Pakistani Forces Launch New al-Qaida Hunt

Hope this is a continued operation with fruitful results. This is what we need, rather than US forces pillaging thru the villages destroying property at will. We can and should take care of these guys ourselves and find these culprits.

Pakistani Forces Launch New al-Qaida Hunt

By AHSANULLAH WAZIR, Associated Press Writer

WANA, Pakistan - Pakistani forces backed by helicopters on Tuesday swept through villages in a remote border region where Osama bin Laden (news - web sites) is believed to be hiding in an operation to capture fugitive al-Qaida and Taliban suspects.

Two intelligence officials, speaking on condition of anonymity, said that at least two homes were leveled and as many as 20 people had been taken into custody, including three foreign women. Authorities were not immediately available to confirm the reports.

This is a long overdue step by the government. We must ensure that we have full control all our territory, and the movement of people within it, as that will stop foreigners, be they American's or Al Qaida from interfering in our internal affairs.

Musharraf continues to take orders from the US

I have a question for some guppies here, who are constantly crying about how the US operation in Iraq and Afghanistan are useless, not bearing any fruits, and there are no terrorists to begin with YET at the same time, they are out here, blindly praising musharraf and his regime, on virtually everything that hes doing. Now isnt musharraf cooperating with the US on everything that they abhor, when it comes to the US? Even today, the Pakistani Government announced that it will continue to round off terrorists (capture osama process) in the North West Frontier Province, and will continue to do so until the last one is rooted out, fbi agents roam around the streets of Pakistan. When the US captures these prisoners, and ships them off to Cuba, great concerns and human rights violations are raised, but when Pakistan pins them down and sends them packing, they keep quiet. Why is their so much non-conformity and hypocrisy in your arguments? Again, I am not agreeing or disagreeing with these policies, im just pointing out the non-confirmity in some peoples thinking patterns.

Taken from the News

80 upgraded Al-Zarrar tanks handed over to Army

Anti-Osama operation expanded

Forces move into more targeted areas in tribal region

after intercepting telephonic conversation

ISLAMABAD: Security forces moved into targeted areas along the border with Afghanistan, after satellite telephone intercepts indicated that some al-Qaeda members were hiding there, officials told The Associated Press on Friday.

Though the officials insist there was no indication that Osama bin Laden was involved in the conversations, last year, wherein the participants discussed a man called "Shaikh", which is believed to be a code name for the al-Qaeda leader.

The operation was based in part on information gleaned from satellite telephone intercepts from the United States and local intelligence data, the security officials said on condition of anonymity. "Some people who were speaking in Arabic have been heard saying Shaikh is in good health," a security official told the AP. It was not immediately clear when the US shared its data with Pakistan.

US, Pakistani and Afghan officials have long suspected that Osama has been hiding in the border region. There has been no confirmation or any hard evidence of his whereabouts in more than two years. The border operations came even before a sweep in Wana in which some 25 suspects were arrested, most of them appeared to be local tribesmen.

Though the troops have been in the tribal regions for more than two years, the security officials say they are being adjusted to suit fresh intelligence data. It was not immediately clear precisely, where the forces were placed or how many were involved. "We are not close to capturing Osama, but all efforts and operations are directed at finding clues about his whereabouts," a senior government official told AP. "It is a tiring and long process."

The officials told AP they the security forces were also "quietly operating" in other "marked areas." Osama remains the ultimate target. "We are after him, because his capture will help eliminate terror threat in the region," one official told AP.

Analysts doubt the existence of specific intelligence pinpointing the whereabouts of Osama. The 2,450-km Pak-Afghan border is an ideal place to hide, running through sparsely populated mountains and deserts, where many local Pushtun tribesmen are sympathetic to Osama and fiercely protective of fugitives. "My gut feeling is that still there is no definite clue and I think that we will have to wait," said journalist Rahimullah Yusufzai. Yet Pakistan has beefed up its military presence in the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) along the frontier and the 10,600-strong US-led force in Afghanistan has promised a major spring offensive to hunt militants.

"A focus of political will and resources will clearly increase the chances of high quality targets being hit," said Jason Burke, a leading expert and author on al-Qaeda. "The problem is that the practical difficulties operating there remain, as do the obstacles posed by massive local support for the fugitives."

Exactly what the Wana operation yielded is shrouded in mystery. Officials would not say a word on reports that al-Zawahri’s son, Khaled, was among the people detained and handed over to US custody in recent days. He could provide vital clues to his father’s whereabouts, and, therefore, Osama’s. "I think al-Zawahri will be together with Osama as they have always been," Yusufzai said. "Having met him (Osama) twice and talked at length to al-Zawahri, I don’t think they would surrender or be captured alive," said Yusufzai.

And even if bin Laden was caught or killed, the "war on terror" would not be over, a US official in Kabul said. "In terms of broad Islamic militancy, it doesn’t matter that much." US officials say splinter groups and other extremist outfits also exist to wage attacks on American and other Western targets.

{Spock, please avoid opening topics with misleading thread titles and provide a working link to the articles as well. Thanks}

How is the title misleading? I said 'Pakistan continues to obey orders from the US in the thread', after which I stated my opinion and that article was a supplement NOT THE TOPIC OF THE THREAD. As for your link, you should know that the headline page of the news changes daily, so the link wont work by tommorow, and will show something else which is why I mentioned that I took it from the news, its not like I wrote this article on my own. And also mind explaining which 'topic(S)' you are referring to, this is the first one I opened in like 6 months?

The price of Pakistan allying with the US is increasing by the day.

Eleven die in Pakistan shooting
Pakistani soldiers have killed 11 people in a shooting incident in the tribal region of South Waziristan near the Afghan border.
The army says they were firing back at militants who attacked an army camp.

But tribesmen said troops opened fire on two vehicles that failed to stop at a road block; local people and Afghans were among the dead.

The Pakistani army this week launched a fresh offensive against al-Qaeda and Taleban suspects in the area.

‘Mistaken’

The BBC’s Zaffar Abbas in Islamabad says it is the deadliest incident in the area since the Pakistani military began operations last October to flush Islamic militants out of the tribal areas.

According to an army spokesman, armed men driving two or three vehicles tried to attack a military camp near the town of Wana in the early hours of Saturday.

Troops returned fire, killing 11 people and injuring six. The army acknowledges that some civilians might have been killed in the cross-fire, but says they might also have been “terrorists”.

Officials said 16 people have been arrested for questioning.

However, local tribal leaders say the shooting was a case of mistaken identity.

They said those killed were tribesmen and Afghans on board two vehicles hit by gun fire after they failed to heed a military road block.

Sanctuary

An intelligence official quoted by Reuters also suggested the shooting was a mistake.

“According to our initial investigations, it was mistaken fire,” he said.

Correspondents say tribal leaders deeply resent the army’s presence on their lands and the latest killings seem sure to increase anger in the region.

South Waziristan has long been considered a sanctuary for Taleban and al-Qaeda fugitives who fled Afghanistan after the arrival of American forces in 2001.

Twenty-five people were detained in a big operation last Tuesday against suspected al-Qaeda members.

link

*Originally posted by Malik73: *
This is a long overdue step by the government. We must ensure that we have full control all our territory, and the movement of people within it, as that will stop foreigners, be they American's or Al Qaida from interfering in our internal affairs.

Let me get this straight over here, the government of Pakistan with the help of United States during the Soviet war bring in these Arab "terrorists" (x-freedom fighters), installs them all over the tribal areas, gives these “terrorists” weapons (on behalf of United States some 3 billion dollars worth) and provides superior training. At the same time Pakistan gives them guest houses all over Islamabad, helps them bring their families over, of course Pakistan receives all the goodies for their excellent service. Later after the Soviet war, both the CIA and ISI help create the Taliban, further installing the menace into the tribal areas. It then supports it all over Afghanistan, supports ethnic cleansing, supports sectarian killings, helps smuggle out billion of dollars worth of opium, and uses the very "terrorists" to carry out missions in Kashmir. After Sep. 11 Pakistan drops them at the orders of United States, and now at the orders of united states it is hunting them down in tribal areas making it look like that the one responsible for all of this are the tribal people?

Which idiot on the face of the earth can actually justify this for me as to say that the innocent and independent people of the tribal areas who are being butchered to clean up the mess created by the Pakistani government with the help of United States deserves the Nazi like treatment?

This was meant to happen, what comes up next is going to be worst (I hope not). The war is now on the Pakhtun front, all agreements with the government of Pakistan have been broken by the current regime. These British children are showing their true colors, Pakistani military needs to read Pakhtun history. Nor their armies or their allies can protect them (inshAllah), they might have tanks, but so did the Russians. Yes it took allies during the Russian war, but who is to say that the very people pushing Pakistan towards this are not going to help the tribes when it is an all out war? It was done with Saddam, so it can happen again.

It is sad to see Pakistanis on this forum actually agreeing with what is happening in Wana and the rest of Waziristan. These people gave many sacrifices to protect Pakistan and its interests. Though these are deep inner despises against the independent tribal people that are resurfacing. The tribes or the Pakhtuns were never actually looked upon as Pakistanis; this is why at times they have cried for water, wheat and a name change of a stupid province.

Good to see the MMA government of NWFP agreeing with the federal government, in the need to stop terrorists using the province and FATA for sanctuary.

**NWFP Chief Minister Akram Khan Durrani has said his government will not allow any individual or group to use the Frontier’s soil for terrorist or other unlawful activities. **](http://www.dawn.com/2004/03/09/nat15.htm)

Re: Pakistani Forces Launch New al-Qaida Hunt

:confused:

*Originally posted by Sultan Suri: *

Let me get this straight over here, the government of Pakistan with the help of United States during the Soviet war bring in these Arab "terrorists" (x-freedom fighters), installs them all over the tribal areas, gives these “terrorists” weapons (on behalf of United States some 3 billion dollars worth) and provides superior training. At the same time Pakistan gives them guest houses all over Islamabad, helps them bring their families over, of course Pakistan receives all the goodies for their excellent service. Later after the Soviet war, both the CIA and ISI help create the Taliban, further installing the menace into the tribal areas. It then supports it all over Afghanistan, supports ethnic cleansing, supports sectarian killings, helps smuggle out billion of dollars worth of opium, and uses the very "terrorists" to carry out missions in Kashmir. After Sep. 11 Pakistan drops them at the orders of United States, and now at the orders of united states it is hunting them down in tribal areas making it look like that the one responsible for all of this are the tribal people?

Did the people in question comnplain when they got the support from US and Pakistan? they did not, at that time they did not consider it as someone telling them what to do, or to direct their moves. It was in their interest, now its US and Pakistan undoing what was done, so now pride and honor and all that comes into play?

when US was throwing weapons in these people's begging bowls, I did not see them complain, what happened to honor and pride then?

Now as far as hunting them down in tribal areas, I suppose theya re doing t because there isa higher chance of these clowns hiding there than at anarkali or rainbow shopping center.

Those Pakistani army personeel are DIGGING GRAVE FOR THEMSELVES

Inshallah they will be faced with the FIERCEST PASHTUN resistent of all time. And i wonder Alexander has not told them about what happened to him when he tried to enter our land.

INshallah GOD Almighty is on our side and we will comply oh him.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

Did the people in question comnplain when they got the support from US and Pakistan? they did not, at that time they did not consider it as someone telling them what to do, or to direct their moves. It was in their interest, now its US and Pakistan undoing what was done, so now pride and honor and all that comes into play?

when US was throwing weapons in these people's begging bowls, I did not see them complain, what happened to honor and pride then?

Now as far as hunting them down in tribal areas, I suppose theya re doing t because there isa higher chance of these clowns hiding there than at anarkali or rainbow shopping center.

What people are you talking about. Afghans or the Pakhtun tribes of the tribal areas living to the east of the Durand line? Are you saying that the tribesmen, who were/are very conservative and religious and it's known to the whole world, should have ignored the call of jihad gainst the godless Russians. Are you serious? My dear ignorant friend, the US was not throwing weapons in the begging bowls of the tribes, the weapons and dollars were being thrown in the begging bowls of your glorious army. It was your own army that misused the religious feelings of a whole nation, your army is devoid of shame and wisdom and our people are paying the price. Is it not true that all al-quaida terrorists were captured in Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and Karachi. Tell me how many of them have been captured in Quetta or Peshawar up to now. It has been published many times in the western media that the ISI has harboured these terrorists in the big cities of Pakistan. Don't blame the tribesmen for the misdeeds of your army.

ANP sees conspiracy against Pakhtoons: Wana operation

By Habib Khan Ghori

KARACHI, March 5: Awami National Party president Asfandyar Wali Khan has demanded an immediate end to the ongoing operation in Waziristan, Fata, and said that the country was passing through the most critical period in its history.

He said that thousands of innocent Pakhtoons had been arrested but the authorities had not been able to find even one wanted person in the tribal area.

Mr Asfandyar, who was addressing a massive ANP public meeting at the Bacha Khan Chowk here on Friday evening, termed the operation another conspiracy against innocent Pakhtoons and alleged that wanted people were not being arrested because they enjoyed the protection of the authorities to carry out their operation.

The meeting, which was presided over by Sindh ANP president Shahi Syed, was organized to commemorate the 16th death anniversary of Bacha Khan. The ANP chief pointed out that Taliban and Al Qaeda were not the product of Pakhtoon society.

They were spread from Morocco to Indonesia who were brought from different countries and were sent to Afghanistan to destroy and plunder her. "When we opposed this, we were termed Russian agents."

He said it was surprising that after three or four days of adoption of a new constitution by Loya Jirga in Afghanistan, the operation was launched in Waziristan.

"Some 25 to 30 lakh Afghans had been killed but their thirst for blood had not been quenched. They want to spill the blood of Pakhtoons", he said and added that the very people who had provided escape route from Afghanistan to Al Qaeda had provided them shelter here and there and before carrying out the operation, they were forewarned about the operation so that they could shift to other places before the arrests of Pakhtoons.

Referring to the 17th amendment, Mr Khan said it had changed the complexion of the entire 1973 Constitution. He said one unit had been imposed on the country by putting all the districts under the control of the federation for six years.

He said provincial autonomy was the only solution to all the problems the country was faced with. He pointed out that Gen Pervez Musharraf did not get vote of confidence from Pakhtoons as he got only 30 votes against the total 124 votes.

Likewise, in Balochistan he got only 28 votes out of 64. As such, Mr Asfandyar asserted, he was not the president of all the four federating units but only of Punjab.

Begum Nasim Wali Khan, president of ANP NWFP, said that Karachi was the biggest city of Pakhtoons in the world. But it was not a cause for joy as usurping of the rights of Pakhtoons led to this circumstance.

She posed a query: "Why people from other provinces do not go to the NWFP province to seek employment?" She said the NWFP was a fertile valley rich in minerals but the rulers had taken over the resources, forcing our children to become homeless.

She said that Bacha Khan had struggled throughout his life and endured suffering only to secure a better future for the coming generation. Begum Wali Khan said that Kalabagh dam and Thal canal would not be acceptable to Pakhtoons like the people of Sindh. "Why the rulers want to build these projects despite opposition from three provinces? Only to appease Punjab?"

Calling for provincial autonomy, she said if small dams were built instead of Kalabagh dam, this would not only solve the water problem but also generate enough electricity to export it to Afghanistan.

Earlier, in one of the resolutions adopted at the meeting, concern was expressed over non-availability of civic facilities in Pakhtoon settlements in Sindh and demanded resolutions of their basic problems.

In the meeting, many councillors and ward presidents of Jamaat-i-Islami, PML-Q, PML-N, Shabab-i-Milli, PPP and transporters announced their decisions of joining the ANP along with their supporters.

Others who spoke on the occasion were Ehsan Wayne, Sultan Mandokhel, Amin Khattak, Rana Gul Afridi, Farooq Bangash, Bashir Jan, Ashtaman Khan, Abdul Qayyum Salar Zai, Obaidullah Yusuf Zai, Gul Omar Hasan Zai. The crowd gave standing ovation to their top leaders as they were called on the rostrum and waved red flags.

*Originally posted by Aryan_Shponkai: *
And i wonder Alexander has not told them about what happened to him when he tried to enter our land..

seems liek alexander forgot to CC uncle sam on his email about his experience also, because the ass whooping they gave to taleban is pretty much evident.

*Originally posted by shawaiz: *

*What people are you talking about. Afghans or the Pakhtun tribes of the tribal areas living to the east of the Durand line? *

All, add in the arab fighters there too. We talk a lot about oh US helped us when it suited its interest. What about these guys, did they not use US help when it suited their purpose. US middle east policy was the same then wasn't it? That did not seem to stop the people from accepting US help because it served their purpose.

*Are you saying that the tribesmen, who were/are very conservative and religious and it's known to the whole world, should have ignored the call of jihad gainst the godless Russians. Are you serious? *

No, you miss the point

1) these tribesmen are not that "religious". conservative and tribal maybe but religious? the revenge murders that go on in those areas are not quite Islamic are they, niether is how they treat women...drugs, guns being sold to criminals, robbed stuff from cities winding up there including cars, smuggled goods galore...not a very law abiding or civilized group I must say.

The point is that they were very keen on accepting help from ISI or CIA back then, because it suited their interests.

*My dear ignorant friend, *

My Not-so-dear einstein...sheesh challo koi baat naheen, some people have to resort to that type of stuff :) I am not surprised

*the US was not throwing weapons in the begging bowls of the tribes, the weapons and dollars were being thrown in the begging bowls of your glorious army. *

and how exactly did the tribesmen get those weapons? hmmmmm, it was diverted by Pakistan to the begging bowls of afghans.

*It was your own army that misused the religious feelings of a whole nation, *

and the idiots fell for it? i guess some stereotypes are true then. just a second ago you said something else..let me quote..

*Are you saying that the tribesmen, who were/are very conservative and religious and it's known to the whole world, should have ignored the call of jihad gainst the godless Russians. Are you serious? *

so, let me getthis clear. These ppl wanted to wage This "jihad" regardless, or were they conned into fighting by US. If its the former, than there was no misuse of the religious feelings of anyone, these guys would have fought anyways. If it is teh latter then they were idiots to have been used.

*your army is devoid of shame and wisdom and our people are paying the price. *

your people are paying th rprice for their own follies.

*Is it not true that all al-quaida terrorists were captured in Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and Karachi. *

is it not true that the military and police forces have searched for them. But i guess there wer ento too many people keen on protecting these sorry idiots there.

*Tell me how many of them have been captured in Quetta or Peshawar up to now. *

Looks like people are hiding them well ;)

It has been published many times in the western media that the ISI has harboured these terrorists in the big cities of Pakistan. Don't blame the tribesmen for the misdeeds of your army.

There are many things published in the western media thatOBl and his gang of morons are in teh triobal areas :) if you are going to use western media as a source for one thing, surely u can not ignore it for another.

Originally posted by Fraudz:

All, add in the arab fighters there too. We talk a lot about oh US helped us when it suited its interest. What about these guys, did they not use US help when it suited their purpose. US middle east policy was the same then wasn't it? That did not seem to stop the people from accepting US help because it served their purpose.**

What has a normal pakhtun tribesman to do with the amercian foreign policy. They are the victim of pak army's policy. Pak army misused its own people (if they consider them pakistanis at all) and you admit it.

No, you miss the point

1) these tribesmen are not that "religious". conservative and tribal maybe but religious? the revenge murders that go on in those areas are not quite Islamic are they, niether is how they treat women...drugs, guns being sold to criminals, robbed stuff from cities winding up there including cars, smuggled goods galore...not a very law abiding or civilized group I must say.
The point is that they were very keen on accepting help from ISI or CIA back then, because it suited their interests.

Which Islamic socitey has been freed form these crimes? No matter whay you say, they are more religious and conservative then any other group. By the way, Pak army is more expert in smuggling and robbing then these tribesmen.

and how exactly did the tribesmen get those weapons? hmmmmm, it was diverted by Pakistan to the begging bowls of afghans.

Thanx for proving my point.

**and the idiots fell for it? i guess some stereotypes are true then. just a second ago you said something else..let me quote..

so, let me getthis clear. These ppl wanted to wage This "jihad" regardless, or were they conned into fighting by US. If its the former, than there was no misuse of the religious feelings of anyone, these guys would have fought anyways. If it is teh latter then they were idiots to have been used.**

Yes, the army misused them. Was it not the army that trained them and provided them with weapons to wage jihad against the russians. What are you tarying to prove here?

*your people are paying th rprice for their own follies. *

This is true. Really 100% ture. And it should be a big lessons for them.

There are many things published in the western media thatOBl and his gang of morons are in teh triobal areas :) if you are going to use western media as a source for one thing, surely u can not ignore it for another. **

Yes, OBL might be hiding in the porous border between afghanistan and pakistan. First of all I don't think the tribes are helping al-quaida fugitive, second whatever is going on there is the consequence of army's short-sighted policy.

*My dear ignorant friend, *

My Not-so-dear einstein...sheesh challo koi baat naheen, some people have to resort to that type of stuff :) I am not surprised

hmm...calling someone beggar is very civilized...

^ chanda those words were not directed atyou were they, but to the people in question, not that you have no used similar statements ..lets see.

godless Russians.
My dear ignorant friend,
your army is devoid of shame and wisdom

It does not appear I tried to insult a person, whereas you did.

btw, ya dont have a response to the points I raised in my previous post? :)

^ chanda those words were not directed atyou were they, but to the people in question, not that you have no used similar statements ..lets see.

It does not appear I tried to insult a person, whereas you did.

btw, ya dont have a response to the points I raised in my previous post? :)

kid, defaming a whole nation by calling them beggar is immoral, being pakistani we all know which nation is a bigger beggar.

Russians were regarded as godless atheist people by our government, what is wrong if I just repeat what they used to say in 80s. And what did I say against the army is like a universal truth for me.

I've replied what you what you asked me. And sooner or later you'll also accept that the main culprit is the army.

accha accha... dont admit your mistakes :) I take my word back, and instead of begging bowls, rephrase the sentence as "when Us was giving them weapons as they needed"

now how about you go fix your mistakes :) shabaash

calling a whole army beggars, or a person ignorant, or a whole army shameless is defamataion and immoral too.

I mean practice what you preach :)

What has a normal pakhtun tribesman to do with the amercian foreign policy. They are the victim of pak army's policy. Pak army misused its own people (if they consider them pakistanis at all) and you admit it.

I dont admit jack, the interersts of Us, pakistan and these people were the same and these people unabashedly accepted the help. they were not coaxed into doing anything.

*Which Islamic socitey has been freed form these crimes? *

thats not a good excuse. the drug production in these parts is the highest compared to I suppose any other muslim place.

No matter whay you say, they are more religious and conservative then any other group. By the way, Pak army is more expert in smuggling and robbing then these tribesmen.

They may be more conservative, stuck to their tribal ways which only get the tint of religion to justify it, but other than that, most religious, I dont think either u or I are in a position to gauge it, only Allah knows.

Thanx for proving my point. **

but they were not forced into accepting weapons, they wanted them. as noted earlier, the interests of Us, pak and the tribals were the same at that point. diff interests same enemy. so the tribals did this of their own free will. Kinda like some of them went to fight alongside taleban by their own free will.

Yes, the army misused them. Was it not the army that trained them and provided them with weapons to wage jihad against the russians. What are you tarying to prove here?

The army did not beat them into training, it only provided what these people were asking for.

This is true. Really 100% ture. And it should be a big lessons for them.

It should be..

*Yes, OBL might be hiding in the porous border between afghanistan and pakistan. First of all I don't think the tribes are helping al-quaida fugitive, second whatever is going on there is the consequence of army's short-sighted policy. *

No had yer pals across the border given him up they would not have received a pimp slap by Uncle Sam, but they had teh same visions of "oh we have never been conquered never lost a war" and then escaped wearing burqas. The short sighted policy is of everyone involved, the menace should have been contained earlier. Its everyone's fault, US, pakistan, KSA, and afghanistan.

Now the tribals should have the sense to not protect or support these terrorists. I dont see there being an issue if these guys cooperate and make it easy for authorities to try and hunt for OBL and co.

accha accha... dont admit your mistakes :) I take my word back, and instead of begging bowls, rephrase the sentence as "when Us was giving them weapons as they needed"

now how about you go fix your mistakes :) shabaash

calling a whole army beggars, or a person ignorant, or a whole army shameless is defamataion and immoral too.

I mean practice what you preach :)

don't behave like a child my dear friend and I'll never retract what I said against the army.