woman and her doc decide its okay to fast. but for others to make a woman feel bad about NOT fasting when pregnant....feel like giving them a tight slap.

Were these men or women who "encouraged" you? If it was women...honestly i'm surprised and yet not surprised..seems like women just want other women to be perpetually miserable..

Sara these were women, including some family members.

LFP, i asked my doctor and she couldnt say no dont fast either. Lets not argue about someones personal choice anymore, its useless.

It is everyone's personal choice. I know women who fast regularly in their pregnancies just because they can. Fasting in winters and if days are too short is not a bad idea i think but fasting in days like nowadays when you have to stay thirsty for 18 hours is not a good idea. I am here in uk and a girl who is 6 months pregnant comes to iftar in masjid and she is fasting regularly. She is suffering so much because of fasting even her baby movements according to her midwife are not normal. I think in such cases we should not punish the poor baby and Allah has given us this opportunity to make them up later then why not avail it.

i wonder what kind of strange doctor and sheikhs you have access to. Im a healthcare professional myself and know for a fact none of my colleagues or doctors would say that you should fast.when you cant give me an answer then now you want to not discuss it anymore. its the same as keeping your newborn baby hungry for 17hours. its cruelty and not fair on the baby. Even Allah does not say to punish your baby whethr its still in the womb or not. if you`e not going to eat then what will the poor baby eat? thats the reason pregnat women are also told not to diet. dont keep the poor baby hungry. it doesnt make sense ...you dont fast yourself but you are encouraging other people to keep them. rather hypocritical.

LFP i agree with u, i dont think any healthcare proffesional would recommend fasting whilst being pregnant! Its just wrong medically and morally, u can make yourself suffer if u want but whats it the fault of the unborn child?? If islam allows u to miss them then why would u put yourself and ur child under any risk?

sigh!

I dont have the energy to argue with you. Its a personal choice. What are you going to do? Go and scream at every fasting pregnant woman in the world? Where did i say i am encouraging others to fast. I get so thirsty, i just cant fast. Others asked on what religion says about it and i told them the opinion of a sheikh who btw said, "your health comes first: islam does not tell you to harm yourself in anyway and if you feel fasting is harmful to you and the baby, dont do it". Why should i or you ditch this person, is beyond me.

In my opinion, i am just relating the same thing over and over and over for you but you want to just be against sheikhs and doctors who give you a choice. So be it.

Oh btw i just saw you arguing against other evidence given to you on pregnancy and fasting. Mirch provided the same thing with much more detail that i wrote down as an opinion from the sheikh i talked to. I am not sure what your agenda is but its not impressive. When you do get pregnant, please dont fast if you dont want to but at least dont argue with others over the same thing again and again.

Peace out. Its ramadan afterall.

non-desi/non-Muslim source on pregnancy and fasting (actually seems to see it as a possibility it as long as there are no known issues):
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/ramadan/pregnant-fasting/

i am 30 weeks and have alhumdulillah kept all my fasts so far this ramadan, the fasts here are about 12 hours and to be honest im asleep for half of that time.. i dont feel like i am harming my baby as i eat plenty at sehri and have lots of water.. i dont think its fair to say keeping bub hungry for 17 or however many hours.. its not like when we eat the food leaves our body straight away, obviously the nutrients and etc etc remain in our body for some time after.. and baby always gets what it needs before you do when its inside..

in the end its a personal choice...and with what intention you keep your fasts with, Allah knows best and i have faith he will look after me and my baby as i have made the decision to fast

MashAllah your baby will be patient and pious that is what I believe, I so wish I could fast too but I am not allowed by my family. I get really sad with envy when I see some pregnant woman fasting because I know it is harmless for the baby and I can fast too. No one supports the idea my side, I shall inshAllah try to keep last ishra's fasts. May Allah bless you with good health and strength to fast all along Ramzan inshAllah.

^Don't be sad. You're doing a lot for your child. Allah SWT will reward you as well for caring for you child, inshAllah.

ashdame, please don't be sad.. We each have our own situations to deal with and Allah knows and knows your desire to fast so inshAllah he will reward you for that, after all it is our intentions that are most important. May Allah give you an easy pregnancy and strength to deal with those around you.

thanks sahar and nr0331 jazakAllah for making me feel less miserable God bless you