Pakistan economic snapshot 03-07 IMF data

Re: Pakistan economic snapshot 03-07 IMF data

What about inflation?

Yes per Capita GDP is $920 but how much can a person buy with $920 in Pakistan right now?
Do you know that $920 is approx. 56,000 Rs. ? And what you can buy with Rs.
56,000? The avg. rent in Karachi is Rs. 10,000 and above for a middle income family. The Avg. School tuition is Rs. 4000 - 8000 per month for one child.
Yes everyone has a cell phone but how much does milk cost for one month?
If you buy 1 kg of milk (doodh wala milk) it is around Rs. 1000 and above per month. That will mean if you have more than 3 members in your household everyone will not get milk daily.
How much is bus fare for a trip from Nazimabad to Karachi University for a student? it costs around Rs. 20 per day which is Rs. 400 per month.
How much is the price of petrol? it is more than US$ 4 per gallon in Pakistan. about Rs. 65 per litre of petrol.

So lets keep things in perspective.

The people of Pakistan are still getting poorer and the rich are getting richer.

Has anyone even been to Pakistan (real) not the AC bungalows of Defence...

??

would FB area block 11, shah faisal colony #3, landhi #5, Korangi K area and J area, PIB colony and Jet Lines be considered Pakistan (real)?

Maybe.

I havent been in 12 years. :o

On the basis of Purchasing Power Parity the IMF states Pakistan’s per capita has gone up from $1937 dollars in 1999 to $2976 dollars at present - a increase of over 50% in this period. Per capita means per person - not per household. So if you multiply that by 6 (average size of a Pakistani family) that comes to $17856 per average Pakistani family = 1,085,644 Rs.

http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2006/01/data/dbcoutm.cfm?SD=1999&ED=2007&R1=1&R2=1&CS=3&SS=2&OS=C&DD=0&OUT=1&C=564&S=PPPPC&RequestTimeout=120&CMP=0&x=29&y=3

Spectacular news. :k:

now people will question IMF’s objectivity and that since IMF chief does not have to buy aata and daal in pakistan that they may not know anything :slight_smile:

You really are one of the most pathetic Mullah wannabees I've ever cyber met. The moment one of your jungle educated clansmen enter any sphere of politics you manage to regress a whole economy into the medieval age.

The progress Pakistan has made has nothing to do with the US. They are due to the policies implemented by the Musharraf government, nothing else.

Inflations is down to 6 or 7% and under control now. Loan repayments are at their best return yet with Moodys upping the loan repayment grade for Pakistan. Zia should have been a Godsend for you.

You have to be one of the worst patriots I ever met.

You have to be one of the most immature and naive person I have ever met…

roadrunner bhai, unlike a couple of others who unfortunately are always in a negative response mode in relation to any positive news about Pakistan, PaKpatriot1 sahib is a very balanced and fair poster. You just have to read all his postings to appreciate how incorrect your reply was. :)

Thank you!:rolleyes:

As per Morgan Stanley Economic Survey 2006, Pakistan is on the "emerging markets list", indicating "consistantly moderate to strong growth over a sustained period of time".

Morgan Stanley is paid off by Musharraf and Shaukat. ;)

We should be happy that Pak is making progress. Slowly, sure, but progress indeed.

Is this purchasing power per month or year? Whatever the response is, you CANNOT multiply it by 6 just because there are 6 people in household, majority of families have only one bread-winner.

Guys, I just want to know if on the ground the growth is being felt by an emerging middle class rather then the ave man?

yaaar captaaaaan…per capita ka matla kya hoa hai? and how is it different from family unit? please give answer in less than 200 words, safai kay 5 number

Would you like to answer the amount of debt repayments Pak will have to make in 10,20 yrs time( when Mush is long gone) due to the debt rescheduling by Mush/Aziz after 9/11?

As for inflation being under control,maybe in your Amreeka, but in Pakistan, the average man is priced out of so many everyday items.

Pakistan can get cheaper loans due to its upgrading in credit. Inflation has come down and this cannot be fiddled. it's dropped 2 percentage points in the last two years and this year has seen the biggest drop yet.