PDA.....your views?

Re: PDA.....your views?

only if you HotSync too often.

Re: PDA…your views?

:konfused:

but in absence of lappy......that might be necessary to continue..........

LoL I know what you mean!

I was with my boss (who's an american woman) on a business trip to mumbai. We went for a walk by the sea hoping to take pictures of the sunset. There was a public garden there - we went in thinking we'd get better pictures, little knowing that it was a total lovers' hangout. There were at least 50 couples there in various stages of umm .. PDA... weird thing was each one was doing their own thing, completely oblivious to the other people less than 2 feet away :DThe boss and I literally didn't know where to look.. we were giggling helplessly by the time we got out.

desi PDA is disgusting and not cute. when I'm in Pakistan I see these "modrennn" couples flirting and whatnot and it's just...awkward...

I don't have issues with a peck, hugs, holding hands or affection.

I do have an issue with people overdoing it.

Holding hands, hugs, kiss on cheek and a greeting/goodbye peck, all okay to me, nothing more. But definitely Aagree with @Sara516, "I see many desi couples who hardly even look at each other or walk next to each other out in public--I find the latter disturbing as well"

There was a gay couple on the tram the other day and they both had HUGE headsets on, listening to their own stuff and one of them was soo over-clingy kept leaning in towards his guy to kiss him, literally every 2 minutes. I was sat behind them. I wanted to shout: STOP IT YOU NEEDY GIT. But I'm brown and he wouldve taken me to be a homophobe. Racist git.

I totally oppose the idea of public display of affection, but I consider moderate amount of holding hand of your spouse in public is ok, but it should not reflect any affection.

PDA is always awkward if there are noises involved or if the couple is slobbering up on each other with no regard to their surroundings. However, kissing, hugging, holding hands and being cute and clingy is A-okay. The worst is when you're in line, say at an amusement park, and you have a couple who is eating each other's face off and you're stuck with them right in front of you. Awwwwkward.

PDA should depend on the surroundings. Couple sitting close sooo chippak ke even in front of their parents and in-laws is disgusting. There should be some respect for elders. Majority of modern DILs are not required by their MILs to have dupatta on their heads (like many of our our mothers had to in their times). We can at least behave in front of elders. I don't know why couples need to behave like siamese twins in front of their families and elders.

Holding hands and hugs are ok in front of cousins and friends. But then again, try to behave according to the values followed by others. If you hold hands and hug your spouse in front of a couple (hijabi wife and sharia bearded husband), it wouldn't be ok. Use common sense. We should respect our surroundings.

The most acceptable form of PDA for me is holding hands and a controlled hug. For anything more, look for a private space.

Oh man, I remember once I was on the train and I saw this lesbian couple...I kid you not, they looked like they could have been sisters! and htey couldn't stop making out...it was...very disturbing and gross.

Agree..

I find hugs, holding hands etc really sweet.. I'd draw the lines at funny noises and tongues..

What about the opposite situation? Like when you see a wife walking several steps behind the husband and him not even giving her a second glance.. Some ppl actually think this is how couples should walk..

It's like smoking in public spaces - total violation of other people's noses/lungs, while PDA is a visual assault on innocent bystanders.

I was at IKEA today and as I strolled past the bedroom/mattress floor displays I see this young Indian couple lying on a queen size, spooning + stroking + smooching. I shot a WTH? look as I walked by, and the girl responded with a nonchalant "what-everrrrr" stare. Later, my mom was muttering, "Did you see those bloody desis trying to be American; I had a good mind to call security." Ha.

Besharmi ki bhi hadd hoti hai bhai.

Re: PDA…your views?

Neither extreme is good

I m ok with holding hand or wrapping hand around her not more than that. Somethings are better left for indoors.

HAHAHA. Bloody desis trying to American. Your mom is champ!

I never had a PDA. However, I use my cell phone to take notes and record appointments.

amusement park PDA is the worst...there's nowhere to turn and usually you're there with family