Peer Group for Grad School Applications

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *

Is there really that much off-shoring work in IT in PK ?

are there training centers or schools in PK which provide education/training in this area? or is it on the job learning? Do you what kind of methodologies/processes/tools are in use?

Yes! There a LOT of off shore development going on here. And also a lot of new local firms. IT is BOOMING here. Though, the salaries of IT individuals are not that good. MBA's are getting paid well though.

Trainign centres specificially for QA? Hmmm, I don't think so, but IT institutes are in every street corner.

Methodologies, processes, tools...I'm not sure but I think most of them develop their own unique ones depending on the software they are working with.

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
Monetizing one's skills and education is the right approach. If anyone tells you any difference, they are either incapable or their scope is limited.

Hmmm...yes maybe you're right, maybe it works for some people...? but I dono I never thought of it like that...my parents are both educators too and they also dont think on these lines...i guess it boils down to personal preferences and outlook :-)

Allah ka shukar hae my family and I'm living a a very comfortable life, what many would even consider luxury, we have more than we need, so I don't find making money a priority for myself :-) I feel like with that mindset one just becomes materialistic and always wants more maybe...?

Re: Re: Peer Group for Grad School Applications

*Originally posted by rehman1: *

I gather that you are an UGrad . You can pursue Foundation graduate
courses in Education and than move on to Masters in Edu.
I wanted to do Masters in Edu. But the courses are too easy.
And most of them are related to secondary education not Masters
level courses. Even the Masters in Business Education has so easy
courses.Childish, I might say.

take care

thanks brother rehman

i graduated with a bs last summer and i'm working now...i dont want to become a teacher but i want more to learn how to manage education at a macro level...so i'm still thinking about which exact degree to do...

i'm actually a computer science major, and i've taken some education classes in college and agree with u, they seemed too easy and not challening enough, like i was wasting my skills or something...i totally get u...

do share if u decide on a program, i will too :)

salams and take care you too

irem, count me in if you want to form a motivational group for studying for GREs. I am also planning to apply for Masters in fall 05, InshaAllah. Mine is going to be in Applied Math so I gotta take General and the Math one, since some schools require both. I dont even have the materials yet :( But after this semester InsahAllah I am going to focus on GREs. Since you already have a headstart, share with us any significant stuff abt GREs you have discovered so far. :)

*Originally posted by Ira: *
irem, count me in if you want to form a motivational group for studying for GREs. I am also planning to apply for Masters in fall 05, InshaAllah. Mine is going to be in Applied Math so I gotta take General and the Math one, since some schools require both. I dont even have the materials yet :( But after this semester InsahAllah I am going to focus on GREs. Since you already have a headstart, share with us any significant stuff abt GREs you have discovered so far. :)

Maths.you must be a genius or from India.

take care

Re: Re: Re: Peer Group for Grad School Applications

*Originally posted by irem: *

thanks brother rehman

i graduated with a bs last summer and i'm working now...i dont want to become a teacher but i want more to learn how to manage education at a macro level...so i'm still thinking about which exact degree to do...

i'm actually a computer science major, and i've taken some education classes in college and agree with u, they seemed too easy and not challening enough, like i was wasting my skills or something...i totally get u...

do share if u decide on a program, i will too :)

salams and take care you too

Assalam Aleekum
I already have a masters in public admin(Karachi University).
Second one(MBA) abhee last semester hee.
and 18 credit hrs business undergrad bhe complete karchukaa
huuu.enuf abt me.

As for your question, only Public Admin degree will give you the
wide range of specialization options.But It all depends on
which school you go to.

As for GRE join Kaplan. sirf $1400 for the entire course.

Ira, look at this thread yaar:
http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=141597
and lets motivate each other yaar…i suck at doing things alone :smiley:
yaar, trust me i dont have any headstart, except some vocab which i started learning months ago and have prolly forgotten by now. and my basic math has become sooooooo rusty. i need to study big time. im so glad u gona be taking em too yaar :hug: lets do it yaar inshallah we gona rock this exam :smiley:

rehman1 thanks for sharing the details abt ur background brother. mashallah you have an impressive record there :slight_smile:

Ok guys, inshallah as of TODAY, MAY 5th '04, my life's gona turn over a new leaf INSHALLAH

for starters, on the academic front, i'm gona start studying for GRE's inshallah from tonite.

thanks ds :slight_smile:

general

tum bhee to dene walay thay na…nai de rhay? de do, saath parh leyn ge…? i promise i’m gona make u study. and thats gona help me too. we can pace each other about vocab. match practice etc. i dont know anyone else taking gre’s. mujhay prolly akele hi parhna paray ga. to tum sochna ok :slight_smile: and lemi know over pm.

irem and digital, when are you guys planning on taking it?
I am going to register InshaAllah tonight or tomorrow night. I need to apply to schools by Jan1st I think.

ds mili aur reply bhee ker dee :stuck_out_tongue:

Ira Jan 1st kyun? yaar i am applying for fall '05 na…is lyay i got some time :smokin: tayyari shuru kee hae some vocab, lekin i dont know for when i am gona register yet.

Re: Peer Group for Grad School Applications

*Originally posted by irem: *
Salams,

Is anyone here applying to grad school in US/UK/Canada for fall 2005?

I'm inshallah applying for a master's for the fall 2005 session, but I don't know anyone else who's applying, so I would really love it if there's some other people too so we can motivate each other.

Are you just finishing of your undergard now?

I may start an MA in september 2005, if I pass this bloody degree.

Re: Re: Peer Group for Grad School Applications

*Originally posted by legbreakgoogly: *

Are you just finishing of your undergard now?

I may start an MA in september 2005, if I pass this bloody degree.

no i graduated last summer i'm working now

good luck with ur degree

Originally posted by irem: *
**tayyari shuru kee hae some vocab

How are your tayyariaan going, Irem?

:blush: :frowning: nadzzz na poocho yaar some thoughts r not letting me concentrate or study :frowning:

*GUYS - some things have come up and i am postponing my studies for two three months...FYI...will get back laterz abt this...if anyone is interested they can pm me...