Re: Pakistan vs. Srilanka (ODI and Test Series) 17th March - 5th April, 2006
no shoaib akhter?
From my point of view, it is the responsibility of the host itself to take care of the visitor and make sure that practice sessions in the nets are done with ease without any problems or ill effects. You would think that the club and galli mohalla garbage teams would leave the ground immediately realizing that they have, after all, a calibre of an International level team on their hands. This is definitely a major blow to our team, not having any practice ahead of the start of the first ODI. Apart from all this, there is not even a scheduled 3-day game, or a warm-up match for that matter against Sri Lanka’s A team. They arrived four days ago, and in this short period of time, it’s hard to think or even imagine they would have build any preparations. Major part of the blame goes to the host, but partly, it also rests on the shoulders of PCB. Lack of communication and misunderstanding, alongwith the chamcha-geeri that goes around behind the curtains, in one way or the other, all has to be blamed for this.
In other news, Triple injury blow for Sri Lanka - Jayasuriya, Vaas and Perera ruled out.
Mix-up disrupts Pakistan training
Cricinfo staff
March 14, 2006
Pakistan's preparations for their one-day series against Sri Lanka were disrupted after the ground they had planned to use for middle practice was booked for another game.
The side nets at the Colombo Cricket Club had been reserved for the Pakistan squad, but they wanted to use the main pitch as they step up their training ahead of the series. The management tried to persuade Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) to stop the game, but were unsuccessful so the players returned to the hotel.
"We went to the ground as scheduled in the morning but found out some others were using it and we had no other alternative but to return to the hotel," the team manager, Zaheer Abbas, told AFP. "After we contacted SLC we were given a different venue to practice in the afternoon."
However, the mix-up did not appear to frustrate the players too much. While they hung around for about 40 minutes some of them, including the bowling coach Waqar Younis, sent down a few deliveries for the locals.
SLC officials said the inconvenience was caused by miscommunication. "We had earlier allocated the side nets for the Pakistan team, but subsequently they requested for the centre wickets and we couldn't arrange that at the last moment."
The first one-day international is on March 17 and the three-match series is then followed by two Tests.
Next time they plan on touring Pakistan, arrangements can be made to have a local shaadi in the stadium, with the entire stage dazzling in the center of the pitch. At least that way, the practice sessions will be moved to someplace else, hopefully Karachi, where there is always a likelihood of a bomb going off in or around their hotel area, resulting in complete comfort of their home.
=================cvabn---------------------
tum bhi na bas,
, ![]()
Koi bataye ga kay probables kiya hain team 11 , kay ? ![]()
Raindance bhai the 17 members are already mentioned in the first post ![]()
could someone please tell me if these matches will be shown in the U.S. or Canada? It seems that dishnetwork will only be broadcasting the India vs England series...:(
saab ji directv is showing it, have to watch it online now :(
ATN is showing in Canada.
It will be on BEV channel 705 (TAMIL).
… too bad i don’t get bell express view or directv.
i bet the online feed is going to be really bad too, lol judging by all the people that will be watching simultaneously.
It will be, I can tell you that. :p
yar does any body knows what time is the first ODI going to start?
i cant find the timings on cricinfo:confused:
phata howa? ![]()