how miserable the copycat Paki Entertainment industry is!!
Lo Dekho, he doesn't even know what the topic is...no one is bashing the entertainment industry...the bashing is being done to the film industry. And why should we not criticize it...just the fact that it is being discussed on the forum shows that Pakistanis wish to see an improving industry, one that can compete internationally. At least we haven't given up hope on it. And improvement only occurs with criticism.
Every country has something that needs to be improved. Perhaps, if you look at the problems in your own film industry...you'll see that things aren't all that hunky dory there either. First, I'd suggest you end the poverty, corruption, etc in your own country before you start poking your nose into old neighbor Pakistan's business.
Andhra,
What’s wrong with me dissin paki movies? If I don’t like something, I say it out loud; do you have a problem with that?
And no, I didn’t watch Godfather. I didn’t even know about this movie until now.
Some Paki movies, i wud say, are pretty good; new and old. It is true that Paki movies have alot of extra ppl in there doing nothing. But old movies were pretty good and new ones Like "Ghar kab aao ge" was a good movie as i haven't seen any other new movie. But i think the new movie like " Khoey ho tum kahan" must be a good movie. Obviously some are bad or in the new ones most of them are bad. So when talking abt Paki movies we shud say " Paki new movies suck.
Actually, I always have thought that the industry was doing so-so until zia's zamana - when it nosedived and crashed terribly in the late 70's and 80's into the early 90's....breath started coming back slowly with Syed Noor (and that was only becuz his wife wrote decent movie scripts for him...she doesn't do that anymore after his involvement with Saima - ewwww).
THe present situation seems to be that punjabi movies are in, urdu movies are out. Not even good punjabi movies like CHurian are in...i'm talking about movies oozing with violence and sex appeal - like Maula Jatt or Jutt or whoever.
Bhai the vai, Chalo Ishq Larain was supposed to be bringing urdu cinema back on its feet with a DTS or whatever movie...well, due to a weird and badly written script...and unimpressive acting by "Imran Khan" aka Urooj...that movie has gone down the drain. However, its still doing decent business due to the action sequences and of course - Zara Sheikh.
come on ppl ,,,,,, Pakistani movies arn't as bad as some of u make em out to be, Yeh dil apka hua sud be releasin at the end of this month seen clips of it, looks good
pakgurl-please don't judge the whole industry by just watching 1 film, trying watchin Punjabi films, I think their fab
Originally posted by Sofina: pakgurl-please don't judge the whole industry by just watching 1 film, trying watchin Punjabi films, I think their fab
punjabi moviessssssssss??????????? i don't even know punjabi. Why in the world would i sit through a three hours long movie when i can't even understand anything? I'm not judging the film industry i'm just stating the fact. Beside i'm not the only one, almost everyone has a problem with pakistani movies. I'm willing to watch pakistani movies if there is any good pakistani movie.
The Pakistani film industry does have some prized assets. The first one is Shan. He is a brilliant actor. Although I personally dont watch many Pakistani or Indian films, I do believe that Shan is gifted when it comes to acting. Amongst the actresses, Id vouch for Meera.
Originally posted by pakgurl:
Originally posted by Sofina: pakgurl-please don't judge the whole industry by just watching 1 film, trying watchin Punjabi films, I think their fab
punjabi moviessssssssss??????????? i don't even know punjabi. Why in the world would i sit through a three hours long movie when i can't even understand anything? I'm not judging the film industry i'm just stating the fact. Beside i'm not the only one, almost everyone has a problem with pakistani movies. I'm willing to watch pakistani movies if there is any good pakistani movie.
PS. Who is Imran khan?
Imran Khan's a cricketer!
I think Pak should continue and concentrate on improving their dramas and completely give up on movies.
[This message has been edited by Sadiaa (edited May 16, 2002).]
I know its kind of confusing, and the guy’s name as a model was Urooj, but they thought it was too fem, so they went for a more masculine Imran Khan, but I’m sure they could have come up with something a bit more original. Anyway, his peformane in CIL was weak from what I understand. He’s a model, what do you expect?
I disagree. We should not give up on the film industry at all. Film is a great medium, we ought to use it. By that logic, we ought to give up on dramas and tv also, since PTV isn’t very fun to watch either these days, with the weak private productions in vogue days.
Also, Punjabi films (the current ones being made) are worse than urdu films. One critic remarked that in Pakistan, quality wise, urdu films rank first, then Punjabi, and then Pushto. From my experience, I believe he’s right. The Punjabi films made in the golden years of cinema are on the same level as the urdu films of the golden age. But what teenager wants to watch a film made in 1954? The film industry better get kickin, cuz they will be nonexistent pretty soon at the rate things are going.
Jo bhi ho Punjabi Heriones Kaafi Mazboot hoti hain…
Itni badi hoti hain ke Agar Allah ne INsaan ki Qurani Jaayaz ki hoti to 1 Punjabi Herione = 7 Qurbani.
pakgurl,My bengali friend who watched bangali and hindi films all her life watched choorian film (punjabi film )and had no prob in understandin it, how come u can't understand it,can u understand urdu or did u juz sit through a three hours long movie and decided it was crap becouse u did'nt understand it,
Thanks PyariCgudia...I meant Imran khan the actor not crickter,,,,Baber's not bad too
[This message has been edited by Sofina (edited May 16, 2002).]
PCG: No offence, but they SUCK big time! I’d rather sit and watch pvt. production dramas than Pakistani movies. They’re pathetic (once again not trying to offend any one, but that’s my point of view).
Sofina: I understand urdu very well, but I can bet you that if i were to watch a punjabi movie, i wouldnt get a single word! Just b/c i know urdu doesn’t mean i’ll have the ability to understand punjabi. I usually have problems understanding punjabi unless its mixed with urdu (even then i sometimes have probs.).
Sofina, for you info Punjabi and urdu are two different languages, in case you didn’t know. Its like you are saying if you know how to speak English then you would understand Spanish. Hello…..wake up!!!!!!! For your friend, all I can say that she needs a life for real!!!!!! Who told you that I didn't understand the movie, all I said that movie was toooo long and boring.
PS. Read the comments carefully before you start your bukbubuk!!!!!!!!
[This message has been edited by pakgurl (edited May 16, 2002).]