How can their be a coup against a leader who is so popular that people did not come out on the streets against him and who got 95% of the votes cast in the presidential election. Only Mubarak and Saddam are more popular than him. What a company he keeps.
How can their be a coup against a leader who is so popular that people did not come out on the streets against him and who got 95% of the votes cast in the presidential election.
You are absolutely right. There will not be a coup against the great President Musharaf. People that believe there will be one are indeed living in a cloud cuckoo land. :)
i believe if Pakistan had capable leaders, we would've been done with this dictator by now. its hard to believe that after the year hes had, hes still standing and nobody electable really has presented himself as a credible alternative to him.
dont decry agencies etc, popular movements (like the lawyers) can bring about change that nothing can contain. Benazir, Nawaz were all in it for themselves. Imran has no political organization, and is unable to keep anyone capable in his party for very long. Aitzaaz Ehsan was done in by his party's leadership.
It is a sad state of affairs, and after a brief period of really caring about Pakistani politics, when it seemed like civil society for once would depose a dictator on principle, Im back to being disillusioned with the monochromatic spectrum of useless politicians/politician-soldiers we have.
^^ Very good analysis of current situation. InshaALLAH President Musharraf will solve all the problems. After all he got all the support from Peers, Fakhirs.
Who's going to lead a coup against Musharraf. You really think anyone wants his job right now? Remember, he's not the leader of some Candyland world. He's got his head in between the American government and the increasing hatred among Pakistanis towards Americans. He has every bad dawg from extremist groups vowing to kill him to earn a place in "heaven" (they wish). There's corruption at nearly every level of the government, the judiciary, and the army.
Just curious - who do you really think wants that job? Don't you see, all the chors are siting quiet in their kursis, stealing away from the public as usual, letting this poor guy deal with real challenges. No one is going to throw a coup. Not in this world at this time.
Why are you bothered all of a sudden?! Any one wants to become the President of a Banana Republic. In an expressive manner you have agreed on a post stating these very words.
A kursi is fought hard (with blood and money) in such countries to rule over country men another 100 years.
i believe if Pakistan had capable leaders, we would've been done with this dictator by now. its hard to believe that after the year hes had, hes still standing and nobody electable really has presented himself as a credible alternative to him.
dont decry agencies etc, popular movements (like the lawyers) can bring about change that nothing can contain. Benazir, Nawaz were all in it for themselves. Imran has no political organization, and is unable to keep anyone capable in his party for very long. Aitzaaz Ehsan was done in by his party's leadership.
It is a sad state of affairs, and after a brief period of really caring about Pakistani politics, when it seemed like civil society for once would depose a dictator on principle, Im back to being disillusioned with the monochromatic spectrum of useless politicians/politician-soldiers we have.
Aitzaz is done in by this tyrant, how will you raise your voices when every attempt fails. Merely due to thi brutal regime using real bullets and hand guns on protestators, the one who wanted to see changes, seeing the dictator once and for all off the kursi.
Hence how can you then blame all on this country Itself lacking of producing good leaders, when everything in past and in future has been very much negatively influenced by the same powers who rule today!
blame the govt for aitzaaz, but how can you not blame the PPP? who were able to get the NRO through, but couldnt advocate freedom for a prominent politician of their own?
word is, he fell out of favour with BB and the top leaders.
blame the govt for aitzaaz, but how can you not blame the PPP? who were able to get the NRO through, but couldnt advocate freedom for a prominent politician of their own?
In other words was back stabbed by the family owners of his own political party...
Time will tell. I still believe he is very much connected to PPP. The isolation of him will not succeed for the government nor for those who want PPP to split.
Remember that!
The Govt is to be blamed in first place. aybe I have missed some news regarding newest development, but Im pretty sure he is still under house arrest and any surprise visits to him Is no pleasure fo anyone.
Aitzaz is done in by this tyrant, how will you raise your voices when every attempt fails. Merely due to thi brutal regime using real bullets and hand guns on protestators, the one who wanted to see changes, seeing the dictator once and for all off the kursi.
Hence how can you then blame all on this country Itself lacking of producing good leaders, when everything in past and in future has been very much negatively influenced by the same powers who rule today!
Oh yeah absolutely. But when you have the US breathing down your neck every second about religious extremists, and they happen to be so ignorant to think any maulvi-looking guys = extremist; and that a good chunk of your male members of society fit into that category....Jeez, its just easier to take a parliament seat, pretend like you're doing work, and steal when no one's looking than deal with all that foreign policy nonsense!
Why do you think all the chors who came running back to Pakistan (bald guy, woman with zero fashion sense, etc) all are aiming at he PM seat?
Because the PM seat has no real effective power at this point. Anyone would dream of a seat where they can serve as puppet, a face to show the world, and they don't need to use any brainpower, because they know Musharraf pulls the real strings. Meanwhile, they justt need to worry about their own purse strings.
Do you see any of these characters contesting and campaigning to REPLACE Musharraf and take his "presidency" seat?
Because the PM seat has no real effective power at this point. Anyone would dream of a seat where they can serve as puppet, a face to show the world, and they don't need to use any brainpower, because they know Musharraf pulls the real strings. Meanwhile, they justt need to worry about their own purse strings.
If Musharraf was looking for a puppet and everybody wanted to be a puppet then choices were so clear. He would've made BB one puppet as she was darling of west and supposedly leader of biggest party. Or made deal with Nawaz Sharif he would've loved all the charges dropped and become a puppet if thats what he was looking for.
and he went for his medical checkup, or business dealings, or his son going to college, or on vacation? did i miss anything .. or you would like to amuse me..
Arey sahib apt u naraz hee ho gaey, aur haan yeh tu men bhool hee geya key mosoof ka Business sirf sadarat aur COAS hee nahee tha, Masahallh hamarey Khaleefa Jii ney aik Ghreeb journalist sey chand dollars key iwaz aik kitab likhwai, aur Mashallh sey kafee sarey Million Dollar Ikthey ker liye. Aur Mazey keey baat yeh mossof sarkaree dorey pey gaey aur Kitab bhee baichee….”Rind key Rind rahey, haath sey janat na gaey”.
Mossof ka moun tehra ho geya yeh kehtey kehtey key sab sey pehley Pakistan, laiken Subhanallah pait dard hoe tu 200 log ley key US chaly gaey, sarkaree dora keya, qoom key 500 karror zaya keye, pait dard kee dawa lee , khob naam kamaya aur Pakistan Wapis aa gaey.
Aur haan hamarey chotey sadar sahib, amreeka perhtey hain Mashallah sey, akher ko chotey sadar sahib hain, hamarey mai baap, hamrii sar ankhon pey.
Aur sahib aap kahan amuse hotey hain aisee baton sey, baba ap kee nokree ka sawal hey. Rahee baat miss kerney kee tu app us khoney-na-huq ko miss kertey hain jis kee trail Hamarey Badsha-e-salamt key ujley daman ko rangeen kertee hey, us bechargee ko miss kertey hain jis ka izhar hamareii Adalatain kertee hain…
Kush rahi Bhai, ap bhee aur hamarey Khaleefi Jii bhee, Roze-e-Hisab door nahee
In other words was back stabbed by the family owners of his own political party...
Absolutely right. BB's silence on the matter was deafening. I still believe Aitizaz has a very good future in Pakistani poliltics. He just needs to undertsand the ground realities that there is no such thing as 'black and white idealistics views' in politics, there are and will always be compromises. People that can work within the boundaries and work the system from within will succeed. I hope good sense prevails.
Oh yeah absolutely. But when you have the US breathing down your neck every second about religious extremists, and they happen to be so ignorant to think any maulvi-looking guys = extremist; and that a good chunk of your male members of society fit into that category....Jeez, its just easier to take a parliament seat, pretend like you're doing work, and steal when no one's looking than deal with all that foreign policy nonsense!
Why do you think all the chors who came running back to Pakistan (bald guy, woman with zero fashion sense, etc) all are aiming at he PM seat?
Do you see any of these characters contesting and campaigning to REPLACE Musharraf and take his "presidency" seat?
no...
Again, does this mean the Presidents job of Pakistan has been always dirty?
No one is ready to take this over besides Musharraf, thus Musharraf in return is doing a huge favour to Pakistan by electing himself as President of Pakistan?!?
Pretty funny analysis, for some one who doesnt know, the PMs job to be "tougher" to handle in Pak then to re-occupy the mighty throne of "Pheron" Mush.
no...
No one cares for Musharafs thrown, but eveyone wants him of it.. Once he is gone, the throne will turn into the pile of toothpicks it should be...
Point being, the PM and the Parliament will probably impeach Musharaf, take powers back from the president and leave it nothing more then a ceramonial position...
If Musharaf is allowed to stay, his own role will be in cutting the ribbon on pretty little building projects.