Pakistan vs West Indies: 1st Test @ Barbados

Re: Pakistan vs West Indies: 1st Test @ Barbados

Check you PM :slight_smile:

you have some serious problems. Did you watch the match? There were atleast 2 plumbs that were not given and also a sitter earlier in the WI innings that was dropped. So what else you ask from a bowler? Rana did a fairly good job, so did Shabbir and Raaaq. Kaneria also chipped in with big wickets after being hit by Lara.

you sound like St. Akhtar is posting from Pindi, looking for humiliating moments for Pakistani team. :nook:

phew! is all I can say :relived_wala_icon:
I dint get a chance to catch the proceedings, but overall - not a bad bowling performance except the freakin extras! :mad:

The day clearly belonged to Brian Lara. The dude is heads and shoulders above his other team mates, and is a class of his own in the world. Its so sad to see such an immensly talented player stuck with the present day Windies team. He should have been born 20 years earlier. The present team is such a let down for him.

Pakistan bowlers did well to contain the 9 West Indian players today (Chanderpaul being the other exception). Hats off to Kaneria for sticking it out. After being brutally mauled by Lara, its never easy to come back and still get the vital wicket.

Pakistan had plenty to cheer about for the day. But they quickly need to figure out a strategy for Lara in the remaining 3 innings of this series. Lara has the ability to single-handedly take matches away from us. Our pace trio of Rana, Shabbir, Razzak did the best to their abilities. Extras continue to be a big problem. While no balls are bad for fast bowlers, they should be unforgivable for spinners. Total of 27 no balls is very high and combined 38 extras are the third highest score in West Indian innings. This is something our coach and bowlers need to carefully work on. It is too premature to provide a verdict on Younis's captaincy right now.

Afridi gave a glimpse of what he is capable of. Fireworks! I don't see him lasting very long on day 2, and the only hope is that he lasts long enough to provide a serious platform for our talented, but fairly inexperienced, batting line up to build a solid total. Lately Pakistan batting has been showing good spine and are not crumpling down like nine-pins of yesteryears, but this batting line up is very green. Butt, Bazid, Yasir and Asim are all talented but have ways to go in the experience department. In the circumstances, Younis bears the biggest responsibility. Absence of Inzi, Youhanna and Malik may turn out to be decisive.

First session on Day two is very critical. If Pakistan can come away with honors, they have a realistic chance of saving this game. With Afridi there, it is foolish to make any predictions about possible scores in the pre-lunch session. Pakistan should try to get to West Indian total by the end of day 2, and then get some lead. It won't be easy to bat fourth on this pitch, and Pakistan better hope they don't have to bat to save the game on day 5 where the pitch may break and offer unexpected assistance to West Indian pacemen.

very good summary and very well written too :k::k:

Thank you Sir :k: - why watch when you can read :slight_smile:

Tomorow, Afridi is on trial. Really :)
People.That is all!

Anwaar bhai inbox mai jaga banahiye. I'm trying to send you the videos I got uploaded. Let me know if you want them.

ya allah madad hope we get a good score in the first innings and get them out early...inshallah

Pakistan is in a pretty precarious position in this test, especially with Inzi and Youhanna missing. The ball is moving off the seam... just the kind that most Pakistani batsmen find hard to play, and that Fidel guy is very deceptive with his round arm action. Pakistan will have to take a first innings lead of around 150 to have a decent chance of winning. Let's see who comes through this time... hopefully Afridi.

If we atart rueing lost chances or decisions not going in your way, then Wasim Akram, Imran Khan, Shoaib Akhter, Qadir wud hv had many many many many more wickets. This is cricket, things happen. Imagine, back in the seventies, eighties when camera work was’nt all that good, third umpires were not even a concept and playing against the host team.

Rana is a hard working, committed but average bowler who can bowl his heart out for 10overs in a one day game, but test cricket is a different ball game…he is not a strike bowler the sooner u understand that concept the less pain of his not performing at your heightened expectations.

Finally, learning the traits of cricket? what bs is that? this is test cricket babee, u do not learn at this level, u r supposed to be potty trained by now…does he get paid as trainee or professional…love does make ppl blind…

ppl with a serious problem are those who cannot face the truth, Rana is an average bowler, someone who is committed, hard working average guy. Pls do not make him what he is not, cause if he fails, it will be cricket ignorant, impatient, unfair, uncouth ppl like u who will line up to hang him.

Yes I did watch the match, so your point? Shabbira did a terrific job, but it was Kaneria who did the trick, it was his 2 prized wickets which saved the day for Pakistan.

If complimenting great batting of Lara is humiliating moments for Pakistan then why was the Pak team clapping at Lara’s century? Being fair and sporting is better than being crass and jingoistic. :smiley:

Did I say he is a very talented bowler or even a test level bowler anywhere? We all know he has a long way to prove himself as a good Test bowler. Ofcourse he has limitations, but he has a heart for the game and for the team. But on day one, he did get atleast three chances of wickets, thats all I am saying. Nothing more nothing less about him. I don't know why you are taking comments on Rana that seriously????? Can you explain, looks something personal?

And as far as the happiness is concerned which you questioned in the previous post (#556) it is because of two reasons. First that our bowlers did well as expected. We all knew that we will have some fierce batting attack from Gayle, Lara and Chanderpaul as they look to be in good nitch in tests. So except the latter two, our bowlers contained the other 9 players really well. The thrashing by Lara was expected and ofcourse they are also in the field to play and his strategy was to attack from the very first ball as he has seen Pakistan's tactics in the one day where we attacked and brought WI batting under pressure also that the early three wickets fall needed a quick suplement to reverse the pressure. Second thing to be happy or hopeful about it that the pitch will dry up with time and Pakistan may find way to score 350+ in the first innings without Inzi and Yoyo. Which alone will be an achievement for youngsters. So that is why containing WI and Lara's flood of runs within 400 is looking good. However I feel that Woolmar and Inzi/Younis didn't lay out plan A and plan B to take Lara out early on. Thats one thing that they need to work on for the second innings.

yaar koi end mai score hee likh dia kerai ...
ab benda pages he flip kerta rrehai.

Do you think everybody is like Wasim Waqar that he will have great success immediately at this level. Smooth has described my feelings as well so I will not repeat it.

You dont believe in learning? Everyone is a ‘complete’ player when he plays a test? Rana has played most cricket in limited overs and he will learn gradually how to adjust his bowling for this type of cricket when he plays more matches. Do you know how horriblly Inzimam or Youhana started their test careers? If you think that everyone is ‘complete’ professional who doesnt need to learn how to adjust between test and ODIs then I can only say that you shold watch more cricket.

Great going Day-1 Pakistan :jhanda:

Lara was the trump for WI innings and an intimidation for the hosts that worked for Pakistan instead.
Now it will always be the case to get Lara out and the rest is would be all normal.

I actually hand over the day-1 to Pakistan.
Kaneria will have a better 2nd innings dry and worn out wicket.

Pakistan are on top and fav.

:jhanda: :clap:

when is the game starting?

10:am

^ PopCorn khaye ga, ? :elmo:

Here we go, Afridi beaten on the first ball ofthe day.