Pakistan V England 3rd Test Match, Lahore

Re: Pakistan V England 3rd Test Match, Lahore

somehow get a 100+ lead that for sure will break Englands back insha'Allah

This is what I said at the start of Pakistan innings. Post 551](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3699492&postcount=551)

This is what Jazba_pk replied to this Post 556](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3699499&postcount=556) :

Ahemmm… :slight_smile:

Anyway, point is, Pakistan has done the lion share of the work, courtesy Yousaf. We are only 100 runs behind. Hopefully tomorrow Yousaf and Inzi can take Pakistan past English score to neutralize any English advantage for first innings. Even if they don’t, hopefully the English lead should be de minimum so as not to impact the result.

Unless Yousaf and Inzi play out of their skins and amass a huge total, this game will be decided on second innings by both teams. I have a good feeling about Pakistan bowling attack right now. Shoaib is fit and motivated. Rana is working as hard as he can. I am not sure if Malik will be able to reproduce the magic of first innings. Sami is almost useless. Kaneria, may once again prove to be critical.

Here is my winning scenario:

I don't think Pak can chase anything over 150 in the second innings.

Pak can bowl England out for 225 in the second innings.

So, a lead of at least 75 would be ideal.

Pakistan MUST score an additional 175 tomorrow for a grand total of 360 plus.

Can they do it?

I doubt Pakistan can score 360 in first innings. But I do think they can chase any reasonable target in second innings.

^ With only Yousuf and Inzi to rely on? I really doubt that. They both are sandwitched between Asim and Hasan with only Salman Butt in form.

With Yousef still there and Inzi to follow and Rana being a useful player, I think we can take a lead of around 100. With Pakistan batting last we don't want to be chasing too many.

now there speaks age ahemm sorry Sir i meant experience :slight_smile:

i think Pakistan will take a 100+ lead … question is how we deal the 2nd new ball which will be due in 28 over or so … means at the stroke of lunch … ofcourse only in case we fight our way to that point with atleast Inzi or Yousaf on the crease or idealy both … i see both scoring 100 each and a long Partnership Insha’Allah

There are another 28 overs to be bowled with this ball before the new one is due.

The first session will be Pakistan's best opportunity to score runs freely. If they can score at 3.5 an over, and lose Shoaib and either inzi or yoyo, that means they would be around England;s total of 288.

They can fancy to add another 40 to 50 runs with the new ball and the remaining batsmen.

Again, it all depends how Pakistan bowls in the second innings. They must restrict England to less than 225.

Shoaib i think should go on the offensive almost right away. No point having him hang around unless we're playing for time.. What say?

One more thing. I heard somewhere that when a batsman is retired hurt, and another couple of batsmen come in and get out, the retired hurt batsman can come back in to bat only if the captain of the other team allows him to. Is that true? If it is, then would Vaughan use his right to not let Inzi back in? Has there ever been a case of a batsman not being allowed back in?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Captain Lota,

The law where the retired hurt batsman can only return with the opposing captain's permission is when the batsman retires hurt without an extermal injury or obvious reason. In Inzi's case, he can return at the fall of a wicket.

With Inzi returning I have a feeling Pak will have a lead of 100+ and this match is heading for a draw. Atleast thats what Inzi is thinking of...but listening to Bothom he is so pissed at Pak trying to draw. He wants Pak to go for a win so they make mistake and lose the match thus series ends in a draw 1-1...well Bothom can dream on.

^ thats what i was thinking...but when u look at this wicket... its much better than the first two... i think its gonna be a very exciting finish... InshaAllah in Pakistan's favor...
day 3 is the key... we should have an idea by the end of the day today... Pakistan with a 100 run lead can force the results... although we will be satisfied with a draw...

the key is first session ... we atleast need to bat it out, if not score runs as well.. 3 exciting days coming up .... really looking fwd to it...

remember, friday has an extra lunch hour cuz of prayers ...

I highly doubt this match will end up in a draw unless weather becomes too big of an issue. Pakistan will have to stay possitive, a substancial first innings lead is not an option, it's a must. With 100 odd runs to go before start building the lead and 6 wickets in hand a lot would depend if Inzi can bat today and how well he can bat. If Pakistan can take a lead of over 100 runs that would put England under pressure no doubt but make no mistake they will go after the deficit with a vengance. It's do or die for them so they will come out firing all guns. As pointed out by many people they would take a 2-0 result if it meansthey gave themself an an outside chance to make it 1-1. This match will no doubt have a result. Pakistan still has a slight advantage with Yousuf sill there and a longish tail to come we have a chance to take a strong lead. If Inzi can come to bat and the lower middle order (Kamran Akmal, Rana Naved and Sami) can stay for a bit we would be definatley looking at a good score. Shoaib has proved him commitment time and again in this series and I am sure he will give it his best to try and accompany Yousuf as long as possible.

All things aside, my biggest fear is a run chase on the last day. England will be looking to declare and put pak back in by or before the end of Day 4. This desperate move would be their only chance of a win.

And i dont quite frankly see the pak team strong enough to survive a whole day of penetration from england's seamers. With the likes of Asim Kamal, Hasan Raza out of form and Shoaib Malik still trying to gather himself.

It all boils down to Inzi vs the entire universe. :(

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

This match will definitley have a result it's either 2-0 or 1-1. However, given the fragile Pakistani batting line up, if this morning either Yousuf or Inzi get dismissed early, then we will barely manage to draw level with England's score forget about any lead. Ideally if they both click then we can dream of a 100+ lead. England will definitley have to play a bit quicker in the 2nd innings and will throw us in a the end of the 4th day. This batting line up can barely bat out a day and that too in the first innings. So unless the target is around 150 or less, I don't see us winning the game.

just saw a bit of the highlights, yousuf really had toruble with rising ball!!! a few edges here and there, he batted ok though, he has to cary on and shut his critics up (me) by getting a big one!!!

:insha: iss ki naubat nahi aye gee :wink:

Insallah.. and i wish Inzi reach his 1000 runs for the current calender year in this innings also… Insallah..

Yousuf has been extremely lucky so far. I hope he carries on from here, though.

commentators were saying play should have started at 9 30 yesterday since dew was dried up, i agree they should start early today if pitch and ground is not wet!! they need to play as many overs as possible!