Re: Playing for Pakistan 'A' Team for players like me is not worthy - Yasir Hameed
yasir shud be given a chance but the question is whom will he replace????
Re: Playing for Pakistan 'A' Team for players like me is not worthy - Yasir Hameed
yasir shud be given a chance but the question is whom will he replace????
I don't buy Yasir's sob stories. The quality of openers in Pakistan has been so poor that mediocre openers (who would be troubled to find places in most first class teams) like Taufeeq, Hafeez, Nazir, Hameed, ALL have been given numerous chances.
The fact that there is STILL no solution (Farhat & Butt musical chairs) in sight merely proves the fact that ALL of these players have FAILED to cement their place. After all, in the end it's runs that count.
Compare that with players like Uthappa, Jacques, Jaffer, Cook from Australia, England, India who despite having scored 90 odd and even centuries on debut still are struggling for a place. Our criteria for success is: didn't get a brain freeze until he reached at least 20.
Re: Playing for Pakistan ‘A’ Team for players like me is not worthy - Yasir Hameed
Yasir denies making controversial remarks
By Waheed Khan
KARACHI: Pakistan’s discarded batsman Yasir Hameed denied making any controversial remarks in an interview to a Gulf newspaper, which has caught the attention of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).
Yasir told ‘The News’ from Abu Dhabi, where he is representing the Pakistan A side in the Eurasia Cup, that what he had said had been misunderstood by the newspaper.
“I just told them that I didn’t want to play in this tournament as I was to get married on April 27. But due to the tournament I had to delay my wedding to May 15 because the selectors told me I had to play,” he explained.
“I never meant to say that I was not keen on playing for the Pakistan A side or didn’t want to come to Abu Dhabi as I felt I deserved a place in the senior team. In some places I’ve also been misquoted,” he claimed.
A worried Yasir, who has been discarded from the senior team since last playing against England in a One-day International in December, said he hoped his explanation would be accepted. “I don’t want to jeopardise my chances of being considered for the England tour. I was only telling the newspaper the reasons for me not wanting to play in the tournament.”
The stylish right-hander also made it clear he had no grievances with anyone for not being considered for the senior team. “I’ve no problems with anyone I know there is a tough of competition for places in the Pakistan team and every player needs a little bit of luck with good performances,” he added.
“It is always an honour for me to represent my country at any level. So this impression that I don’t consider the Pakistan A team worthy of myself is a completely wrong impression,” Yasir insisted.
Chalo Jee, mitti daalo. Khaa makhaa, becharay ki shaadi honay detey nahin reporter log. Jaan khayi hui hai bachay ki, ultee seedhi khabrein chaap kay.
Yeh Waheed Khan Allah jaanay kub sudhrey gaa. ![]()