*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Neither Kamal or Hameed deserve to sit out and if Inzi comes back into the side and fails there will be uproar so he will be under tremendous pressure. It's a weird situation with both Inzi and Yoyo's places coming under scrutiny where a week ago we would be panicking if either missing :)
Inz y could also come in instead of Mushy but that would leave only 4 frontline bowlers and with Shoaib out that might not be considered. But it's a possibility.
They might well drop Mushy and go in the match with only 4 frontline bowlers. Shoaib will be missed whether Mushy plays or not. If that's the case our batting line up will be very strong consisting of Taufeeq, Imran, Hameed, Kamal, Yoyo, Inzi, malik and Moin. Bowling with Sami, Kaneria, another fast bowler (Gul, Shabbir, or Waqar) and Malik will be weak.
*Originally posted by armughal: *
it seems malik will have to make place for inzi....
Dificult choices all round. Malik for Mushy still leaves us only 4 frontline bowlers and Malik definitely bowled better than Mushy in this match and is a good bat as well.
well thats a paradox naa, Malik didnt bowl well in second innings and mushy did. Plus mushy can hang aroudn wwith the bat. Lets see what our intelligent slectors can come up with.
Did you guys know it was the first time in Pakistan Cricket history, that the opening batsmen made 100+ runs partnerships in both innings of a test.
It was Pakistan’s 296th Test match. Wow! Good job, Taufeeq and Imran! :k: Keep it up!!
Very good bowling, damn I missed it. And very good batting in reply by Taufeeq Umer and Imran Farhat. Imran has to work on his termprament, he was lacking in last inning too. If he can keep his cool I’m sure we’ll get many centuries by our openers, inshaAllah.
But next test will be a tough one since Shoaib will not be playing and Sami, Gul and Shabbir have not been great lately. I hope Sami comes out of his fever and becomes more lethal in next game and takes rein.
Imran has to work on his termprament, he was lacking in last inning too. If he can keep his cool I'm sure we'll get many centuries by our openers, inshaAllah.
well he did keep his cool in this inning. He got out trying to finish the match tonight, so you can say he sacrificed his wicket. Apart from that, this innings was flawless.
Shoaib Akhtar may yet play in Pakistan’s second Test against South Africa on October 24 in Faisalabad, providing he recovers from a hamstring strain and his ban is lifted.
Shoaib was initially ruled out for three weeks after he limped off the field in the final day of the first Test against South Africa. However, medical tests showed that he was not in fact suffering from a hamstring injury as first suspected, but only had a strain, and he should now be fit in time for the second Test.
“We initially thought he had a hamstring injury. But he was made to undergo a series of tests and I am happy to say that he doesn’t have a hamstring injury but a slight strain,” Dr Tauseef Razzak, the team doctor, said. “We are working on him and have also given him an injection to which he has responded well.”
But even if Shoaib is fit in time, he still has the matter of a ban looming over his head. He was found guilty of using abusive language against Paul Adams on the first day of the first Test, but the Pakistan board has filed an appeal, which will be heard by Richie Benaud.
“I am feeling much better, better than I initially thought. I can say with conviction that I will be available for selection if my appeal is upheld,” insisted Shoaib. “I took pain-killing injections and I feel much more comfortable. I understand that I have a big responsibility on my shoulders and I will try to live up to it.”
Haroon Rasheed, the team manager, gave Shoaib his full backing. “He is an integral component of this young team. After making himself available for the second Test, he has once again showed his courage and commitment to the Pakistan cricket team,” he said. “Nevertheless, he will have to pass a fitness test before he is picked for the second Test.”
well he did keep his cool in this inning. He got out trying to finish the match tonight, so you can say he sacrificed his wicket. Apart from that, this innings was flawless.
He is definitely improving and he showed much better temperament in the second innings. However, the shot he got out to was a rash shot and there was no need for it, and really we cannot call it a sacrifice, because there is a whole day available tommorrow to acheive the target.
ehsan, the whole point in not taking the light was to finish the match today not tomorrow so the rashness was in taking the decision to saty out there in the first place. Even Tufeeq tried to play similar shots until Farhat got out. I didn't think it was a good idea to stay out to start with as I knew they would start playing differently but the game was won so i understand why they did it. Someone should have sent a message out earlier to come off I don't blame Farhat on this occasion.
Damn it. I was watching the match till Boucher and Gary started to build a good partnership. So I thought these SA'fricans will continue to bat till tomorrow and I went to bed. Now reading all this I wish I had stayed up.
Anyway good to see PAK thrashing the SA'fricans. They have been naughty lately :)
Nice to see Pakistan win against a quality team for once.
The umpiring was horrible yesterday as both Kallis and Gibbs were not out.
But Shoaib bowled well, and all the wickets he took came off from quality bouncers.
And Danish bowled well too.
But for the next test, it would be a huge dilemma, if Inzi does come in, who does he replace.
Yasir Hameed, Asim Kamal or Malik.
I would definitly keep Malik, maybe they should go with Inzi for Mushy.
i was very impressed with danny-nani and shoaib-i-babi i think they bowled brilliantly.taufeeq umar has shown that he is a gr8 stroke player and it was a shame that he was not picked for the recently odi’s against bangladesh and south africa. i am beginning to really lose my patience with mo’ sami, y can’t he take wickets consistently. i was also very disappointed with mushi bhai’ he only took 1 wicket in the whole test match and i have a gut feeling that he mite be dropped for the 2cond and final test @ faisalabad. i also hope that waqar bhai returns for the 2cond test in place of sami if paki cric board ever decide to drop him or in place of somebody else.
It was a good innings. But I wouldn't call it flawless. He did play a lot of shots in the air. Good thing I only watched it in highlights or my heart would be pounding like crazy with each shot. :o
relax. Sami can’t take wickets in each match. Shoaib went wicketless in quite a few matches. i am sure Sami will bounce back. i have great hope because of this added responsibility concept circulating in the PCB must have Sami thinking.
yaar Sami bowled brilliantly..
it was his badluck that catch was dropped and baills didnt come off… he was just wodnerfull and he is performing well underpressure aswell.. .
by the Taufiq speaks good english, what do yu say, can he become Paki captain after a few years…
I am not a huge sami fan, but I must give where credit is due. After Shoaib was bowling lightning fast and hitting Kirsten ball after ball, he had to leave because of his injury, and Sami came in and provided the same onslaught by hitting the batsmen and implementing the same pressure his fellow pace attacker Shaoib Akhter did. He didnt get a wicket, but his role was very instrumental. As for the bails, did u see how the jumped and came back on the wicket? Poor moin couldnt believe it!!! He was about to dislodge the bails himself!! hehe