Pakistan's tour of Australia/Australia announce squad (Merged)

Nahi yaar I dont want those 2 guys to be forgived at all

being 1000% instead of 100% :D

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

You will just need 20 in each game. Please Forgive those 2 extra guys.

bhayya app kahan say aaa gayaee....

or may be you decided to hide so far aussies were in india and now that it is our trun to be hammered, you decided to re-emerge..... very smart :D

just kiddin, welcome back.....

*Originally posted by acrobi123: *

We have decent enough bowlers ( can get 22 wickets of kangroos) and all rounders, but the game lies how our batsman play against the pumped up aussiz attack.

!

You really think so?

This is one of Pakistans most toughest tours ever...and if we really want to make anything out of it, we need all top men inform and performing.

Let's hope Mr. YoYO will come good this time.

I think Pak will be massacred in Test matches but will hold their own in the one-dayers.

It will be interesting to see how some of the new guys (Butt, Kamal etc) bat in seaming conditions. Farhat is a waste of a spot , by the way.

Ok here we go again ^^ he is not man !

let the tour (test matches) speak it self
wasay tides do turn around man. I know Auzziez are at the peak but still you just have to hit them where it hurts and I think Pakistan team is very capable of that.

the only hope we have of putting up a decent performance in tests is if shoaib and sami can get their line and length right....

if there is one thing aussies cant play, its well-guided express pace bowling....

*Originally posted by Some1: *
I think Pak will be massacred in Test matches but will hold their own in the one-dayers.

i have to agree....

*Originally posted by armughal: *
the only hope we have of putting up a decent performance in tests is if shoaib and sami can get their line and length right....

if there is one thing aussies cant play, its well-guided express pace bowling....

I agree the pacers will make difference if they put their acts together. Otherwise there will be no mercy from kangroos.

Farhat's inclusion is a big question here. I hope he proves me wrong but he lacks patience and thats the answer to the outswinging deliveries of McGrath and Gillipsie. Taufeeq was the automatic choice as he posses patience and confidence which is the most thing required in a tour of this caliber.

*Originally posted by Some1: *

It will be interesting to see how some of the new guys (Butt, Kamal etc) bat in seaming conditions. Farhat is a waste of a spot , by the way.

Agreed, even though I hope we lose with dignity.

F&B welcome back, where have you been?

well none of our top order batsmen can play seam bowling. even shoaob malik has problems. they seriously need to apply themselves to give ausies a fight.

*Originally posted by armughal: *

I have to disagree ...

I think the only thing aussies can't play well is harbajan on a spinning indian deck .....they play express bowling very well … esp ponting and martyn …

Pakistan squad: Inzamam-ul-Haq (Capt), Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal (Wkt), Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Khalil, Rana Naved, Danish Kaneria.

Ah! What more can I expect from these selectors? Fools will be fools. Why on earth you don't have Taufiq Umer who had better record against Australia than Mr. Flashy aka Imran Farhat? Why was Misbah dropped again? Any reasons, fellas? Do you believe Younis to be productive than him?

...and what's the deal with Rookies? Oh bhai meray we are facing the champions in their backyard.

Some update on domestic cricket:

On the wet pitch Farhat comes out with a 173 against Rao, Yasir Ali, Najaf and Arafat. scored 7 off 52 and went on to score 173 off 240+ balls. The positive from todays matches along with Khalils 7/71 today .

taufeeq failed with the bat and so did hameed and Butt.

Khalil in form though.

Lahore Blues first innings Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
Rashid Riaz c Mohammad Kashif b Najaf Shah 40
Imran Farhat lbw b Najaf Shah 173
Rizwan Aslam b Yasir Ali 10
*Shahnawaz Malik run out 10
Arsalan Mir c Mohammad Kashif b Iftikhar Anjum 63
+Humayun Farhat not out 31
Salman Qadir not out 21
Imran Tahir still to bat
Sajid Ali still to bat
Shehzad Butt still to bat
Wasim Khan still to bat
Extras (24 lb, 3 nb, 1 w) 28
Total (5 wickets, 101 overs) 376
Fall of wickets:
1-116, 2-158, 3-178, 4-315, 5-336
Rawalpindi bowling Overs Mdns Runs Wkts Wides No-Balls
Iftikhar Anjum 29 5 94 1 - -
Najaf Shah 24 5 90 2 - -
Yasir Arafat 15 5 44 0 - -
Yasir Ali 22 3 67 1 - -
Usman Saeed 1 0 8 0 - -
Bazid Khan 5 0 25 0 - -
Babar Naeem 5 0 24 0

*Originally posted by hello143: *
Some update on domestic cricket:

On the wet pitch Farhat comes out with a 173 against Rao, Yasir Ali, Najaf and Arafat. scored 7 off 52 and went on to score 173 off 240+ balls. The positive from todays matches along with Khalils 7/71 today .

taufeeq failed with the bat and so did hameed and Butt.

Khalil in form though.

Lahore Blues first innings Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s
Rashid Riaz c Mohammad Kashif b Najaf Shah 40
Imran Farhat lbw b Najaf Shah 173
Rizwan Aslam b Yasir Ali 10
*Shahnawaz Malik run out 10
Arsalan Mir c Mohammad Kashif b Iftikhar Anjum 63
+Humayun Farhat not out 31
Salman Qadir not out 21
Imran Tahir still to bat
Sajid Ali still to bat
Shehzad Butt still to bat
Wasim Khan still to bat
Extras (24 lb, 3 nb, 1 w) 28
Total (5 wickets, 101 overs) 376
Fall of wickets:
1-116, 2-158, 3-178, 4-315, 5-336
Rawalpindi bowling Overs Mdns Runs Wkts Wides No-Balls
Iftikhar Anjum 29 5 94 1 - -
Najaf Shah 24 5 90 2 - -
Yasir Arafat 15 5 44 0 - -
Yasir Ali 22 3 67 1 - -
Usman Saeed 1 0 8 0 - -
Bazid Khan 5 0 25 0 - -
Babar Naeem 5 0 24 0

Goood feature

would love it if u can update on a regular basis

i don't think farhat's gonna have a chance to play with hameed and salman Butt there. until hameed comes one down but i think they should try shoaib malik in the one down position also in test.

**Lara ruled out in contracts row **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Other International | West Indies | Lara among those set for strike)

West Indies captain Brian Lara and other players could miss the one-day series in Australia in a contracts row.

The West Indies Cricket Board said its selectors were meeting again to pick another squad for the January series.

Originally 25 players were named in the squad which is meeting on Monday but only nine have signed acceptance forms.

The main dispute involves players who have deals with Cable and Wireless, a rival to Digicel, who recently signed a lucrative sponsorship deal with WICB.

Lara, along with others thought to include Ramnaresh Sarwan and Chris Gayle, is said to have refused to sign the contracts.

The WICB has declined to name the nine who have signed, but reports suggest batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul is the senior player among them.

A Board spokesman said: "The players who did not accept the invitation ruled themselves out of consideration for this tour.

“This does not prevent them from being considered in the future should they merit inclusion.”

The cricket board had been locked in talks with the players but said they were barred from endorsing “a competitor of a WICB major sponsor unless he has a pre-existing agreement with such a competitor that was approved in writing by the WICB.”

A WICB spokesman played down the fact a number of top players could miss the tour against world champions Australia.

He told BBC Sport: “We feel we have plenty of extremely talented players in the Caribbean and if they are committed and focused we have a chance of beating anyone.”

** West Indies not guaranteed a place in the VB Series**](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/NOV/111606_AUS_25NOV2004.html)

The cricket authorities in Australia may invite an alternative side to replace West Indies in the VB Series in January if West Indies do not manage to resolve the dispute with many player of their full-strength side.

Peter Young, the general manager of public affairs for Cricket Australia, indicated that an alternative team would be considered for the triangular one-day series which will be hosted by Australia and also includes Pakistan. “At the moment we’re talking about hypotheticals,” he said, “but if they don’t [agree], we will start thinking about alternatives.”

Normally, the host and visiting teams agrees to a ‘Memorandum of Understanding’ that obliges sides to be full-strength. However, it is not clear whether or not such a clause exists in any agreements between the boards in West Indies and Australia.

Ricky Ponting, who will be leading Australia in the second Test against on New Zealand that starts this Friday, expressed his disappointment at the protracted negotiations between the West Indies cricket board and the players association. “Hopefully it will be sorted out and resolved and hopefully they do send out their full-strength side,” he said.

James Sutherland, the chief executive of Cricket Australia said: "Our view also is that international cricket should be about the best playing the best. All we can do for now is [to] monitor the progress of those parties. The issue is a matter for the West Indies board and its players to resolve.

“A week is a long time in cricket and we have seven more before the West Indies join us for the VB Series on 14 January.”

The only available full international teams would be India or Kenya, although Australia A could also be considered.

^ This is ridiculous. Quite similar to the row that indiam players had with their board.

*Originally posted by Power of hOpE: *
I have to disagree ...

I think the only thing aussies can't play well is harbajan on a spinning indian deck .....they play express bowling very well … esp ponting and martyn …

sorry but u got it wrong....
aussies have no clue on how to play shoaib when he gets his line straight.... :)
ofcourse its lucky for aussies since this happens just once a blue moon....