Re: Pathan guppies
Yep! Im a bada balaaa
At least you know it.
yara khabara clear ka kana ...sok pakey khwake da or sok pakey ingor?????
or zama khiyal khawand ai GS de.......am i right???
I can't speak on behalf of lazy, but he's not mine.
alaka da fight kho band sho....jorey roga oshwa....za shukar de.....
Alaka................ fight shuroo nadeh shaweh
za kha zamaa jaarugai raakhlam che taasu tool pe sum uta kaum!
No, he’s not.
I agree with the logic that your language is the main thing what determines your ethnicity, language is the key to a culture, you can’t claim to belong to an ethnic group and not speak the language.
To me the word “Pathan” is just an Indic word for Pashtun/Afghan/Pukhtoon and shouldn’t be used for Desi people of Pashtun descent because it just makes it confusing for everyone, if need be just say they are of Pathan/Pashtun descent but not Pathan/Pashtun themselves.
My own people are Hindko speaking but of Pashtun descent and all our Pashtun descended tribes call themselves Pathan to differentiate from other Hindko speaking tribes but I don’t agree with that, you can’t affiliate yourself to an ethnicity and not know the language well. Our people even look like the Pashtuns/Pathans of the plains (as opposed to the purer blooded mountain Pashtuns), follow the same culture (minus language) but I still don’t consider them Pathan, they’re Hindko, same goes for Urdu speaking Pathans from the north Indian Urdu-Belt and Hyderabad Deccan, Urdu washed Pathan-descendents usually don’t even look like Pashtuns (not even the plains variety) or even follow a similar culture any longer, they just have the surname Khan to their credit which is not even of Pathan origin but is used by a whole host of different ethnic groups. There is nothing wrong with not being or being a Pathan, being an Urdu (just coined an ethnic name for you guys) or Hindko or Punjabi is just as good because everyone is equal.
I have an Urdu friend who is of Yusufzai-Pashtun descent and he’s learning Pashto so he can be a complete Pathan as he says, I can never understand why he’s doing that, although I think Pashto is a beautiful language but I don’t see how somebody can discard his mother tongue, the language his mom sang lullaby’s to him in, the language he hears his elders converse in. I love Pashto songs and my fiancée speaks Pashto and Dari and even if I end up learning those languages I’ll never feel the same way about them as I do about the language I was born into.
So let me get this straight....You don't think Jehangir Khan can call himself pakhtoon since he does not speak puktho...but you are full-blooded legitimate pukhtoon since you speak hindko, which is not exactly puktho.....A bit of a paradox, I must say....
Disagree with Ranjhan with regards to not speaking the language makes a non pathan.
I feel Its a matter of bloodline, culture and ettiquete.
but I love this comment they made
"There is nothing wrong with not being or being a Pathan, being an Urdu (just coined an ethnic name for you guys) or Hindko or Punjabi is just as good because everyone is equal."
Bhai jaan ya to mujhe baat samjhaaney ka saleeqa nahein hai ya phir aap ke demaagh mein bhoosa bhara huwa hai. . ![]()
What I wanted to say is neither of us is Pathan, we’re of Pathan descent (there’s a difference), even though my people have more in common with Pathans than our Urdu “cousins” do, I still don’t go claiming affiliation with an ethnic group whose language I can’t speak. If you rely solely on “genetic heritage” we’d all be Black Africans if we go back far enough.
People like Imran Khan, Me Khan, Jehangir Khan are Seraiki, Hindko and Urdu etc. now and not Pathan any longer.
As for blood, then I never claimed to be of full-blooded Pathan descent, not even the Pashto speaking Pathans of the plains (whether in Pakistan or Afghanistan) are full blooded Pathans, no matter what they tell you they mixed with other races over the course of time, it’s only the mountain dwelling Pathans who are still pretty much racially homologous both in Pakistan and Afghanistan.
I don’t see anything wrong with not being a Pathan, but if your roots are really that important to you then you should learn the language and marry a Pashtun woman to get the culture back in, but not speaking Pukhtu and not knowing a thing about Pukhtoon culture whilst claiming to be Pathan is like saying I’m a Muslim but I don’t know the Kalimah and Namaaz.
A lot of your and my Urdu cousins are decendents of Pathans who over the years continued to migrate to India....There were and still are whole communities/cities/regions in India that are famous for Pathan, such as Tonk, Rampur, and etc.....So, I would not generalize by saying that you being a Hindko are closer to Pathans then the Urdu folks (whatever the heck that is)......Some Urdu folks may be more closer ethnically to Pathan then you are.....
To mein kiya karoun? Either way it doesn’t matter. They probably are.
I mentioned the similarities between my people and them because back home we still intermarry and live side by side in the same neighbourhoods with Pukhtoons who still speak Pukhto because they migrated to Attock much later than my ancestors.
A lot of your and my Urdu cousins are decendents of Pathans who over the years continued to migrate to India....There were and still are whole communities/cities/regions in India that are famous for Pathan, such as Tonk, Rampur, and etc.....
Our (indic people of pathan descent) ancestors were warriors, they usually came without women so they ended up marrying the local women after settling down on this side of the river, the rest of the ones who live here and still speak Pashto came on the scene much later, jab hamaarey baap daadaaoun ne Hinduon aur Sikhon se maidaan saaf kar diya to yeh loag bhi scene pe aa gaey. :D
assalamu alaikum,
Ooh.. so y'all speak hindko as well?
wassalam
Very well said, i agree with ya.
Only those Afghans/Pashtuns can call themselves Pashtun/Afghan who can speak Pashto, and follow PashtunWali code of life, and t he last one, associate themselves to a Tribe or Clan.
These are the factors that make Afghans/Pashtuns a unique race, if you have non of them qualities, you are no longer a Pashtun/Afghan.
In Afghania [NWFP] a large number of Afghans have adopted Hindko culture and language, they are now termed out of Pashtun/Afghan ethnicity. Same thing in Kabul, a large number have adopted Farsi as their mother tongue, and now intermingled with the Farsi speaking population, but they still got their Pashtun physical look.
Tribal Identity is taken serious in our society than anything else, one has to be associated to a Tribe in order of having a honoured life among Afghans/Pashtuns.
I say those who do not speak Pashto, yet call themselves Afghan/Pashtun should slip away from this, and consider the fact that a Pashtun/Afghan is Afghan/Pashtun because he/she speaks Pashto - Afghan language.
Shay Chaaray!
By the way, Sanga Haloona De Khalko? Har tsa sam dam rawaan de ka na?
In Afghania [NWFP] a large number of Afghans have adopted Hindko culture and language, they are now termed out of Pashtun/Afghan ethnicity. Same thing in Kabul, a large number have adopted Farsi as their mother tongue, and now intermingled with the Farsi speaking population, but they still got their Pashtun physical look.
I agree with everything else you said except the bit about Afghan’s in NWFP, the Pathan’s in NWFP are pretty much still true to their culture and language, it's the Pashtun descended people in parts of Punjab (Attock etc.) and Kashmir who over the course of time have gradually lost their culture and language.
It's the opposite with Hindko speaking people from NWFP who claim Pashtun descent or have even adopted Pashto, they adopted Pashto because of Pashtun influence instead of other way round, they've originally been Hindko and don't belong to any of the Afghan clans, I've met a few guys like this from Peshawar who now speak Pashto and call themselves Pathan but they don't have the Pashtun/Pashtun-descended phenotype or any regard for similar values.
No most are Punjabi or Hindustani on here, only few of us speak Hindko.
You from Attock? Man I’m surrounded by MP’z, Punjabayz and Hindustani peeps over here in Manchester, finding a fellow Chhachh person or even a Pashtun Attockwal is like squeezing blood out of a rock. ![]()
assalamu alaikum,
lol. can’t say the same about here in Cali, I know lots of Pushtoons from around here, m’A.
Yea, I’m from Attock btw. Oh and my parents speak pushto, but they taught my siblings and I hindko instead.
I take it you’re from Attock as well?
wassalam
Wayem tolo ta salam kom… ![]()
Hieeeee.....Pakhairoona.........za um pakhtooon yamma........although maata pata da che taaso k sok um ma na pajani...ma siaaaye kuch guppies k..........but never mind.....aaakhir kaar za um pakhtoon yamma n this thread iz for all pathoonz...iznt it?........well.......salaaamooona tollo pakhtooon guppies ta...........specially NO^RESERVATIONS......Golden Scorpion....Black Mamba......Wran Alak........As Sweet As........Salsa.......Yarooo........:).....n ya above all......salaaamoona to cutesponge.