Pakistani Food is one of the worst for your health and well being. ME food the best

Re: Pakistani Food is one of the worst for your health and well being. ME food the be

my be OP didnt put it properly, but come on people desi food is all about chatkhara!! we dont eat whole grains, fresh and raw vegetable. I am generalizing here because every family is different, but please lets be honest when you go to iftar and dawats nowadays, what is the colour that stands out the most in out dishes(minus garnish, because we used veggies for garnish mostly) is brown and beige, please dont tell me I am wrong. khanne ko BHOON BHOON ke we kill the poor thing, even if it is vegetables. in a lot of healthier cuisines around the world you see their food is colourful, and they cook vegetables until it is brightly coloured not ‘cooked’ completely.

take something as healthy as fish. I still have to come across any desi (esp pakistani) family who prefers grill fish over fried, go figure.

Average pakistani family eats what at home SALAN, everyday meat and may be some over cooked vegetables. Someone said above that lentil is healthy, yes it is wonderful grain lakin how many people like to eat it on regular basis?? when I tell people we have some kind of whole legume if not everyday every other day(unprocessed with chilka) literally every desi I told they said how can you eat ‘that’

just type mediterranean cuisine on google and go to images then type pakistani cuisine and see the images

atleast 30-40% colour in our food comes from artificial rang that we put in rice and grilled items.

I do agree arabs and some other mediterranean areas consume too much meat and fried stuff but overall and in general terms they do eat much healthier than us.

chalo ab sab apne belan utha lo!!! :slight_smile: :bailan:

Re: Pakistani Food is one of the worst for your health and well being. ME food the be

I think the point people are making is that

Every type of cuisine can be made healthy and unhealthy. So saying Pakistani food is unhealthy is dumb because so is Southern style cooking…fried chicken, chitlins, mashed potatoes, collard greens, etc. So is a philly cheesesteak sammich. Etc etc etc.

Its about how you make it.

We eat desi/American in my house. I never use artificial coloring…don’t care if you want orange rice or not. If I want to eat qorma, I can use two cups of Dalda ghee or I can use a few tablespoons of olive oil. I can use ghee ka baghar in my daal or I can roast some garlic, zeera and sookhi lal mirch and that’s my baghar.

So no, I don’t buy this funny idea that desi food is bad. Its amazing food. Its all about how you make it.

Everything is fine in moderation.

I think a good variety is healthy. Many desi families also have a problem of eating super late, especially when I went to visit my in-laws in KHI.. they eat very late there and then go straight to bed after an hour or so. I just couldn’t do that. So I think in moderation everything is good. I’ve made a lot of changes to my diet though. I try to avoid eating heavy carbs at night - like rotis, basmati rice, etc. I think lighter meals at night help me get a better night’s sleep as well.

living in middle east I know how tasteless food is here its all artificially grown. have you ever ate paki mangoes :yummy:, pak chicken, beaf, meat is the best. may be you are not checking the right place

It may clog up me arteries, but at least I will die happy. Desi food is among the yummiest cuisines. :yummy:

there you go!!! eat what makes you happy chahe lal oil mein lat pat pakistani salan hoon ya koi aur type ki food. Agree…

I think the OP needs to be given some credit …

It is true that our cooking media is less healthier than the cooking media of the Arabs. Olive oil based foods is generally better than the ghee or vegetable fats we use. The more sour condiments, relishes and salads allow for better protein breakdown in the stomach. Although spices may be good in moderation, the amounts we tend to have it causes other problems, with skin, digestion, etc. The cause of fat Arabs is their more recent diet of over-eating and fast food. Pakistanis get plenty more heat, and do plenty more walking around to burn off or sweat off the excess also our genetic make-up causes us to store more internal fat than the Arabs. So they show more external obesity. It is also true that our pulses are good for the stomach …Desis living in colder climates are more prone to bad diet because they are more affluent and can eat more meats and tend to keep to their old cooking media and tend to store more getting less chance to sweat it out … Desis are increasing in heart disease. Likewise Arabs have their A/Cs and are creating the same effects in their own hotter climates.

Generally we both need to eat less and choose to hungry every once in a while, do more walking and get more heat … Desis living in colder climates should take up a sport and/or use saunas.

Others have gone over various other points so I will just cover the marinate part

actually you have to marinate the kebabs in Pakistani food, tikka, seekh kebab etc.
secondly, marinating resulting in better flavor is not a universal truth, dry rubs, light glazes and all work well, and often the marinade can completely overwhelm the taste of the meat, poultry or fish any ways

PS; pakistani food has a good mix of veggies by themselves or with meat as well
PS2: if we factor in longevity, Okinawa Japan has the best food

Pakistani cuisine is certainly healthier than Arabian (Peninsula) diet. I used to work with a half Arab, half Pakistani colleague of mine who proudly preferred Pakistani cuisine over Arabian. Not only because of its taste, but also due to the fact that how varied, rich, complex and intricate our culinary tradition is. I mean how do you get the perfect blend of spices and texture for dishes like Nihari, Biryani, Achar Ghost, Haleem, Kofta, Qorma etc? A person like me can keep trying for eternity and still not get anywhere close to achieving that right blend. So Pakistani, food in my opinion is the finest form of fusion food, if you know the history of the land and origins of some of our classic dishes. And the fact that we eat vegetables is such an underrated fact. We may not eat vegetables that way they should ideally be eaten, but that doesn’t change the fact that we still eat vegetables (lol yeah I know…) and it is an integral part of our everyday diet (but it may not be the grace of most party tables).

However, my issue with general Pakistani eating habits is that how ridiculously extravagant it has become (the whole idea of banquet style ‘dawats’ and 30 course meal menu, seriously?). Most people eat far more than we actually need, and on top of that, they don’t necessarily feel that we have a responsibility towards our bodies to burn off the extra bit of fat and calories. In other words, majority of us are missing out on active lifestyle to support and neutralise our heavy eating, and this is basically the mother of all our health related issues.

From my personal experience, I feel people in rural areas still eat relatively healthy than Urban population. For starters, they rely on fresh local and home grown ingredients, they don’t have the luxury and time to follow fancy recipes that includes ten different cooking procedures and hours of chopping, cutting and stirring. They don’t tend to overcook their food. The idea is to prepare a fresh warm dinner by making most of readily available and inexpensive ingredients with minimum labour and time . I often get surprised how incredibly modern my Grandmother’s approach is towards cooking. For a strictly traditional woman, she thinks it’s absolutely crazy to spend hours and hours on cooking. If she’s surrounded by someone who spends most part of the day in the kitchen, she’d be quick to ask that person that don’t you have anything else to do? Yeah, that’s my Granny, bless her and bless my Mother for also inheriting the same approach and taste in her hands. I can write a whole book praising my mother’s cooking skills and philosophy of food, but let’s leave it that.

^Yes, this! In addition to that, the people from rural areas tend to be more active and spend more time outdoors.

I want a gyro right now. :frowning:

Double post.

What’s a sauna going to do?

This is blasphemy

People cannot feed themselves in Pakistan so it’s no surprie the bakre ghaiy etc look malnourished. Most livestock in Pakistan I can see the bones/ribs sticking out. That’s why so little of the cuisine/meat is lean based. Usually most calories from the tendens, fat (ie pai), not lean meat, kefta, keema.

First off most salans (ie kofta) + roti is considered a full dinner…Pakistanis can go without vegetables for days. That is non sensical and a stupid culinary cuisine. Your body can live without meat, not veggies.

Secondly the superstitions, lack of self doubt and certainty about things which pakistanis have no clue are rife in this thread. You can eat 22000 calories late at night or early in the morning. Eating late at night doesn’t mean anything. What you eat is 100x more important.

Maybe the OP was just very hungry when posting this thread and could get his hands on some beatup sammich only, hence the sour grapes?

Khairat hai, you speak as though your views represent every single Pakistani household. “Stupid culinary cuisine”…really? ..that sounds kiddish; shayad roza lag raha hai in the event you’re fasting. Within my immediate family, it is not true that we go “days” without vegetables. We often make eggplant, different varieties of daal, chanay, karelay without meat, bhindi without meat, palak without meat, squash, turnips, etc. Some dishes can combine both meat and vegetables such as kareelay-qeemah, palak with chicken, etc. So, I do not agree with your assessment that the whole lot of Pakistanis goes days without veggies. I doubt all of us have kababs, qormas and gosht-karahis on a daily basis.

One of my close friends says “murna he hay to kha ka muro , baghair kha-a kion muro” :cb:

I don’t really know much about the meat in Pakistan but I do think that eating meat heavy meals at night with a lot of oil or ghee isn’t healthy. I’m actually more into eating sabzi’s and haven’t really eaten a lot of meat growing up. I just find that I can’t digest it as well and it makes me feel heavier and sluggish throughout the day. So I just avoid it.