Planning Quran Hifz for your child

Re: Planning Quran Hifz for your child

My brothers have started their Hifz classes since yesterday. One is 17 the other is 8. 17year old developed an interest in memorizing the Quran just a few months ago after listening to qirats on YouTube. He then started memorizing them. He knows about 5 6 big surahs mA but official Hifz classes have started now. He's doing his ACCA through home tuitions so he goes for Hifz from 8 to 11. The 8 year old has his Hifz class after school from 3:30 till 6.
goodluck to all of you:)

^Mashallah.

My father has started doing hifz after retirement.Now mashallah he has learned by heart first 3 paras and other surahs like rehman and yaseen.
His timings are tahajud till ishraq and then 30 minutes after isha.

Very valid points Lusi , thanks so much for sharing .. you are right repetition is the key element .. I wanna ask one quick thing, when we play Qirat alot of it can be hard to separate the words. I know that sometimes if i am only listening to the Quran and not looking at the screen , I find it hard to realize the words being said … but when i am looking and hearing it at the same time, it leaves a very different impact.. how do we tackle this situation with infacts …

I am assuming that they learn the english rhymes faster because the words are easy to separate even when you are just listening to them … I wonder if i am making any sense? :hmmm:

i play quran tilawat with translation every morning in my cellphone....
its the first thing we(me and my 8month old)do when we wake up....i play surahs like surah rehman,surah yaseen,surah muzammil,surah qiyamah,surah bakarah almost everyday and surah kahaf on fridays....he doesnt pay much attention but atleast he is listening to them....and will get used to this routine when he grows up inshaAllah!
i was doing that during my pregnancy too....n i hope my baby will start catching the words soon....

if 4/5 years is a good age for hifz...so is it possible that we do home-schooling during that time and send our kids to madrassas for hifz?

So, Any updates CB?

Waiting to read about your findings

Assalam o Alaikum!
Just go to the given link. There are the details given by Quran Teacher…He has told in detail what should the one who intend to memorize the Holy Quran do…
Jzk
Practicle steps for Memorizing the Holy Quran

Way to Quran {equranicschool(dot)tk}

CB, here are my thoughts having 2 daughters, and living in the US, and running an Islamic School.

1. Always keep your intentions right (and I'm not saying you, but all of us), because I've seen many parents force their kids into a Hifz program, the kid becomes a Hafiz, but because there is no practical implementation of his knowledge, or the right environment, the child eventually forgets. This is actually not recommended at all.

2. You can enroll your child in a Qur'anic education program as soon as he learns to speak. Make sure they teach reading of the Qur'an with tajweed so your child can have the correct pronunciation and articulation right from the beginning.

3. My girls did most of their ground work ages 4-6, right before 1st grade so now they can balance their time with their academics and Islamic education. I found time and shuffled priorities to be able to do that, cutting other activities.

4. Hifz may take longer depending on the program and your child, but don't be afraid of schoolwork. When I talk to parents of my students, I ask them to eliminate distractions or activities that aren't adding any value in their child's life so they can free up some time and focus on what is important.

5. If you have a positive attitude, chances are your child will too. Don't plan too much. Insha'Allah everything falls into place if you have the right mindset, goals and good mentorship.

love your post niksik!!!

i think first step would be giving a good environment to children at home so that they can take interest in doing hifz....

because me n hubby are not haafiz-e-quran,so how can we make our baby understand or encourage him to do hifz?

few things we do/should do at home:
*listen to and do tilawat with translation
*take interest in reading understanding n following ahadith/quran on daily basis
*listen too naat/hamd
*living life according to teachings of islam
*watch islamic shows/videos
*no music n movies

Jr. Used to fall asleep to tilawat. And he still has it as part of his night time routine. He is two but copies sajdah, Ruku and dua gestures by seeing us. I praying I can keep this up so he can learn Quran easily InshAllah

Mashallah, very good to see how many people are concerned and have there kids hafiz-e-Quran pak , just wonderful.May Alllah(swt) bless all of us.Kindly just make sure if your kid has keen interest to be hafiz saab, dont impose it on him, I mean dont make it do it for your wish or what so ever.I know 2 men and a woman who are Hafiz-e-Quran pak, they are terrible, inhumane, brutal, immodest, they are curse to human beings.

LHR1, thanks so much for all the kind words and may Allah SWA show us all the right path .

The thing is , as a parent , one can only endeavour to teach kids Quran by heart and help the child look after this special gift of Allah for as long as the child is in the parents care .. Once that knowledge has been imbibed in them and kids grow up into young men and women , it becomes their responsibility to upkeep that gift or let it wither with time ..

I however , strongly strongly strongly believe that its not just Quran hifz that can give a child Allah's blessings , its equally important to imbibe the child with hukook ul ibaad , the differetiation of right and wrong and ability to uphold islamic values. This is where the major parenting challenge is .. If we can achieve this Inshallah, Quran Hifz will be like cherry on top ..

I really like Niksik's input , thanks so much Nikki .. you are absolutely right about everything you mentioned in your post.

May Allah SWA make it all easier for us. The fact is keeping an intent and then nurturing it for years, creates the fire in us to achieve a goal.

My 8 year old has recently started memorizing 30th juz...he knows 7-8 small surahs by heart which we used to recite together once a day. I've never forced it upon them because the most important thing is to instill love for Quran in your kid's heart. He's also doing an Arabic reading and writing program at home on weekends as he's in school now.

I don't believe kids can learn just by listening Quran on a CD...you have to recite it with them everyday even if you can take out 10-20 minutes.

Also, I don't have a TV or PS3 PSP (whatever you call it) in my house though they have to listen to music composed by some of the great classical musicians once a week. I think it's all about sticking to routine really. It would be better to find a Quran teacher (not an online teacher) for your kids though.

Also, I would never send my kids to madrassah here in UK...they're just Pakistanified and have bad reputation.

Reviving a nice thread! :slight_smile:

I’m so happy to see so many of you enthusiastic about Hifz. Alhamdulilah my boys have started it (onto 5th juzz now, mashaAllah) and girls will follow soon, hopefully inshaAllah.
As a message of encouragement I would like to share that my own mother memorised the holy Quran shortly before my daughter (her 3rd grandchild) was born, in 2003. And Alhamdulillah, despite being too busy all the time, she has maintained it so far, reciting in her prayers and otherwise. :slight_smile:
Also my youngest sis, after finishing her degree at UET Lahore, started memorising it and finished in less than 2 years. Thanks to cheap cellphone packages, she and ammi manage to listen manzil of each other over the phone, while being a great distance away from each other.
As they say, where there’s a will, there’s a way. :slight_smile: