Re: Plato on the Existence of Man on Earth and Sex
Plato nay to pata nahe kitne bakwaas kare hai is kay chakar main nae aaoo baby E ![]()
pity.
^me no care…me looking for my other half still ![]()
pity.
sorrry yar never wanted to flood on ur thread and the comments about Plato were not appropriate because obviously U like him but its all Baby e z fault..
but you should not feel pity coz I dont like Plato different people different likes and dislikes If a close friend of mine comes to me and read that theory I will kick on his eggs coz thats not my cup of tea but I respect your taste and have apologised for flooding ere.
^its not PLUTO!!! its PLATO!!! ![]()
shush ,
u bonge girl and U have found ur soul mate what u onn about ![]()
This is again an extract from the book I read last and also mentioned in another thread here. The forum is so stagnant, I felt like throwing a pebble....
“According to Plato, at the beginning of creation, men and women were not as they are now; there was just one being, who was rather short, with a body and a neck, but his head had two faces, looking in different directions. It was as if two creatures had been glued back to back, with two sets of sex organs, four legs and four arms.
The Greek gods, however, were jealous, because this creature with four arms could work harder; with its two faces, it was always vigilant and could not be taken by surprise; and its four legs meant that it could stand or walk for long periods at a time without tiring. Even more dangerous was the fact that the creature had two different sets of sex organs and so needed no one else in order to continue reproducing.
Zeus, the supreme lord of Olympus, said: “I have a plan to make these mortals lose some of their strength.”
And he cut the creature in two with a lightning bolt, thus creating man and woman. This greatly increased the population of the world, and, at the same time, disoriented and weakened its inhabitants, because now they had to search for their lost half and embrace it and, in that embrace, regain their former strength, their ability to avoid betrayal and the stamina to walk for long periods of time and to withstand hard work. That embrace in which the two bodies re-fuse to become one again is what we call sex”.
The thought is provokably debateful too. But only for the inquisitive and excited minds.
Its not even funny.
u corrected it ![]()
no no…I think I only found a quarter…patha nahi where his other quarter is..need to make him a half for me to have my other half..warna we will be only 3/4 ![]()
lolz too complicated for me my maths is very kamzoor ..
^dnt wrry..while writing it I myself got a bit confused ![]()
ok..me not flooding here anymore..or am gonna get kicked ![]()
me off aswell
plato sahab ko maira salam
so what have we concluded so far regarding this subject ?
i dont think its entirely accurate to say this is what plato said on love. its an extract from Symposium by plato, where Socrates (who has a more rational view of love, that we love because we aspire to the ideal ‘form’ of love) discussing love with his students. This particular story is contributed by the comic poet Aristophanes, who supposedly was a bit of a rival of Socrates. About Aristophanes:
could be plato’s own ideas, or could be a paraphrasing of Aristophanes although I believe the story predates even him. i think the idea of the book is that you take a little bit from it, and its especially contrasted with Socrates’s idea of love as seeking the Truth versus searching for completion.
I extracted it from Paulo Coehlo's Eleven Minutes. He quotes Plato with the theory. So its just a myth. Agreeing or not is everyone's cup of tea. What stimulated me was the idea of soulmate. And its lovely.
Imagine a group of people sitting around, eating, drinking, and talking. The subject happens to be love, and so each takes a turn in speaking of it, or an aspect of it in their own way. That is the basic premise of the Symposium, and no doubt based on many such gatherings that Plato attended. It is not too dissimilar to, for example, the antakshri contests in Hindi films, or indeed that scene in Hum Aapke Hain Kaun where the characters sit in a circle and showcase their talents - just before the Maye ni maye song.
The difference being depth; these men were philosophers and writers of the highest calibre. Their output inspires thought. Love was not just a subject in and of itself but also a stepping stone to other things.
Thank you Ravage for pointing out Aristophanes' comic nature, for that is key to understanding the story.
Mirage, I'm not a Coelho fan, but I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts about soulmates. Why does the idea stimulate you?
If it doesnt stimulate you itself, then its hard to explain. The idea itself always attracted and evaded me at the same time. They say you will know when you find one. I wonder if that is actually how it is. Relating to this is how the theory above I found alluring. But well to each his own.