Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Re: Pakistan's top judge is suspended (Merged)

Text of CJ’s application to SJCFollowing is the text of Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry’s application before the Supreme Judicial Council. Some parts of the text have been omitted for legal reasons.

Before the supreme judicial council (constituted against the provisions of article 209 of the constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan)

Reference no-43 of/209

(Application for obtaining copies of documents/evidence and raising objection on the constitutionality of SJC).

Shewith As Under

Above noted reference came up for hearing on march 9th,2007 after 6:oo pm in a indecent haste as it is evident from a news published in daily Nawa-i-Waqt dated march 10th,2007 where it has been published that, chief justices, of Lahore and Karachi were brought to Islamabad in a special flight (copy of news item is appended as annex-A)

The SJC on having gone through record passed an order detrimental against my interest and against the interest of instituition whereby I have been restrained to work as supreme court judge and chief justice of Pakistan. Such powers are not available at all to a facts finding inquiry commission/council as such powers are available to courts and can be derived only from the constitutional provisions and the law . In my understanding and as per the interpretation of the constitution under article 209 no such powers are available to the council as it is not exercising the power of the court.

Be that as it may by passing restrained order by the council as well as the earlier order notified in notification no 529/(2)/2007 issued by the president of Pakistan which is equally contrary to the constitution I have suffered as under

(A) Detained for all intend and purpose with my family members including my infant child of 7 years from the evening of march 9th,2007 uptill now. My official residence is seiged with heavy continget comprising police and member of other agencies.For which there is no justification.

(B) The vehicles which were in my use have been taken away by means of a lifter.Out of which one has been brought back by a lifter without its keys.

(C)** Staff of supreme court attached with me is reportedly missing and had been kept at an unknown place.** I believe that they have been detained just to fabricate evidence against me*.I have also learned reliably that my chamber was also sealed and reportedly files lying there in have been removed and some of them had been handed over to IS*I under the supervision of newly appointed registrar. Such act is contrary to all norms and practices. I being CJP is entitled to occupy my chamber along with my staff.

(D) On account of deployment of heavy contingencies I am not allowed to go outside nor my family members are allowed to do so. Similarly no one is allowed to meet me freely.In as much as my colleagues have no access to me and whenever they want to visit me they have to wait on the gate for a considerable period during which permission is sought from high ups.example of Mr Justice Raja fayyaz ahmed can be quoted as on one occasion he has to go back without meeting me. Similar treatment was offered to Mr Justice (Retd) Munir.A sheikh.

*(E) My children are not allowed to go to school,college and university. I am not getting fascility of telephones,cable and DCL. Similarly I along with my family members have been deprived from basic amenities of life i.e medicines and docter etc . *

(F) No panel of lawyers is available to discuss the legal and factual issues involved in this reference. This fact I have already highlighted on the notice received on march 10th,2007

By noting the above agonies which are being suffered by me I donot want to seek any relief from the council except that an unconstitutional order dated march 9th,2007 passed by the council has persuaded me to show distrust on the formation of the council because the manner in which I have been dealt with. I donot expect a fair inquiry particularly for the following reasons with reference to the Chairman and 2 other members.

Justice Javed Iqbal

He has been appointed as acting Chief justice contrary to article 180 of the constitution of Islamic republic of Pakistan which provides that acting Chief justice can be appointed when the office of the Chief justice of Pakistan is vacant or the Chief justice of Pakistan is absent or is unable to perform the functions of his office due to any other cause. The cause could be that if the Chief justice is incapable of properly performing the duties of his office by a reason of physical or mental incapacity which is not the case over here. Therefore he should not have taken oath of the office of the acting Chief justice not withstanding that whosoever has issued his notification.

As per the mandate of article 209 of the constitution if the reference is to be heard against the Chief justice of Pakistan the judge of the supreme court who is next in seniority would head the council BUT without being appointed as acting Chief justice .

Mr Justice Rana Bhagwandas is admittedly the senior most judge therefore on account of his temporary absence from the country up to march 22nd,2007 there was no urgency to convene the meeting of SJC during night/after office hours and by ensuring presence of 2 Chief justices by making arrangements by a “special plane”. Such actions on his part speak volumes as it has been reported in intenational ‘The News’. Extract of which is appended here with as annex-B.

Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar

He administered oath to Justice Javed Iqbal on march 9th,2007 for the office of acting Chief Justice dis qualifying himself to be Judge of the supreme court knowing well that office of the Chief Justice is not vacant as he is not incapable to perform his duties physically or mentally.

(Text omitted)

Justice Iftikhar Hussain Chaudhry

(Text omitted)

Therefore, I have serious objection on his being member of the council for the above reasons and I donot have expectations of fair inquiry from him. Thus his name should be excluded from the panel in the interest of justice and fair play.

In view of above objections I am of the opinion that SJC is not duly constituted and is incapable to hold inquiry against me.

Without prejudice to above I reserve my right to raise any other objection at the time of submitting my reply to charge sheet because so far no documents have been supplied to me nor I have any fascility to consult panel of lawyers because no one has been allowed to accompany me. Therefore I maybe supplied prÈcis of oral evidence and documentary evidence.

I will be submitting a list of documents in support of my defence which shall be summoned by the SJC as I have no access.

PUBLIC INQUIRY

The contents of notice indicates camera inquiry but I am of the opinion tgat charges against me are not sustainable being unfounded. Therefore to vindicate my honour I would prefer for a public inquiry, so whole of the world may know the nature of allegations and my defence, and I am confident that I will be exonerated of the charges if fair inquiry is allowed . As for as the rule 13 of conducting inquiry is concerned it pertains to the inquiry in respect of which a direct complaint has been received by the SJC and powers are to be exercised by the council under the article 209(5),but in my opinion for the reference received from the President of Pakistan the SJC can follow any other procedure including public inquiry.

The necessity of public inquiry is also called for because the reference is based in a letter and spirit of open letter written by Mr Naeem Bokhari which has already been publicized widely. Therefore there should not be any objection/observation in holding public inquiry. As a question of my and institutions prestige is involved therefore I volunteer for open inquiry so the public of this country may have more respect and confidence in the institution of the higher judiciary.

Thus for the above reasons the council maybe reconstituted accordingly excluding the members in respect of whom objections have been removed here and above and to nagate the impression nationwide and to save the countrys image internationally that this is one sided biased dummy and command performance.

The copies of requisite document be supplied to me along with the copy of the rules of

SJC.

A panel of the lawyers ready to defend me and the judicial system of this nation is present outside the court building since they are not being allowed to enter in the court premises against all norms and ethics as well as the principle of access to justice and justice for all . Therefore lawyers should be allowed inside to argue these objections because the building of the supreme court belongs to bench and bar both.

At the end I say that the order dated march 9th,2007 restraining me from functioning as the Judge of the supreme court and the Chief justice of Pakistan be recalled being contrary to the provision of the constitution.

Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry

(Chief Justice Islamic Republic of Pakistan

i m NOT a mushy fan..but it was the same constitution and mushy could have asked judiciary to intervene in case he thought he ousting was unlawfull..but then again..
its one evil breeding another evil..

LOL, exactly

The opinion of senior practising lawyers in Pakistan vs these kids

Re: Pakistan’s top judge is suspended (Merged)

Vukla on Hartaal looks good…

these are more like some sort of mafia than educated lawyers in Pakistan. No wonder half of them would be uneducated by normal standards. i watched one programme on the bbc about some fat paki lawyer going about his business in his toyota (some years ago when just having a car was considered mega rich), and he couldnt argue his way out of a wet paper bag..much like a lot of the people on here can't argue how what Musharraf did was Constitutionally incorrect.

So you think ...our Generals are "angels".....no kick backs...no commissions in ammunition from west ....no real estate "kings" ....in cholistan and gwadar ...these generals are "awarded" per acre as 50 Rs. or even low......but brother ...i agree with you ...this is not corruption ..this is thier "right" ......as they deserve it for "conquering" TV station...Radio station.....and PM house...see only two trucks are enough to throw of elected government of 16 crore people of Pakistan...but you see .....this is thier duty to conquer thier own country because they have not guts to take even Kashmir from India for past 60 years.....and compare this with the early conquests of umar(ra) period ......so these poor Generals become happy to win over TV station and Radio station.....

Dil kai bhalanay ko Ghalib yai khayal achha hai .......

Am i right ????

Our army..believe it or not , one of the best armies in the world...but these few "non-corrupt" Generals bring bad name to whole of the army ...even on the poor junior officers who made the world astonished in 65 and 71 with thier unbieleiveable tactics and performance...

laikin aik machli pooray jaal ko ganda kar daiti hai .....

Muahhah. Does he even know Article 180? Or is this a case of independent Paki journalism at its best. Perhaps TheNotsoRealDeal was reporting? Article 180 is very CLEAR that Musharaff can suspend the Chief Justice on the basis that he is of the belief the Chief Justice cannot perform the functions of his office correctly. Is it any wonder the whole damn judiciary of Pakistan is messed up, when the Chief Justice is either 1) so backward he doesnt understand the law or 2) so corrupt he is trying to fool people into believe his dismissal was unconstitutional. Either way, I do blame Musharaf for hiring this idiot in the first place, now is the time to make amends and put the right man in position. If the right man is a Hindu, I’m all for it..

Article 180..

180. Acting Chief Justice. At any time when- (a) the office of Chief Justice of Pakistan is vacant;* or** (b) the Chief Justice of Pakistan is absent or is **unable to perform the functions of his office due to any other cause, the President shall appoint **[163]](http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part7.ch2.notes.html#163) [the most senior of the other Judges of the Supreme Court] to **act **as Chief Justice of Pakistan. *

I hope even the most iliterate of you like TheRealDeal can read that another Chief Justice can be appointed by Musharraf not only (a) if the office of Chief Justice is vacant, but ALSO (b) when the Chief Justice cannot perform the functions of his office.

What a case this Chief Justice has. I’d advise him not to go down the Unconstitutional road. The Pakistan Constitution is clear that Musharraf is correct in what he’s done. It is up to the SJCouncil to decide his fate now. His attempts to blame it on Musharraf are to try and play on anti Musharraf sentiment, as people try and do here. I think this is because he knows he’s guilty as hell and cannot win his SJCouncil case. Musharraf will come out of this stronger, and the corruption of the judiciary in Pakistan is/has been exposed. Just a bunch of thugs with their stone throwing.

but 6 judgesincluding CJ siddiqui were compelled to resign for not taking oath on PCO by the same mushy ........these 6 were also judges.....not every finger is same in lenght .......The notorious CJ irshad hassan khan gave musharraf full support to even amend the constituation of Pakistan...see a joke,..... SC which himself cannot add or remove a single comma from Pakistan 's Constituation is giving 3 years fopr "President" to make as any changes as he can like 17 amentment .....Mar-e-Astee are always there !!!!!!

Constitution of pakistan

clause no. 6

^^I'm not going to respond to you with an answer for this..you can barely write English, let alone understand your own Constitution. It'll be a waste. PS Clause can refer to anything. If you mean Article 6, you're on about something completely different, and I'm not interested in your baloney to be honest.

Non-Functional Crisis and Applications

The SSP Lahore

Sir,
With due respect, it is stated that, in the premesis of Lahore High Court, lawyers and other enemies of state, displayed their enemity towards the state in worst possible way.

Sir, during this time, this servant of state performed his duties with utmost professionalism and bravery. I personally thrashed 5 lawyers and opened their “Khunna”.

Sir, In the meanwhile, the main accused (Iftikhar Ali Chaudhary) declined to sit in the governmen vehicle. My blood boiled to see this utter disregard of constitution by the main accused.

Sir, i grabbed him by collar, lifted him in my powerful arms and threw him in the car and in doing so i saved the honour of government.

Sir, in the end it is stated that, there are 5 cases based upon lies concocted by my emenies in your office. I request you to dismiss all these and grant this servant of state and upholder of the constitution promotion that is long due.

Thank You

Iftikhar Hussain
Subinspector
Police Lines.

Taken from Aftab Iqbal.http://nawaiwaqt.com.pk/urdu/daily/mar-2007/14/columns4.php

very true ...ehsan bhai.. i 100 % agree with you... if you want justice and supermacy of the Constitution ...then everyone sould be brouht to justice ...why only CJ for mot of the 15 comments are funny ....just funny ...protocol.....lol the third most important personality in Pakistan and cannot get protocol...there even a memeber of Punjab assembly consider himself a king when driving on the roads...black windows..blue light...flag .....if a poor Constable ever have a mistake to stop him on challan....litrol and chitrol......(and all from ol-group) !!!!!

the same constitution is for murderes...the same laws are for terrorists...bhatta khaurs..... the same laws arefor black money kings...the same laws are for real estate kings...the same laws are bank defaulters..the same laws are loan takers... and list goes on...... why only CJ for such funny charges.......

and Chief miniter sindh ..chief secretary Sindh and few high officials which were strictly handled by CJ for poor law and order conitions re at front foots to blame CJ ...press conferences and press releases...Kalay kawwo ko bhi aab josh chara hai ......when his own cabinet minister ..i forget his name ..accused arbab rahim of private jails and hundreds of others chages ...then Musharraf played a key role in sieze fire......Is hamam mai saray nangay hai.....Cj nai to phir bhi bunyan or kacha pahna hai...laikin yai wuzra to alaf nangay hai is hammam mai :D ...!!!!!

actually ....the steel mi case ruling in the previous year was one of the most biggest fraudof Pakistan history...the government was selling SMkarachi for 21.5 arab Rs....and said that the Government will also place the golden hand shakers of the SM so total profit of government was about 12 arab Rs...when case was reffered to SCand SC inquired about the price of SM independently.....it came to be about 1 kharab and 61 arabs.......the whole world ashtonished at the difference...CJ in his reply...use the worst language against such fraud and blame came directly to committe of privitization headed personally by Pm Shaukat Aziz.....but the same Commando mentality..."yes sir yes sir " attitude ...3 days after General said ...it was a sad day for Pakistan ...the very next day CJ small note published in all newspapers ...we will not take care of anyone's happiness and sadness...we will take the decision which h according to us will be fair and right ......so the bell rang for the General !!!!!!!!

when in January basant season came ..CJ was on hajj in Saudiaand acting CJ was Bhagvandas...Punjab Government issued a governor order for basant...CJ called for Punjab Government and then government assured that all preventive measures would be taken toavoid lifes..and this thing is true...first time Basant was celeberated in very strict atmosphere...only 2 days...50 % reduction almost...no sharab and shabab mehfils..as for 6 years usual General era.....

so "Zilah-e-Subhani" ki taba -i-nazuk par yai baat bari gara guzri... i am all in all ...i am C in C.... i am president .......i am doing the hardest "job" for americans on monthly pay base system ....and this man CJ is denying my orders of Roshan Khiyali ...how the hell he is !!!!!!!

and in last just few days before 9 March...CJ in a ceremony said that if a matter of uniform and re-election from the same assemblies will come in SC...SC will look into the matter....so at this point the water touched the 100 degree celsius...and red signal ultimately sparkled !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is the real story of "mis-conduct" !!!!!

It seems that Mushy has surrounded himself with like-minded goons. Now compare law-minister’s vulgar and abusive remarks with this gem.

“A lot of people say that if you want to go abroad and get a visa from Canada or citizenship and be a millionaire, get yourself raped.”](http://edition.cnn.com/2005/WORLD/asiapcf/09/23/pakistan.musharraf/)

Yesterday, the great ZEE TV was showing pictures of CJ with maulana Fazal Rehman (maulana Diesel I believe) and Ch. Atizaz Ahsan.

Just imagine if BB joins in, this will make a great picture :)

BB is busy in collaborating with Chaudhary Shujaat, she wants to get out of Musharraf whatever she can. So count her out. Even the prominent leaders of PP were absent except for Aitzaz Ahsan, who may soon be repriminded by BB for being extravagant oon this issue.

The other expected Lota in this scenario is Fazlurrehman.

I believe BB and Ch. Shujaat will be meeting in NY? Any confirmation on this development?