Post your experience here with Prototype

Re: Some of my work

My review has been long over due! i placed an order for four suits from prototype. I needed some suits to wear at home. She alos send me pics of the unstitch material. Also she replyed to manyyy emails i sent her. I sent her some pics for designs. She did an amazing job!! everyone loved teh clothes. her prices are veryyyy reasonable. And she delivered on time!!! she put alot of hard work and effort by looking at the designing of the clothes. THe stitching was veryyyy neat!!!! and she is a very polite person to speak to over the phone!
Thanks Once again Proto!!!!! will order from you soon!!!!

have been waiting to write a review for quite some time. I couldn't find the "review" thread on the other forum so decided to write it here. I'm happy that so many other had such a great experience in dealing with Prototype. Unfortunately, I believe I may the first one to write about a negative experience. I have no idea why....but "customer service" seemed to totally dissappear when it came to dealing with me and my order. Since I have been dealing with Prototype since DECEMBER regarding 1 single outfit, I will write a detailed timeline of what happened. All the dates/info below are based on e-mails exchanged with Prototype.

December 6, 2010: Prototype confirmed she picked up my FULL payment for my outfit. I ordered one single black formal.
December 7, 2010: Prototype e-mails to confirm that it will be 2 weeks until kaam is done on the outfit.
December 15, 2010: I wrote to her asking if we were still on schedule with the outfit and if she could send me pics.
December 16, 2010: Prototype responded saying that the kaarigar told her outfit will be done by Saturday, and she will try to get pics to me on Monday (December 20).

I never got the pics or any other e-mail.

January 6, 2011: I wrote to Prototype asking what's going on and if she update me.
January 6, 2011: Prototype responded saying that she package was given to the courier guy and she will forward me the tracking number. I finally got a pics of the kameez (the pics that she was supposed to send on December 20).
January 7, 2011: Prototype wrote me asking me to confirm my address and name. I have no idea why she needed confirmation if she already gave the package to the courier guy but whatever...I confirmed it.
January 8, 2011: I receive the tracking number.

January 11, 2011: I received the outfit. Kameez was gorgeous and fit perfectly. Churidaar fit was loose but easily fixable. The dupatta was NOT was I was supposed to get. I was supposed to get a chiffon banarsi dupatta, and instead, received a plain black dupatta. In addition, I specified the dupatta length in the measurement form as 88 inches....the dupatta I received was 98 inches.
I immediately wrote to Prototype. She responded the same day saying that she saw the dupatta but forgot to change it. She said she will mail out a new (correct) dupatta. I asked her to confirm that the new dupatta will also be the correct length and she said "yes".

February 1, 2011: I received the 2nd dupatta. The material is correct, but the length is wrong (again!). I specified 88 inches......the first dupatta was 98 inches....this 2nd dupatta was 101 inches!!! I immediately wrote to her. I received no explanation as to why the length was wrong (for the 2nd time). She asked if I could get it fixed from a tailor nearby and she will transfer the costs to me.
February 6, 2011: I wrote her and told her that it will cost $10 to fix the dupatta length. She wrote back the same day saying she will send me a check for it asap.
She wanted me to mail the "wrong" dupatta to a friend of hers in the same city as me. We exchanged a few e-mails about it. Both of us got frustrated over it.

February 14, 2011: Prototype once again wrote saying she will mail out my check asap. She asked me AGAIN to confirm my name spelling and address for the check.
February 18, 2011: Prototype wrote me asking me to confirm my phone number.
March 3, 2011: Once again, I wrote to Prototype asking her to confirm that she mailed the check.
March 6, 2011: Prototype's response; " am so sorry about it. i will just make sure it is sent out tomorow IA".
March 8, 2011: sigh Once again, I wrote to her asking her to confirm that she mailed out the check.
March 8, 2011: I received a response stating that Prototype "friend" who was supposed to mail my check (and the friend's son) is sick. My check is not in the mail. She asked for Paypal or account number for fund to be transferred electronically.

I hadn't responded to the e-mail. Its been 8 days and no further e-mail from her. A few minutes ago I wrote her an e-mail telling her that I don't have paypal and am not about to give out my account number. I told her that she (and I guess her "friend") has my information and whenever she (or her friend) gets around to mailing the check, they can do it. I'm not going to ask her for "updates" anymore.

Let me make one thing crystal clear. I have no complaints about the outfit itself. I got the churidaar and the dupatta altered. The kameez is gorgeous and I have received several compliments on it when I wrote it a few weeks ago.
As anyone reading my timeline can see, the "issue" is with the lack of communication and dependability. The $10 for the dupatta is not a huge deal to me. The issue isn't me not getting $10....the issue is the merchant not being dependable. Over and over again, the "ball was dropped' when it came to customer service. When the 1st dupatta was sent out wrong, you would think that the 2nd dupatta would be TRIPLE check to make sure it was correct. But that didn't happen. I'm not upset that her "friend" was too sick to mail out the check. What upsets me is that I had to write to her to find out why it hadn't been done.

I really was looking to find someone from whom I can order quite a few outfits. However, I don't have the time or the patience to go through this with every single outfit. I can't even imagine what would've happened if I needed this outfit for a specific occassion or worse, if this was my own shaadi/engagement/walima outfit!

I'm happy that many of you received great service from Prototype. Its actually a bummer for to say that I can't join the "group".

ouch

Whats the big deal of a few inches more of dupatta .. gosh!

^ agreed.

How mundane. She sent you another one as a replacement aswell out of her own cost ( appreciate it. ) I had a miserable experience with Catwalk my pants didn't match my duppata and looked AWFULL , i haven't even worn the suit and when i asked her to make me new pants she wanted £30. crazy or what. i left it at that.

Anyway.

I got my clothes 2 for me 2 for my mum... all i can say is everyone LOVED my clothes :) and may i add i got my clothes on a deadline. I only decided 3 weeks before hand and by the time i got measurments etc across there was minimal time to get my clothes but proto got it to me via DHL in less than 48 hours. We were both tracking the parcel and seriously amazed it got here so quick!!

Proto is also making alot of my wedding clothes, it has taken us weeks and weeks thanks to me being a scatter brain and constantly adding more pictures !! She is amazingly nice and patient. She dosen't let me waste my money!!!

She is basically an amazingly sweet sister :) she really does not believe in spend crap lots of money for no reason she tells you the honest truth if something looks silly or is not worth spending the money on she has pointed it out. I have also learnt alot about materials etc from her too!

So sorry Pari - i think you are being a bit OTT with your remarks. You do realise proto does not make the clothes herself a karigar does? these karigars are well stuck up and usually dont do as they are told!

Seriously, your winging about a scarf bring 10 cm to short ? I kinda feel sorry for vendors who have to deal with such demands, youve got a great suit, enjoy it and is the length of the scarf really the end of the world?

Hello Uzee,How are you?

How mundane!!

Its ur Dress…and I hope u remember that i mail u twice and ask u want the same trouser showing
in the pic (plum color)as like the patti in the botton of shirt …
u said ..okay…then 1/2month later,Please send me a new pant…
Uss ka colour hi nahi jata !okay…u were saying to send u free of cost…then i said if i send u
wrong thing then i will refund u…okay?

u said.. just send me the matching pant to duppata..Right?

then I charged..£15 for that not 30pound…£15 including the postage and packaging …

Uk shipping+fabric+stitching=£15 …

Now u tell me r these Too Much?

Yeah ur right... some ppl forget its not a big company behind whos 100000 workers will ensure each and every wish .. like measuring each centimeter and running and back to the tailors for correction but one female, who has to balance a family life and work life to supply us with amazing suits .. if vendors have to deal with such kind of an attitude then un ka Allah hafiz ...

Lady, you have no idea what mundane means for a start! secondly this isn’t your thread. And nor am i slagging you off. I am not going to be a sadist who whinges when probably it was my fault i quite obviously did not specify hard enough about my matching duppata and pants albeit its a normal thing to keep in mind.

I think you should take yourself into your own thread where you can see i have no commented a bad review and i suggest you edit your post and remove your comments as this thread is based on prototypes work!

If i seriously wanted to damage your rep i can start moaning and whinging but i am not so calm down ‘dear!’

and yes your suggested amount was far too much if you possessed any goodwill you would have sent a matching pant but you didnt and nor did i write you a bad review.

so if you want to battle it out please post in your own thread.

Ladies, i think its only fair that people are able to express their views even if it does not suit some, reviews are not always good, however everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

If you reread her thread she has stated that she is not so bothered about her duppatta as much as service and communication, and thats her right.

I was about to order from Catwalk but Uzzie has mentioned her experience, i am going to think twice before ordereing, maybe still order but something on the cheap side rather than dive in at the deep end to start with.

All reviews help the customer, so lets not scare people away from giving their views.

[quote="uzziee"]

Lady, you have no idea what mundane means for a start! secondly this isn't your thread. And nor am i slagging you off. I am not going to be a sadist who whinges when probably it was my fault i quite obviously did not specify hard enough about my matching duppata and pants albeit its a normal thing to keep in mind.

I think you should take yourself into your own thread where you can see i have no commented a bad review and i suggest you edit your post and remove your comments as this thread is based on prototypes work!

If i seriously wanted to damage your rep i can start moaning and whinging but i am not so calm down 'dear!'

and yes your suggested amount was far too much if you possessed any goodwill you would have sent a matching pant but you didnt and nor did i write you a bad review.

Correction uzziee rude attitude:D

u dont clear ur point :(u receive the wrong pant?

paheli: please tell everyone here on the forum with date and time (like you did in your detailed review) when you get your check which I am quite hopeful you already have recieved or will be with you anytime now

for your dissatisfaction on my customer service, I am amazed that sending out the dupatta without a word, admitting my mistake, offering money right away for the costs of shortening the dupatta by few inches, responding to emails as early as possible (except for the delay in getting back twice ), still if you expect anything better or cooperative, please share with everyone because I couldnt be more cooperative on an issue than what I already did here. you took time everytime I tried to hasten the transfer, you got back to me after 8 days , telling that you dont have a paypal, and I arranged for the check right away (thanks to ssamrina and SK-L for being very hellpful) and by that time, you had to write this review ? I am writing here only because I dont want you or others to think that I ignored your post or that your emails made me send the check in the end. I would have sent it 8 days back if you were efficient enough to get back to my email.

and thanks for everyone else for your words of support :hugz:

1) Yes I know that Prototype herself doesn't make the clothes. But I also received a 3 page containing a detailed list of measurement from her. I'm not dealing with the karigaar....I'm dealing with Protype and sending her money for a product I specified. If Prototype (or any other vendor) is not able to ensure that a outfit is made out to a customer's specification, then she (or any other vendor) should make that clear to the customer to begin with.

2) I needed a dutatta that's 88 inches. The first dupatta was 98 inches and the 2nd one was 101 inches. Being only 5 feet tall....yes, it IS a big deal that the dupatta is so large on me. If I could've worn it comfortably without looking awkard, then this wouldn't be a big deal. Those of you making comments seemed to miss the part where I wrote that my churidaar also did not fit perfectly but I was understanding about it and got it altered at my own cost. The dupatta being the wrong lenghth wasn't a big deal the first time....you ladies can say whatever you like to support Prototype....but for her to not ensure that the 2nd dupatta was the correct length before she mailed it out was unprofessional. I understand that a mistake can be made the first time since we're all humans....but what's the excuse to make the same exact mistake a 2nd time? No, the length of the dupatta being wrong wasn't the "end of the world"...however, it did make it impossible for me to wear the outfit and look elegant.

3) To Prototype: I'm currently out of town but yes, as soon as I receive the check, I will be glad to update it here. But as I have stated before, the $10 is not what bothers me. I admitted on my post that I did not respond to your e-mail in which you asked me about my paypal. On February 14, you wrote to me that you would mail the check. Yet on March 8th, you're telling me that your friend was too sick. What happened between Feb 14 and March 8? I completely understand that a human error happend the first time with the length of the dupatta....but after knowing that a mistake was made the first time, why didn't you feel the need to double check the dupatta the SECOND time before mailing it out? Now that's would've been cooperative. When you received the 2nd dupatta from your karigaar, I wish you had taken 5 extra minutes to make sure that it wasn't 11 inches extra long.

And btw, if you had arranged for the check "right away"...then it would've been mailed out on February 15th b/c I still have the e-mail you sent on February 14 stating you'd mail it as "asap". The $10 itself it not what I'm complaning about since the $10 won't make or break me. But yes, I will update the forum when I receive the check as per your request.

In conclusion, as I said before, the outfit itself is beautiful. I never said that Prototype wasn't "sweet" or "nice" or "pleasant". Those of you defending Prototype's customer service can defend it all you want. You have a right to your opinion...so do I. If a person reading my review thinks I'm crazy then that's fine. Prototype has plenty of great reviews...heck I ordered from her after reading all the reviews! However, if a woman reading my review agrees with my view and can relate to how I feel....then it's probably best for her (and for Prototype so she doesn't have to deal with another picky customer like me) that she refrain from ordering.

People come here and write reviews about how happy they were with their service. I have every right to write about a service that I wasn't 100% satisfied with. It has nothing to do with Prototype as a person. This is simply about a customer writing a review on a vendor. Last time I checked, business reviews weren't a popularity contest.

Ummm....please re-read my post. The 1st dupatta was the wrong MATERIAL and the wrong length. Forget the length, actual cloth was different that what I was supposed the receive. If a vendor sends out the wrong product, why shouldn't they replace it at their own cost? I've experienced plenty of situations where an item I ordered was not what I received. On every occassion, either I received a full refund OR the vendor sent out the correct item at their own cost. I didn't realize that sending out the correct item that a customer paid for was considered a favor on the vendor's part.

No, I was upset that the dupatta was 11 INCHES extra long.

There's a noticeable different between 10 cm and 11 inches.

i love long duputta’s whether they are 3 yards or even 3 and a half :wink:

i kind of agree with Paheli. She was very specific of her order and knew what she wanted. I don't think she is maligning prototype, and she has a right to her own opinion on customer satisfaction. It's her review on her order, so that is her honest opintion and I respect that.

my own review:
I had once sent Prototype a photo of an outfit I wanted her to make. It took a while for her to respond (not sure exactly when because I didnt record the dates or keep the emails). But she said that she couldnt make it and that since it was a T&M outfit, their designs are computerized (something like that). I was disappointed, but I didnt really see what the difference and the big deal of not making it was, I wasn't asking for an original T&M, just similar type of embroidary design. (which i know that most darzis can make). Well anyways, I then got someone else to make it for me, and it wasn't a hassle at all. It wasn't exactly like the T&M embroidary, but it was similar enough to my liking. Then I checked Prototype's facebook page, and saw a similar type of embroidary outfit that I had requested. Ah well. Maybe one day I will try to place an order with Prototype again, Inshallah.

Prototype, I've never ordered from you but have heard sooo many good things about your work on GS. all I can say is this...you are better off without orders from such customers. So much headache over the length of a friggin dupatta! Heeesh!

proto sweeetie you are running a business and once in a while you will get bad reviews. even thou you want to and try ur best you CANNOT please everyone.

I ALWAYS get compliments whenever i wear outfits made by you :)
keep making beautiful clothes :)

Re: Post your experience here with Prototype

i recevied my paracl and i love my suit prototype your stitching and designing is wonderful and my daughter suits so beautiful she love her suits and thanks the gift for daughter so nice thanks prototype