Re: Pakistan Forex Reserves reach $15.780 Billion
can someone please give pay raises to policemen (not the IG/DIG level) :halo:
flame of life bhai... the summary is that even after all this the ecinomy is considered well managed and in a good position by major world authorities and analysts.
rest is all component.
aray bhai toh hum nay kub kaha aesa nahi. All I am saying is that the govt. is fueling the inflationary pressures in the economy, which is hurting the common man, their demand for deflation notwithstanding. The State Bank itself is raising red flags over inflationary trends. In fact, they want to put a ceiling on govt.'s quarterly borrowing. I am just trying to tie that in with the inflation perception of the common man and saying that for all it's seals of approvals from World Bank and what not, the govt. is the main culprit behind inflation, resultantly unpopular. Observe:
Monetary Policy Stance
8. The monetary policy for FY07, formulated in the backdrop of growing macroeconomic imbalances, faced the following key challenges:
(ii) Pressures build up from the high monetary expansion of 15.2 percent (compared to target of 12.8 percent) in FY06 and even steeper monetary expansion in the preceding years when on average money supply expansion regularly slipped in the range of 18.6 percent to 19.6 percent annually.
(iii) Pressures emanating from the expansionary fiscal policy envisaged for FY07 which continued to rely on central bank borrowing.
Equally stressful was the impact of Government borrowings from the central bank. The pressures from the fiscal account manifested themselves more during the course of the year as evident from the high central bank borrowings during some months of FY07. ...
...With the privatization inflows and the receipts from a sovereign debt offering, the Government managed to end the year with retirement of the central bank borrowings, on the margin.
In line with this framework and projections, applying for the first time the provisions of the State Bank of Pakistan Act 1956 (section 9A), SBP has recommended to the Government that for FY08 it would be prudent to
(i) retire borrowings from SBP by Rs 62.3 billion,
(ii) adopt quarterly ceilings on budget borrowings from SBP, and
(iii) adopt a more balanced domestic debt strategy whereby the budget deficit is financed from long-term financing sources (that are relatively less inflationary).
**27. In future, it is important that government borrowing from the banking system be on a smooth path by better management of government’s cash flows to meet the continued expenditure needs. **Moreover, reducing the government borrowing (ideally by further retiring SBP holding of debt) from the banking system is imperative for containing inflation.
****----------------
Pakistan Forex Reserves reach $15.780 Billion and in last budget Defence spending was raised to Rs.250 billion ($4.2 billion), up from Rs.223 billion ($3.7 billion) specified in last year’s budget. The figure was later revised to Rs.240 billion ($4 billion) because of overspending by the armed forces. (Xinhua , 2007 ) . I hope one can see where we spend most of our yokes .
Reference:
Xinhua,2007, *Pakistan announces $21.7 bn budget for 2006-07 *, Yahoo news. Avaiable online : Yahoo Search - Web Search [last viewed 11/08/07]
Pak nation deserves a budget of at least $200 billion a year. This can be only achieved by working closely with US and UK.
We ought to follow the examples of China, South Korea, Taiwan, etc. to become a “full service” shop for the American consumer.
Aint we Antiobl Bahi
so far we have handed over many to U.S. custody
Aint we Antiobl Bahi so far we have handed over many to U.S. custody
Handing over the criminals is not a favor, it is our duty to rid our country from Mullah terrorists. It is no favor to America if we put the local Mullahs behind bar and ship the foreigners to Gitmo.
True favor to the West (and ourselves) is to turn Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar to Dubai, Shenghai, and Seol.
I hope you understand this better now.
Why not ? if they are Pakistani nationals either by birth or passport stuff , they should be dealt and if proven guilty jailed on Pakistani soil . And kindly do tell what yr vision of turning Karachi into Dubai
..... And kindly do tell what yr vision of turning Karachi into Dubai
MQM should be given an ultimatum to abandon their Bhatta Khori harkaat and focus on changing Karachi into American / Western tourist destination. Rest of the things like big buildings, clean roads, good hotels and restaurants will come as we go.
Dubai has no Mullah restrictions on food and drinks. We ought to learn from them, and change our policies for the corner restaurants and cafes.
Dubai allows Casino on one side of the beach and mosque on the other. This is how Karachi should change to be tourist friendly.
Dubai and their airline worked hand in had to give free one day hotel and meal tickets, and in return made sure tourist spend 10 times the amount on shopping. Same model is applicable to Karachi.
PIA gives 1 local ticket free with international tickets. Why not mix it with a free on-Karachi-airport visa + hotel stay and provide safe travel to historic / tourist / religious temples for international travelers.
There are many more ideas if we are willing to put away our petty squabbles in the name of Pakistan.
Our nation back then sang the song that was pretty much like that Bollywood song:
Bum maro Bum, [trans: explode nukie, explode nukie] Mitt jaiay ghum, [trans: It will alleviate all our miseries] bolo subha Shaam, [trans: Repeat this mantra every waking moment] Nukie is our Imam [Trans: Nukie terror is our true god]
Yes guppies, we wanted to go boom after Indian $tupidity with nukes. There were really few sane voices in Pakistan.
We could have avoided Bum maro bum, and milked Clinton government for aid and trade.
Unfortunately as a nation we opted for empty bravado, and paid for it with our precious Forex reserves. The situation got so bad, that namak haram AQ Khan ended up peddling our precious nukies to the rogues states of Iran, Labia, and Kim-Kim jannat North Korea.
dont you remember the nightly war mongering from vajpayee at the time? it was the scariest rhetoric i'd ever heard. thats why pakistanis are proud of the nuke tests. national defence is highly important to even the poorest people of the nation.
it could be said (as i believe) the tests are the only reason our country has survived the last ten years. now we are respected. building from a position of respect is easier to build from then a position of contempt
dont you remember the nightly war mongering from vajpayee at the time?`it was the scariest rhetoric i'd ever heard.
thats why pakistanis are proud of the nuke tests. national defence is highly important to even the poorest people of the nation.
it could be said (as i believe) the tests are the only reason our country has survived the last ten years.
now we are respected. building from a position of respect is easier to build from then a position of contempt
In fact Indian forces swamped Pak borders well after the Nukie explosions. So your theory is not correct that nukies made Pakistan stronger.
I don't know where you live or what papers you read vroom bhai. It is not nukies but our close cooperation with the West is key to our prosperity. The same formula goes for India, China, South Korea etc. etc.
In fact Indian forces swamped Pak borders well after the Nukie explosions. So your theory is not correct that nukies made Pakistan stronger.
I don't know where you live or what papers you read vroom bhai. It is not nukies but our close cooperation with the West is key to our prosperity. The same formula goes for India, China, South Korea etc. etc.
Well stated (except #3 - Pakistan s NOT strong but somewhat stable under Mush-Bush administration. Example: emergency would have been destabilizing but the Bush administration saw to it that 51st non-state avoids emergency)
I will just add one point which I don't believe in Pakistan public never heard or understood about #2 above. Between #2 and #4, Pakistan had to pay a big price and that is to handover full inventory of nukes and capability with locations (but not enablements and codes) to the USA. There is zero chance or truth that these were shared with India or ISrael but US has them. The "mobile" capability for these weapons is thought to be highly overstated.
However one would hope people know better than getting their nuclear missile education from watching 007 disarming with under 10 secs to spare
Well stated .......
Thanks Tariq Bhai!
(except #3 - Pakistan s NOT strong but somewhat stable under Mush-Bush administration. Example: emergency would have been destabilizing but the Bush administration saw to it that 51st non-state avoids emergency) ...
Look this is just a self-loathing (assuming you are of Pak origin) word play on your part. A country's strength is always in 'economic' stability.
(except #3 - Pakistan s NOT strong but somewhat stable under Mush-Bush administration. ...
Emergency reference in your post is just plane old leftie inspired propaganda.
...... that is to handover full inventory of nukes and capability with locations (but not enablements and codes) to the USA. .....
So did India. The difference is that India handed over nukie data to USA on less aid and more trade. What do you think that nukie agreement is all about? and why all the commie-lefties in India were shouting about it?
While Pakistan handed over nukie data on more aid and less trade.
The end result is the same.
^^ I doubt india has handed over data about its nuke program to india yet. See, america sees countries like israel, india etc as part of an alliance against "islamic extremism". India also factors in with Japan, taiwan, farangi outposts like singapore in an anti-china alliance as well. I don't see Pakistan really fitting into either of these scenarios.
for your opposition to the nuke tests your on your own, unless tariq is agreeing with you. the pakistani defence and its budget has always been an issue considering the welfare needs of the people, in the end its always been agreed that defence cannot be held back.
the pak nuke test was the most popular decision taken in pakistans history. the way india chose to try to re-ascert their advantage and battered ego doesnt bother me at all.
even musharraf has stated that its only our strength which keeps the country safe. ive no doubt you are a patriot of the nation but defence is important my friend especially for pakistan. however, it was alarming to learn pakistan were too eager to use the nuclear option just after kargil. i believe nukes are an important detterent and anyone willing to use them against another nuke armed country is a madman. to use them against a country which doesnt posses them is immoral too.
i agree a good relationship with the west is imperative to survival for the foreseable future. for pakistans part they should neutralise the militant threat to the US from its territory before anything else happens. which is the right thing to do.
after this is over lets drop the begging bowl and look at markets which pakistan can compete in
The budget figures you have given are for last year. This year (2007/08) the budget totals 1,874 billion rupees ($30.9 billion), up 42.5 percent from 1,315 billion rupees last year.
........ america sees countries like israel, india etc as part of an alliance against "islamic extremism". .
And who are the countries losing the largest number of soldiers fighting "Islamic extremism"?
India these days doesn't come even in the top 10 list. You probably came up with this "India-alliance" during some wet dreams?
You are a funny man! Aren't you?
........India also factors in with Japan, taiwan, farangi outposts like singapore in an anti-china alliance as well. ........
May be! However Japan is 10000 times bigger partner of USA compared to any Indian role.
In fact India is a tiny midget economy country in the Pacific Rim alliances. Japan stands at $trillion+ budget a year, Taiwan and Korea are all $250 billion +. On the other hand poor India is struggling at $145 billion a year budget.
At this moment, India is not even in the league of mid-level Asian tigers such as Thailand and Malaysia.
Anti-China alliance had some value during cold war years. These days, China is utterly dependent on WalMart. If USA wants something from China, they don't even need Condi to call Beijing. Mr. Walton has 24/7 red-hot link with Chinese premier.
So go easy on this jangjui (war alliances) theories. Will ya?
....... I don't see Pakistan really fitting into either of these scenarios.
That's what a rabid Hindu from RSS would say. Are you a card carrying member of RSS? Are you the one involved in killing 2000+ Muslims in Gujarat?
Ameerika has a much wider agenda then you can think… Islamic extremism is a small fire the bigger fire is North of India that US is concerned about, a dragon on the rise that like USSR must be contained before it becomes a bigger headace for Amreeka.
http://www.fpif.org/fpiftxt/3775
Using India to keep China at bay
U.S.-Indian nuclear deal designed as China hedge
http://www.economist.com/opinion/displaystory.cfm?story_id=9587588
India, which tilted Soviet-wards during the cold war, and remains by far the most powerful exponent of “non-alignment”, is entering a “strategic partnership” with America. The world’s oldest democracy is at last going to be on the closest of terms with its largest democracy. What could make more sense, when, in the background, a potentially hostile, undemocratic Asian giant is rapidly gaining economic weight, and adding military muscle? To spare everybody’s blushes, the rise of China is rarely mentioned as a factor in America’s nuclear exception for India. But it is perhaps the fundamental impulse behind it.
Ameerika has a much wider agenda then you can think... Islamic extremism is a small fire the bigger fire is North of India that US is concerned about, a dragon on the rise that like USSR must be contained before it becomes a bigger headace for Amreeka. ..
Thanks for posting the links. I respect these opinions. However the nukie deal with India is "India-specific". Its primary purpose is to "control Indian nukes".
India has already agreed that "Gau mata qasam! Hum bum bum nahi marwain gay" [trans: we promise on the body of cow goddess mother that we won't play nukie nukie anymore].
India may have some value in US-China relationship. But it is bit of a stretch. Unlike USSR , China is utterly dependent on WalMart. Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan cases all show that China wants to obey Western diktats.
China is also very careful in reaching out to anti-American tin pots like Chavez or the castrated castro.
If you guys closely see, China is building a pro-Western empire. Any comparison of China with the commie menace of USSR is incorrect.
As I said earlier, If USA wants something from China, they don't even need Condi to call Beijing. Mr. Walton has 24/7 red-hot link with Chinese premier.
China cannot be ignored just like that, the memories of what China did in NoKo and Vietnam 50-60 years ago are very fresh in the minds of US policy makers… They will never confront China directly that is 1000 times stronger… Its not a question of comie -v west anymore but national interests.. Whenever there are two competing powers there will be a conflict especially when there is a new kid around the block… the kid is China… China is not expanding its nuclear arsenal for nothing, its new mobile ICBMs are certainly not for India..
I agree with you, When US gets in the game of playing nukie nukie with its friends it don’t like two fingers on the nukie trigger… The controlling finger is always American.
Eyes Wide Shut, India Enters Military Alliance With US
It conforms to the stated U.S. goals of containing China; stabilizing Afghanistan, Nepal and Bangladesh; and dissuading Iran from pursuing a nuclear weapons capability. Going by past experience, as well as U.S. strategic doctrine, the joint and collaborative operations envisioned in the “framework” agreement will be fully controlled by the U.S. – despite the language of “partnership” and promoting “cooperation” when “it is in their common interest.” The U.S. insists on total hegemony and exclusive control over all such joint military operations. Even within NATO, the U.S. has always rejected the idea of having “two fingers” on the trigger. The controlling finger is always American.
........ When US gets in the game of playing nukie nukie with its friends it don't like two fingers on the nukie trigger... The controlling finger is always American..........
Agreed! Americans are now effectively controlling the nukie program of India.
........ Going by past experience, as well as U.S. strategic doctrine, the joint and collaborative operations envisioned in the "framework" agreement will be fully controlled by the U.S. – despite the language of "partnership" and promoting "cooperation" when "it is in their common interest." The U.S. insists on total hegemony and exclusive control over all such joint military operations. Even within NATO, the U.S. has always rejected the idea of having "two fingers" on the trigger. The controlling finger is always American.
Yeap. All this lingo about US-India "partnership" is a smoke screen for the real "deal" where Americans will dictate how India proceeds with the nukes.
....... Eyes Wide Shut, India Enters Military Alliance With US It conforms to the stated U.S. goals of containing China; stabilizing Afghanistan, Nepal and Bangladesh; and dissuading Iran from pursuing a nuclear weapons capability.
Just to clarify, that these are US Goals to contain; stabilize Afghanistan, Nepal and Bangladesh.
Mind you these are not Indian goals per se. The reason is simple! India cannot stabilize a tiny Island of Sri Lanka. Heck the mighty Indian aircraft career is a toothless tiger when it comes to civil war in Sri Lanka. EU is playing much bigger part in that Island at this stage.
So if India cannot "stabilize" Sri Lanka then Afghanistan or BDesh are way out of Indian League. And oh BTW China being contained by India. Well Hindus do have wet dreams.