Pakistan vs South Africa: 1st ODI

*Originally posted by mo_best: *
Get ready to see this result sheet:

ODI's 4-1, them!

Tests: 2-0, them. 1 by a huge margin.

We just dont have the players any more-we truly are a crud side. The batting always bites, and the fielding sucks, and now the bowling is distinctly average.

Moe_Best Sahib, if you're result comes true, would you promise that you will leave Gupshup and not annoy us.

The only point you have proven so far is that you are extremely annoying.

Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Shoaib, Afridi, Faisal should be brought in place for Sami, Saleem Elahi, **Faisal Iqbal

You meant Taufiq umer, right? :). I'm sure they are gonna give elahi and Taufiz some more chances.
Anyways I totally favour your lineup umair.

Faisal Iqbal
Afridi
Yousuf Youhanna
Inzi
Younis khan
Razzaq
Rashid Latif
Wasim
Saqlain
Shaoib akhtar
Waqar Younis

This lineup will give us an option for a sixth bowler which was badly needed in the first ODI. Afridi is as good(or bad) as Taufiq/elahi,if not, better than them and would be really effective in bouncy wickets.He is a three dimensional player that is, he is a batsman,bowler and a good fielder! if one of his department(batting) fails he can make it up with other two.

Thanks for the correction Sheery!

Though I don't consider Afridi a special batsman anymore. I consider him as a bowler/batsman rather than a batsman/bowler.

The only we can keep him is to have one of the other players booted, since it is not possible to boot out Youhana, Inzi, Younis, Razzaq, Latif, Wasim, Waqr, Saqlain, and Shoaib, the only choice is one of the openers and with the recent showing of the Pakistani openers, Saleem Elahi looks to be better than Taufeeq, and Faisal looks like a genuine one day batsman, even in the test series against Australia, he played one day innings. His shot selection is very nice, and he doesn't seem to be a flashy batsman like Afridi or Nazir. He keeps the scoreboard ticking with singles and doubles and keeps his wicket as well.

hello guys!!

I couldnt post earlier as i wasnt home!

Anyways yeah its dispappointing the way we lost but atleast i hope that Pakistan team can bounce back provided they bring about some necassery changes! one of them must be change in openers slot! Faisal Iqbal needs to be given enough chances unlike Taufeeq who is a pure test metarial! Also Afridi is a must as well....
Afridi was amazing past year with a pure 5th bowler spot! even in austraila where he was joint highest wickettaker there..

Congratulations to Waqar :k:
and Wasim bowled brilliantly!
Its a pity that Waqar miscaluclated Wasim’s overs and didnt keep him for the end but i couldnt understand why guppies were so after waqar giving Razzaq the final over! He has been bowling at the death since so many years. The weak point maybe that this was his first match after quite a while!
I mean i cnt understand your logic when you people immediately start cursing your own national team??? Okay God forbid if they lost the series you are right in doing that but give them a chance to bounce back before cursing your national colors! It would be intersting to see if Pakistan win match (insha’allah) and some of well known critics even bother to post but when they lose (God forbid) they flood a lot cursing this and that!
Pakistan played badly alright but insha’allah they will do better:k:

No, I never promised to leave Gupshup-so why would I know?

However, i take great pleasure in Pakistan's defeat as it juts helps show up your lack of knowledge.

The test result, ie an SA victory, I assure. I'd happily be wrong-but thats not going to happen.

You know its my dream to see Pakistan win, to win well. But I just like to be realistic-too many of you post with your heart leading your head, not good.

true my friend, deadly true,
I also didnt made any comment after the defeat, coz I knew what kind of reaction waqar andt he team will get..
any way u are right right about Razzaq thing, the managment shouldnt have selected him for this match, coz this was his first biggy after some time, he needed some practice before that, , Afridi would have been a better option, coz both are same, Bowler batsman, not batsman bowler..

and yes, Waqar was uanble to do his groundwork(homework) well,
coz Wasim should have been saved for the final overs.
but it can happen at any time, still there is a lot to go,

but one more thing, Pakistanis must play there natural game, they were simply horrified with the attack, specially with Boje and Donald.
anyway hope for the best,
INSHA ALLAH we will win

Why isn't Hasan Raza playing ?

he would be very helpful in strengthening our batting.

He didn't seem troubled with the Aus quickies.

hasan raza?... yes he shud b givin chance.... but i think he's a test player... he was givin chance in the sharjah cup.... didn't perform tht well... but still a chance shud b given!

All I can say pathetic bowling from Pakistan’s side except Ch. Sahib!

Now, I’m having a doubt on Waqar’s captaincy as he chose Taufeeq and Elahi over Afridi and Faisal Iqbal :smack:

I saw the game at my friend’s house. At one point, it seemed like South Africa won’t be able to make 200 runs. But last 10 overs and 96 runs :smack: Rhodes was on fire and devasting 57 runs by Pollock, 12-3 in his spell, proof’s Pakistan has to learn alot from South Africa tour.

Hasan Raza is a pure test player like Taufeeq Umer. For the next match, its a must that Pakistan bring in Faisal Iqbal and Shahid Afridi in for Saleem Elahi and Taufeeq Umer…because both performed very poorly in the tour matches and now also in the first ODI. Pakistan cannot risk giving them another chance and go down in the series by 2-0 in a 5 match series! Waqar definetly needs to do his homework for the second ODI !!:mad2:

Not Pakistan, Waqar needs to get his head straight when he picks the team. Apart from that I tnink PAK played well. Abhi dekho next match Inzi aur Youhana inka kya haal kartay hain. Just wait and see dear.

*Originally posted by Question: *

Not Pakistan, Waqar needs to get his head straight when he picks the team. Apart from that I tnink PAK played well

Question,

Waqar, Razzaq and Sami were getting their ass kicked!

Rightnow, we are depending on Inzi and Yoyo, who failed in the first ODI. PCB didn't include Saeed Anwar and Azhar Mehmood(who got great record against South Africa). Therefore, next match totally depends on Inzi and Yoyo. P.S Shoaib will be playing in the next match, will be good for our bowling if we take out of Sami and include Shoaib.

I don't know if you guys have realized this but for the past couple matches, it hasn't been Inzi or YOYO who have won us matches against good teams but Younis Khan.
Though he isn't very consistent, but he has become the back bone of the Pakistani team.
Ever since the retirement of Miandad, Pakistan looked for strong middle order batsman to support Inzi and Youhana, after series of replacements like Saleem Malik, Ijaz Ahmed, Pakistan have finally found one. I expect him to play better than the other 2 middle batsman for the rest of the series.

Thats true Umair, Younis Khan has played well but sometimes he just goes through a bad phase and doesn't perform at all...but these days he has been batting good...lets hope he keeps up his good batting.

u go boy :k:

insahlahh will beat the hell outta em for sure

par whens the next match :confused:

buss about 20 hours from now. 12:30 GMT

aww great..

par yeh 20 hrs kab ghuzraingay :crying:

wat do ya think.. hum jeet jaingay na :frowning:

INSHA’ALLAH,
only if when atleast 2 batsmen and 2 bowlers do thier job well enough and others also dont suck:hehe: