Pakistanis v West Indies A - Shenley, 12th-13th August 2006

Re: Pakistanis v West Indies A - Shenley, 12th-13th August 2006

He was doing well in First Class, 20/20, and List A, and much better than the trio openers, he deserved a recall, unlike Taufeeq.

Hafeez can't do any worse than Salman Butt (in current form) or Taufeeq Umar (his career form). Imran Farhat was the mistake to begin with. Kamran Akmal should not open in Test matches, in ODIs he can.

^How dare u talk ill about Farhat, he looks like Don Bradman compared to Butt and Taufeeq, and you know it. At least you can count on him to score something.

I suspect Don Bradman has just turned over in his grave right about now.

I didn't say Farhat is worse than Taufeeq or Butt, though now I agree that atleast he is worse than Salman Butt.

^Butt wouldn't even make a county side these days. Anyways Farhat is our best batsman after the big three in the series so far.

In two test grand total runs of 85 isn't really much to talk about, one inning of 50-60 by Butt will leave Farhat behind. For specialist opener average score of ~30 means mediocrity, both Salman and Imran are mediocre. It has become a circus of mediocres for opening slot.

--------------cvabn----------------
^ My point taken in the wrong context.

What ever the selectors-Capt-Coach have done to select this trio now should stick to them (as a punishment to the selection committee)
Hafeez or any other name you can spring on me with fancy talk n all, will add more wax to their ear. So whats the point,

Ps; Taufiq-Butt-Farhat are battle-hard right now and have better chance to dig-in, what can Hafeez do by just landing in ? :halo:

“battle-hard” who can hardly stay on crease? :CareBear: I agree that atleast Taufeeq should play as he got only one game while both Butt and Farhat got atleast 2 games each, now that Hafeez has been brought in and has been playing with A team (performed good in Australia) he can get atleast one game… what will we lose? may be Hafeez will also score a grand total of 30 runs in two innings… compared with Butt or Farhat how bad is that?

-----------cvabn-----------
Array baba nahi naa! :aj:

Us ki bhi woh hi mitti paleed hogi jo 3 ki ho rahi hai, :konfused:
And beside you will 4 ‘failures’ to deal with instead of 3 ,

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Man, I hate Faisal Iqbal, he score runs against $hitwits and when under pressure or when you need him to stick around or score runs he gets out on the 1st ball. piece of sheet.

Akmal can't do both i.e keep wickets and open in test cricket. That's just commonsense. Even Gilchrist only opens in ODIs. I would say when everyone's fit open with the left-right combination of Butt/Farhat and Shoaib Malik. Leave Akmal to bat at 6 or 7 depending on the no. of all-rounders in the side