Re: PAKISTAN vs INDIA: Dream T20 WC FINAL
Pak nahi jeeta …![]()
Can't agree with that. How do you chalk a direct hit run out to giving vs taking? that and irfan pathan were imo the reason Pakistan lost
Imran Nazir got injured 1 ball earlier, so YK should have realized that he can't run ... but he pushed him to a run which was not there... Imran did his best to reach the crease but failed ... It all the fault of Younus Khan... heroes like Javed Miandad would never do that...
I totally agree to 5jabi...
wish i would have been in india to celebrate. yahan angrejo ko kya bataon what we have won!!!
Well, I watched the match in the office from 5 Am - 8 AM. And when India won, I screamed yessssssssss, everybody was like what the heck...what happened :D
And I had to celebrate, whether I am in India or not, I do not know when I am going to be so happy again. I took everyone from my office to lunch (Acapulco, should have gone to an Indian restaurant though). Had the time of my life. I do not know when I was this happy the last time. It was the first time I realized why people die from heart attacks while watching India Pakistan matches.
are you being sarcastic and making fun of me?:p
I was not being sarcastic. But can i make fun of you??? :D
WTH was Malik thinking thanks to the Muslims? that was such a sad comment man..not becoming of a captain at all
Yeah, It was sad, I did feel bad when he said that. But may be that's what he thinks or it was just a slip of tongue. He was under a lot of stress. Misbah you are a beauty.
Basically cricket is a very lousy and lazy game..I watch it when I don't have good TV programmes to watch..and yesterday I dragged myself to watch TV since deafening noise of crackers and drum beating in my neighbourhood was unbearable.
Yeah, It was sad, I did feel bad when he said that. But may be that's what he thinks or it was just a slip of tongue. He was under a lot of stress. Misbah you are a beauty.
agree
Can't agree with that. How do you chalk a direct hit run out to giving vs taking? that and irfan pathan were imo the reason pakistan lost
pata nahin yeh fake Pathan hameen kyon baar baar lag jata hai, bara hee besharam hai, Oh! ab baat samajh mein aaee, chattees ka aankra jo hai hum do neighbours k beech.....up until that final he had been performing just adequately!
So that's another thing Pakistani players need to work on.........
I wish Kamran Akmal could get lost forforever ![]()
‘Batting reshuffle, poor shot selection dented Pakistan’ - Intikhab Alam
http://www.dawn.com/2007/09/25/spt2.htm[
LAHORE, Sept 24: Former Test captain Intikhab Alam has expressed his disappointment over the way Pakistan lost the Twenty20 World Championship final against India in Johannesburg on Monday.
Talking to Dawn, Intikhab said in the end the team controlling their nerves better won the game.
“Ultimately, it was the game of nerves and I think India held it till the very end,” Intikhab said.
Regarding reasons of Pakistan’s loss, the former spinner opined that unnecessary reshuffle in the batting line-up and wrong shot selection by several batsmen at crucial stages of the match went against Pakistan.
“Overall it was a great match as it tilted either way at different stages. However, Kamran Akmal shouldn’t have been sent on one-down position in such a big match and I believe Shahid Afridi along with Imran Nazir should have opened the innings,” noted Intikhab.
While slamming Mohammad Hafeez for giving a dolly, Intikhab was also not happy with Younis Khan’s show, claiming the middle-order batsman has no place in Twenty20 cricket.
However, Intikhab commended Pakistan’s overall performance in the mega event.
“Pakistan played well indeed, as I was not expecting them to reach the final, and the credit goes to them for performing nicely,” he expressed.
Intikhab admired Misbah-ul-Haq’s performance but added that due to his one wrong shot selection in the end Pakistan had to pay a huge penalty.
“Misbah played well throughout the tournament but in the end he needlessly went for a risky shot (in the final) while he had four balls to score only six runs. That shows Misbah could not handle the pressure,” he maintained.
Interestingly, Misbah had committed the same blunder in the group match against India when he failed to score only one run off the last two deliveries as the match ended in a tie and Pakistan then lost on bowl-out.
Praising India’s performance, Intikhab said captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has shown that he has a cricketing brain.
“Dhoni’s field placements and use of bowlers were excellent under that tense situation. He did not bring Harbhajan Singh for another over after he was humiliated in his third over,” he said, adding Irfan Pathan bowled extremely well under tense circumstances.](“http://www.dawn.com”)
well done to India
but well played pak
@..mercenary…why were you absent when live commentary was taking place here?? you didn’t come even after the match was over…i never saw offline for such a long time. see…as said your players must have had dealings with bookies.. ![]()
^^ yaar i was in my university lounge watching it on a 60 inch screen with my friend hooking up his laptop and broadcasting a live stream on the tv
we were watching the match with 25 pakistanis and 5 indians
and we were making so much noise, that a lot of white people started watching it with us :)
but after the match, i was really devastated.... :(
didnt feel like coming home
A brilliant and exciting match – both teams gave a wonderful performance.
First of all I really feel sorry for Misbah Ul Haq and can understand how bad he must be feeling. One mistake and that gave India the cup – never mind; he played his part and nearly won the cup for Pakistan.
This was the first time I had a proper chance to watch Misbah Ul Haq play – he seems very confident and brilliant player and he proved it in the tournament.
The question is why didn’t he get selected or get into the Pakistan team much earlier. He is 33 years of age and how long can he go on for – may be 2-3 years maximum. The selectors kept on turning to tried and tested jokers like Hameed and Farhat but ignored this player and have wasted a wonderful talent.
Also, the dopey dictator may also have had some influence for not selecting him. Had he been part of Pakistan squad before and had he been performing I am sure he could possibly have been Pakistan captain by now.
Can someone please tell me why is the little squeaky screaming Akmal still part of the team? He can’t catch and can’t bat. There have been plenty of discussions about him and he is simply rubbish and a complete joker. He better learn quickly otherwise time may be running out.
What do you think Man With Plan – has he improved or still a learner? It may take same sort time as Younis Khan for squeaky to learn and become so called World class player. I simply don’t rate Akmal and never will. His earlier promise and innings to me were simply flash in the pan.
Let me turn my attention to the so called only World class batsman in Pakistan team Younis Khan. I personally think he has never been a great a one day player and certainly not a 20/20 player and will never be or suited for this type of game. You just have to look at his one day record and see how long it took him to score his one day century.
Great World class batsmen have the ability to turn games around in matter of few overs and I don’t think Younis has that ability or strike power to do this. He will however remain useful test batsman – simple as that.
What about Boob Boom Afridi? This was ideal opportunity for him to take on the Irfan the fake Pathan but proved a complete joker with the shot he played.
Apart from losing the final there are some good positive developments from this tournament for Pakistan especially with the discovery of Sohail Tanveer.
He looks a great prospect and possibly may have been wasted but thanks to Actor he got his opportunity and did a great job. I think with hard work and proper guidance he has the ability to become a great all rounder and this may mean end of other jokers such as Rana, Rao and Shabbira etc.
Former Pakistan cricketers Intikhab, Miandad and Wasim Akram rue India jinx after Twenty20 loss
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\09\26\story_26-9-2007_pg2_11](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\09\26\story_26-9-2007_pg2_11)
KARACHI: Former Pakistan cricket greats on Tuesday bemoaned their national side’s inability to overcome India after losing to their archrivals in the Twenty20 trophy final in South Africa.
But they said that the thriller was good for the game generally, and that at least Pakistan had recovered from their disastrous show at the 50-over World Cup in the West Indies earlier this year. India lifted the inaugural cup with a narrow five-run win at Johannesburg on Monday – maintaining the tradition of beating Pakistan in every World Cup match they have played since 1992. “It’s a repeat and it will hurt the fans and players alike for some time, but apart from that jinx both teams played superbly and cricket was the winner,” former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram told AFP. India, who also beat Pakistan in a bowl-out after both teams tied their group match at Durban, defended a target of 158 through some accurate bowling from man-of-the-match Irfan Pathan (3-16) and Rudra Pratap Singh (3-26).
Wasim, who had tipped Pakistan to beat India, said the final was memorable. “It was a close game and the better team won, no regrets. It was only a game and people have to take it as a game and must appreciate the quality of cricket,” said Wasim, who took a world record 502 one-day wickets. “I would blame Pakistani batsmen Younis Khan and Shahid Afridi for their reckless strokes and in the end Misbahul Haq should have played a straight bat shot,” said Wasim. Haq gave the Indians a scare with a late charge of 43 off 38 balls but his final over chip shot was caught to bring India’s win. Younis made 24 before playing a rash shot off Joginder Sharma while Afridi holed out off Irfan for a first-ball nought.
Wasim said both teams had redeemed themselves after their bitter exits from the World Cup in March. “Shoaib Malik has emerged as a great captain and the way he led the team from the front, I see Pakistan winning the World Cup in 2011,” he said. “India have found Mahendra Singh Dhoni as their leader and eventually he will also lead in Test cricket. I see Indian cricket going up from here and it is a boost to Twenty20 because India has the market to lift any form of the game.” Another former Pakistan captain, Javed Miandad, blamed lack of planning for the defeat. “We have maintained our losing streak to India in World Cup matches and I would blame poor planning for that. Why did Malik not come in at number three instead of Kamran Akmal?” said Miandad. Intikhab Alam, manager of the World Cup winning team in 1992 and also an ex-captain, said India holds a psychological edge over Pakistan in big games. “The World Cup jinx continues and India seems to have an edge over us in all World Cup matches. But I am grateful to the Pakistan team for making the final a fitting one,” he said.
pak lost ![]()
That was a good game by both teams. They both played really well and put on a show for the rest of us.
All 22 players should be proud.