Pakistan Cricket World Cup Folder

**Pakistan team celebrates birthday of Soweto Quadruplets
Pakistan Cricket Board - 29 January 2003

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), Jan 29: The Pakistan cricket team Tuesday showed that it was also on a tour to win the hearts of the locals besides regaining the World Cup when it visited Soweto to celebrate the third birthday of what are popularly known as “Soweto Quadruplets”.

Pakistan manager Shaharyar Khan planned the trip after a local newspaper published a five-column picture on the front page of the quadruplets, with the caption: ‘Soweto quadruplets celebrate their third birthday today – but it’s a milestone tinged with sadness.’ Their mother, Linda Mdluli (25), said at their modest Mzimhlophe home that she was the only breadwinner for 10 people. ‘I’m not coping, I need a helping hand. Nobody is sponsoring me and I’m all alone’. So there will be no birthday cake, balloons or piles of brightly wrapped gifts for the Nkosi quadruplets.

Shaharyar Khan, whose gesture to take the Pakistan cricket team to schools of handicaps in India in 1999 earned a lot of praise for the team from the media and the public, organized a small birthday party for the quadruplets at their residence and carried a 10kg cake, a miniature cricket bat signed by the entire team and a cash of Rand 2000 to help the mother to take care of the children.

Not only the management sang ‘Happy Birthday’, they held the quadruplets in their hands – though two of the boys began to cry and went for cover! It soon became a party that was joined in by neighbours who clapped. The joy and happiness was visible in their eyes.

Shaharyar Khan, who was also accompanied by Pakistani High Commissioner Shaheen Gilani, said: "We want to make a gesture to the people of South Africa, people who have been so kind and hospitable since we arrived in South Africa.

“The joy of being among the people in Soweto, from where the great (anti-apartheid) movement started, is a great thing. Everywhere we see (Nelson) Mandela’s children.”

The Star newspaper, that carried a four-column picture of Shaharyar Khan on front page showing him handing over an autographed mini-cricket bat to one of the quadruplets under the headline ‘Quadruplets bowled over by caring Pakistanis’, said the Soweto Nkosi quadruplets were delighted by their third birthday gift: a surprise party organized by the Pakistan cricket team.

The newspaper quoted the mother of the quadruplets as saying: “I was not expecting it. I never thought there was someone out there who would give my kids such a gift.”

Pakistan’s gesture immediately earned praise from several quarters.

“As one of Mandela’s children, I want to express my deep appreciation for the caring gesture towards an underprivileged South African lady who has quadruplets to bring up,” a message on the reception desk of the team hotel read.

Another message said: “Thank you Pakistan team for your wonderful gesture. Your manager went all the way to Soweto to hand over the birthday cake to the mother of the quads. Few foreigners and diplomats even step into this township.”

“Pakistan’s caring attitude towards people of South Africa shows that they are not only ample stars but cricketers with a human touch,” a local newspaper summed up the event. **

A mark of a great team, this Sharyar Khan guy is doing a great job for his team. :k: :k:

Australians red-hot favourites
Omar Kureishi - 29 January 2003

Australia won the VB series in style and in the process showed that there were two ways of going about the winning business. The first is to crush the opponent underfoot, show no mercy, take no prisoners.

This Australia did in the first final at Sydney. It was a performance meant to silence Nasser Hussain who had harboured some illusions about causing an upset.

The Australians were awesome and the way that Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden went about reaching a modest target showed almost contempt for England’s bowling.

The second way was to take the game to the wire and then, when all seemed to be lost, hand the ball to Brett Lee and to do, what we all hope in Pakistan, Shoaib Akhtar will do in a crunch match in the World Cup - bowl fast, bowl deadly straight, and in the block-hole. Lee did that, on cue.

Clearly, Australia was sending out a message. It is a red-hot favourite for the World Cup for very good reasons. It is a red-hot team. Does this make the World Cup a one-horse race? Not necessarily.

There are far better teams than England and they will not fold as unceremoniously as England did. But they will have to play out of their skins to stop Australia.

And I am not being patriotic when I suggest that Pakistan, on its day, is the world’s most dangerous team. “On its day” is a tough pre-qualification. But the talent is there and for Shoaib Akhtar, the moment of truth has arrived. There is tremendous back-up for him, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Abdul Razzaq, Saqlain Mushtaq and Shahid Afridi. But Pakistan will need Shoaib to fire on all cylinders. This could be his tournament and he will need to stamp his authority from the first game that Pakistan plays and which happens to be against Australia.

All teams start with a clean slate. What has happened in the past has no bearing except in not repeating the mistakes that were made. An American Indian saying is appropriate: “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.”

Pakistan will need better leadership than was shown on its tour of South Africa. Leadership means more than giving orders. It is the skill of getting the best out of others, the fostering of togetherness, the acrobatics of being a leader of the team while being a member of it. Both equal and first among equals.

I don’t wish to seem to be harping on the subject but Pakistan teams, in the past, have been their own worst enemies. It is not uncommon for friendships to form within a team, friendships on the basis of common interests and common pursuits. This may give the perception of groupism. But the pre-eminent loyalty should be to the team’s cause and personality clashes should be put on hold. The PCB chairman has spoken to the senior players, as has Imran Khan. Both would have delivered the same message and there is no reason to doubt that the message will not be heeded.

The function arranged at the Gaddafi Stadium to wish farewell to the team may have ended in a somewhat disorderly fashion but the large number of cricket fans who had assembled demonstrated unwavering support for the team.

The players should be encouraged by this support. No team, not even Australia can win, if it does not give its best. In the World Cup, something more than the best will be needed.

In the meanwhile, efforts are still being made to derail the matches in Zimbabwe. We now learn that the England players are not keen to play there, troubled by their conscience. That’s a bit rich. The team received anonymous threats in their hotel rooms. The threats could have been the work of some prankster or it could have been some “dirty tricks” by vested interests.

If the England team does not want to play in Zimbabwe, it should simply forfeit its points, a small sacrifice given that they are conscience-stricken.

Ironic that they should feel so strongly about the white farmers in Zimbabwe and have nothing to say about the prospects of thousand of Iraqis being killed when Tony Blair sends his army (air force and navy) into war. But that would be bringing in politics into sports. Precisely. But then, I suppose it is possible to have a selective conscience. Some call it double standards.

© Dawn **

29 January: Why Pakistan will win the CWC 29/01/03
Waqar’s boys can do it say fans
We suggested that at best they could be described as “Wild Cards.” For the most part however our readers disagreed, saying all that stood between Pakistan and a famous CWC win was a little tweaking and a few adjustments in key areas…

Richard Pybus: Tough job

Well you can’t just say that Pakistan, after losing very badly to South Africa in South Africa, are not among the line of favorites at this CWC. One should not forget their win at Port Elizebth which was both brutal and by a devastating margin. I think that bowling will be the key for Pakistan winning in every match, and if the batsman show a bit of resposiblity then there is no side who can stop Pakistan from winning. Pakistan will paly its 1th match of CWC against Australia (hot favorites) and my 6th sense is telling me that Pakistan will win that match and then go on to take the CWC.
Lets see what happens.
Owais Suriya

Since Pakistan have done the best out of all the teams who have played Australia recently, I think they will come back up very soon. Good Luck Pakistan.
Vaio Dex

Pakistan can easily win the World Cup! We are arguably the most talented side in the world. With our big guns fit we can brush anybody aside as we proved in Australia in 2002. Discipline is a key for Pakistan while other sides must worry about whether their playes are talented enough or possess the talent. Pakistan with a good leader are just unstoppable.
Halima Begum

Considering that you have had a rating for all other teams so far in your world cup preview, I think it is silly not to have one for Pakistan…

This crap about:
“I am not drawing up a table measuring Pakistan’s prospects, as I have done for the other teams. There is little point, they are the ultimate wild card. Suffice to say much will come down to Waqar. If in January he can soothe the angst of his senior players and marshal his troops, Pakistan will be a serious force, possible winners. If he does not, which is far more likely, they will once again crash and burn.”

The ultimate “wild card”??? What the…? How can the runners up from the previous world cup be a wild card?

They shoyld have a rating like every other preview. It makes it look like an error that there is none.
Matt Sterne

Pakistan can certainly win the World Cup,and I believe they will for the fact that the bowling will be a truly amaizing sight for everyone.

Shoaib has grown up and is not just a speedster, he is an amiazing bowler, capable of ripping any team to shreds i.e the one day tour of Australia June 2002.

Wasim, known by many as the best bowler in the world, will be so eager to take those 10 wickets he needs to reach the unprecedented 500 wicket mark in ODI’s. And he retires at the end of the tournament so hes gonna wanna go out with a bang if u know what i mean…

Waqar, Captain of the team, will finally get the chance to prove his worth in the World Cup, remember the tour of England? In the Natwest Series, those two games against Australia and England where he took 7 and then 6 wickets in cosecutive matches. That was only a year ago!

As for Pakistans other bowlers, you have Azhar Mahmood, who is ideally suited for South Afrian tracks, Abdur Razzaq,who is one of the best allrounders in the world. Then you have Mohammmed Sami who is very pacy, gets good movement and is another potentially great bowler.

Shahid Afridi is chipping in with wickets too. And dont forget Saqlain. Although recent form won’t suggest it, Pakistan also possesses some great batsman like Anwar, Inzamam, Youhana, Younis Khan and Abdur Razzaq.

IF this team gels together THEN there is no team in the world that is better.

Just the opinion of a biased Pakistan fan.
Burhan Ali.

I think that Richard Pybus sucks. The right man for the job is undoubtedly Javed Miandad - he is good.
Hasan

I am a Pakistani resident. In your article I found that you have written that if somebody has an idea or secret that could help Pakistan win the World Cup then they should tell Richard Pybus about it. Well I have some ideas! Tell Pybus to give me a chance to select the right 15 and then 11 players for the team. I think I can get it right. I’ll be waiting for your reply on my email **********@hotmail.com
Loyal supporter

This is in response to the article discussing Pakistan team’s dismal chances of winning the world cup.

I share the views of author that the Team’s main weakness lies in captaincy of Waqar Younis. No one in the team has the charisma of Imran Khan. So the best they can hope for is prayers of cricket lovers in Pakistan and how badly other teams perform.

The time available to the team and management is too small to glue together in the true spirit of the word ‘team’. Richard Pybus may start looking for another job after World Cup!
Zahir Kazmi, Pakistan

Hi, my name is Akif Yaqub. Richard Pybus said in his sanpshot about Pakistan that you should email me if you know why we lack winning on some occasions, why players dont give it their full best, I didnt know his email so thats why i am emailing you and hoping if u can forward this email to him.

All I want to say is that the reason Pakistan are not winning matches at the moment is because one they do it for money, nothing else seems to matter to them other than money because thats what all they want. My cousins think that as well!

Secondly, I feel they dont play as a team they play as individuals. They have got to know each other properly, there is no I in team. The number of run-outs Pakistan have got is outstanding and that is they do not communicate they don’t talk to each other. All I am saying they should have team spirit.
Akif Yaqub

You are close to right when you label Pakistan wild cards, however I can’t help feeling that you are a little off the mark. Lets face it a side like the West Indies, which boasts players like Brian Lara, Carl Hooper, Chris Gayle, Vasbert Drakes etc etc is much more of a wild card. Even a side like Zimbabwe could be classified as more of a Wild Card given their home status and ability of players like Andy Flower and Heath Streak.

So yes, while it would be an upset if Pakistan won, it they syrely can’t be regarded as the ultimate Wild Card. Similarly, they are certainly not the best side at the CWC with sides lime South Africa, Australia and India correctly rated higher than them.

All in all I think it may be a disappointing couple of months for the people of Pakistan!
Clive Westerveldt**

Link - Inzamam sheds 23 pounds to excel in World Cup

Inzamam sheds 23 pounds to excel in World Cup
Pakistan Cricket Board - 31 January 2003

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), January 31: Pakistan vice-captain Inzamam-ul-Haq Friday said he had lost about 23 pounds in the last six months just to be in his best physical shape for the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup that begins February 9.

“I want to look the same as I looked during the 1992 World Cup - a shy and thin boy. It has taken a lot of sacrifice (losing weight) but then if I had to be in the best of shapes, I had to do it. After all, this World Cup means a lot not only to me but to 140 million people back home who expect me to perform,” Inzamam said at the Wanderers where Pakistan had another extensive fielding session after the Jumma (Friday) prayers.

“I am sure I will not be criticised for my weight this time,” Inzamam said wearing a broad smile.

Inzamam, widely criticized for being over-weight, is considered the backbone of the Pakistan’s batting after notching up 8,939 runs from 284 games at 39.20. Inzamam, as a 22 year old, burst onto the international scene with a rapid 60 off 37 balls against New Zealand in the 1992 World Cup semifinal and then played another swashbuckling knock in the final against Australia that propelled Pakistan to a winning 249.

"I feel fresh and more athletic after having lost the weight. I can feel there is a huge difference between the Inzamam of today and Inzamam of maybe six months ago. I have had long nets and fielding sessions and I don’t feel tired at all.

“Now I am sure that I will be able to spend more time at the crease because the new-look body will now put comparatively lesser pressure on my troubled knees. At the same time, I can be quicker between the wickets and therefore, little chance of being run-out,” Inzamam said, adding: “I would like to lose another five pounds by the time we take on India on March 1.”

Team doctor Riaz Ahmed said Inzamam weighed about 103.5kg during the triangular one-day tournament in Tangiers in August. “But we worked slowly and gradually on him. The aim was that he drops about one-kg in seven to 10 days. I am glad he has now trimmed his body and that too without skipping meals. He has taken the right diet at the right time. I think it is also a guideline for others too.”

Inzamam will be playing in his fourth World Cup and has so far scored 624 runs from 24 matches at 29.71.

“I know this type of mediocre performance is not acceptable this time. We have an excellent team but we have to post winning runs. I consider I have a big role to play and need to lead by example. I have to carry the younger boys under my wings and they will only succeed if I am there in the centre to guide them, exactly the way Javed Miandad did in the 1992 World Cup,” Inzamam, whose best score in the World Cup has been 81, said.

Inzamam admitted that Pakistan had a rough last couple of months. But stressed that it was now a rejuvenated team and there has been a sudden change in the attitude of the players.

"I know people who have written us off would not trust me. But the truth is that there is a massive turn-around in the attitude of the players. I don’t know whether it is because of the World Cup or if they have realised that the nation has high hopes on them or maybe because they feel it is time for them to pay back the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) that has gone all the way to support them. Whatever maybe the case, this team looks determined, disciplined and committed.

"I think this all reflects the mental toughness of the boys who despite being on the receiving end when they were here last time, are geared up to give more than hundred percent. I can see the change in the attitude at nets, fielding sessions and in team hotel. I mean there are more team meetings and consequently more participation of the boys, and the players are moving together and discussing cricket.

“That is something we missed recently. But now everything seems alright and I am sure if we do well in this competition, everyone would forget what happened on the last tour to South Africa or maybe against Australia (at Sharjah),” Inzamam said.

Inzamam said he was personally happy with the schedule of the tournament.

“We play against Australia first and irrespective of the result, we would know that we wouldn’t face them again until the semifinal or the final. That would allow the boys to stay focused on the remaining games, including the most important match against India. What I want to stress is that if we had to play the world champions last, the boys might have been in a different frame of mind and consequently their performance in the other games might have also been affected.”

Inzamam, however, maintained that Pakistan team would have to keep the momentum if they wanted to succeed in the tournament. “We played excellent and aggressive cricket in 1999 and suddenly the graph went down and we lost badly in the final though we didn’t deserve to lose that badly but now we can only learn from that.”

Link - Pybus: Rest has given a boost to Pakistan team

Pybus: Rest has given a boost to Pakistan team
Pakistan Cricket Board - 31 January 2003

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), January 31: Pakistan coach Richard Pybus Friday feels a couple of weeks break from international cricket has given his team a huge boost ahead of the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup.

“There is a positive mood in the camp. I think the couple of weeks at home for the boys was very important,” the former Border coach said.

According to local newspaper, The Citizen, the present Pakistan cricket team was “oozing in confidence”.

“A lot of them have been away for up to six months on tour. The chance to see their families again has recharged the batteries and I have picked up a very good vibe. There’s a focus among the boys that I didn’t feel on the South African tour,” Pybus said.

Pakistan were beaten 4-1 in the one-day series and 2-0 in the Tests against South Africa but Coach Pybus believed the tour wasn’t a complete failure.

"We’ve been carrying a mixture of youth and experienced players in the squad. And we’ve been playing around with our options, trying to find our final selection for the World Cup.

"We know we didn’t play well while we were over here, but I do think the tour was very important in preparing us for the conditions here.

“It would have been very difficult to get off the plane and say how are we going to play and adjust in the space of a few weeks,” Pybus said.

Pybus said the sudden change in the attitude of the team may be because of the aura of the World Cup. “Maybe that is the uniqueness of a World Cup which brings that out.”

Pakistan captain Waqar Younis agreed to add, “There is a positive frame of mind in the camp. The World Cup brings that automatically. If we put our heads together, and play to our full potential I think we have got every chance of lifting the trophy.”

The Inzimam article is really good and enthusiastic, I am feeling quite good about the WC since a while… and i think for once, this team is determined to forget thier difffernces and unite under waqar. :jhanda:

P.S Inzi lost 23 pounds??? :eek: keep the kgs down and the scores up inzi bhai :k:

That’s called a progress from Inzi :smiley: :biggthumb:

“I want to look the same as I looked during the 1992 World Cup - a shy and thin boy. It has taken a lot of sacrifice (losing weight) but then if I had to be in the best of shapes, I had to do it. After all, this World Cup means a lot not only to me but to 140 million people back home who expect me to perform,” Inzamam said at the Wanderers where Pakistan had another extensive fielding session after the Jumma (Friday) prayers.

“I am sure I will not be criticised for my weight this time,” Inzamam said wearing a broad smile. :slight_smile:

:smokin:

That is alot of weights to shed for Inzimam and I recently saw him during the SAF test series and he looked very slim and since then he has lost more weight, lets hope it helps him score more runs.

Rashid Latif: Pakistan is still a dangerous side

Pakistan Cricket Board - 1 February 2003

Click Here for Source

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), February 1: Pakistan wicketkeeper Rashid Latif believes the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup match against England is the most crucial for the 1992 world champions and his team’s chances of reaching the semifinals or the final would depend on that game.

"I know most of the people think the match against Australia or India is crucial. But I believe the game against England at Cape Town on February 22 is the most important. It is a match in between the games against Australia and India.

“If we beat England, I am sure we will reach the semifinals and if luck favours us on that day, we will qualify for the final,” the gutsy wicketkeeper said on Saturday.

Pakistan take on Australia here on February 11 while the match against India is on March 1 at the Centurion.

Rashid agreed that the repeat of the 1999 World Cup final match between Australia and Pakistan was mouth-watering for followers of the game.

“But you see it will be the first game of the World Cup for both the teams and none would be guaranteed a victory. It will be open and anybody’s game. But as the tournament progresses, there would be more self-confidence and the real strength of the teams would be on display,” he said.

Rashid said the game against England is vital because it is the only preliminary round game Pakistan is playing under floodlights. “Everybody knows the Cape Town wicket plays tricks. If we win there, we would be on a roll because prior to that game we would have played Namibia and then after the England game we would be playing Holland. Naturally, when you are on a winning spree, the confidence level of the team is sky-high and therefore, odds will be heavily in our favour for the game against India.”

India, on the contrary, will play Pakistan after having tackled England at Durban under lights on February 26.

Rashid tipped Pakistan to appear in the March 23 final but he refused to predict the opponent.

"I can only talk about my team and I know we are training very hard and are having quality nets. I can see that there is enormous team spirit and when there is team spirit, we are probably the most dangerous side. That’s precisely why, the pundits of the game have also not ruled us out despite a poor recent performance.

“I think we would be extremely unlucky and unfortunate if we don’t play in the final. And God forbid, if that happens we will at least have the satisfaction that we tried our level best,” he said.

Rashid said Pakistan has an excellent track record in the World Cup. He said Pakistan was probably the only team that had the capacity to bounce back when chips are down or when they are not one of the favourites. He cited the example of 1992 and 1999 when Pakistan reached the final after coming from behind as underdogs.

"You know the best part of this present team is that the fire is burning in the tummies of the senior players who want to win at any cost. Naturally, when there is venom amongst the seniors, the younger boys are automatically motivated. Trust me all the boys just can’t wait for the tournament to start.

“I believe we have all the ingredients to win the tournament. We have a lethal bowling attack and a strong batting lineup that has been bolstered with the return of Saeed Anwar. I think we will easily defend a score of say around 235.”

Rashid was of the view that Pakistan’s recent poor performance was because of extensive cricket on offshore venues and injuries to key players.

"We had a good first half of the year because all the boys were fresh and there were no injury problems. But as the year progressed, we had more injuries and then the players also started to get tired.

“In South Africa, we were tired and depleted and then the home team made bouncy pitches to their advantage. The only time we got a wicket to our liking was at Port Elizabeth, where we posted around 350 to win by a record margin,” he said.

Nevertheless, Rashid said the World Cup would be a different tournament where the pitches would be more suited to batsmen. He added that the pitches would be drier because of the hot and humid conditions and that would also assist Pakistan fast bowlers to get the ball to reverse swing.

Samiul Hasan
Media Manager
Pakistan Cricket Team
February 1, 2003

© PCB

Link - Younis Khan smashes 30 runs in last over

Younis Khan smashes 30 runs in last over
Pakistan Cricket Board - 1 February 2003

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), February 1: Younis Khan smashed 30 runs off the last over on way to scoring an unbeaten 94 as Pakistan recorded a nine-run victory over Gauteng Invitation XI in a pre-World Cup 50-over-a-side friendly match at Alberton south of Johannesburg.

Younis smashed four successive sixes, a four and a two in the last over of Adam Bacher to help Pakistan reach 265 for eight, including 66 off the last 30 deliveries of the innings. Younis, who was 41 after 45 overs in Pakistan’s 199 for seven, clobbered five fours and six sixes in a thundering 65-ball innings.

The home team, whose victory target was revised to 255 in 47 overs because of rain in the afternoon, finished short at 245 for seven, thanks to a 124-ball 89 by Bacher. Azhar Mahmood showed no signs of shoulder injury that cut short his African safari last year and finished as pick of the bowlers with three for 50 from eight overs.

Younis, who notched up his half century from 52 balls with three fours and a six, scored his last 44 runs from a mere 13 deliveries that included four sixes and two fours. The Pathan, adjudged Man-of-the-Match, dominated an unbroken 45-run unfinished ninth wicket stand with Saqlain Mushtaq who chipped in with eight.

For Pakistan, who batted first in hot and humid conditions before something around 3,000 spectators, was also helped by decent contributions by stand-in captain Inzamam-ul-Haq (44 off 80 balls), Yousuf Youhana (32 off 51 balls), Shahid Afridi (32 off 25 balls) and Abdul Razzaq (23 off 40 balls).

The only partnership of note was for the fourth wicket between Inzamam and Yousuf who added 76 runs off 117 balls after Pakistan were left struggling at 50 for three.

Pakistan left out skipper Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar and Saleem Elahi for this match.

O Umair Kakay..yeh kya kaam start kaar deya hai tu na?? hain jee!

Bhai haar waqt cricket? yaar Khwab main bhee tujhay Pamela Anderson bikini main cricket baat ke sath nazar atee ho ge

O meree jaan ke tottay yeh cricket tu tujhay Virus infectiion ke tarhan chuppak gai hai...

Pakistan sounding serious](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/FEB/131443_AAP_02FEB2003.html)

POTCHEFSTROOM, South Africa, Feb 1 AAP - Unpredictable Pakistan is sounding ominously serious about the cricket World Cup.

Big batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq has shed almost 10kg and the side, according to him, is oozing confidence, discipline and determination.

Australia is wary about its opening game at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on February 11 because the Pakistanis are impossible to pick.

They can beat anybody when their hearts and minds are on the job. It’s cause for concern.

Inzamam is a classic example. Blessed with all the talent in the world, sometimes he’s just not with it.

He can be ludicrously slow running between wickets and in the field but then, in the blink of an eye, he can start thumping boundaries.

He’s the biggest enigma in a team full of them, always criticised for being overweight - until now.

“I want to look the same as I looked during the 1992 World Cup - a shy and thin boy,” Inzamam said in a press release from the Pakistan Cricket Board.

"It has taken a lot of sacrifice but then if I had to be in the best of shapes, I had to do it.

“After all, this World Cup means a lot not only to me but to 140 million people back home who expect me to perform.”

Inzamam, so laid-back he once claimed to have a low profile in his own house, is a mountain of a man even at his slimmest.

Normally he cannot be bothered doing fitness work, but he’s gone from 103.5kg in August to 94kg after six months in the gym.

“I am sure I will not be criticised for my weight this time,” he said.

Inzamam has racked up 8,939 runs from 284 games for Pakistan at 39.2 since bursting onto the international scene as a 22-year-old with 60 off 37 balls against New Zealand in the 1992 World Cup semifinal.

He played another swashbuckling knock in the final, which Pakistan won over England.

He will be a key wicket for Australia.

“I feel fresh and more athletic after having lost the weight,” he said.

"I can feel there is a huge difference between the Inzamam of today and Inzamam of maybe six months ago.

"I have had long nets and fielding sessions and I don’t feel tired at all.

“Now I am sure that I will be able to spend more time at the crease. At the same time, I can be quicker between the wickets and therefore, little chance of being run-out.”

Most run-outs in cricket are tragic.

Some of Inzamam’s have been comical, when he’s simply refused to run then decided at the last minute to start lumbering. Or just stayed put.

When you can find the boundaries like he can, singles aren’t always a priority.

“We have an excellent team but we have to post winning runs,” he said.

"I consider I have a big role to play and need to lead by example.

"I have to carry the younger boys under my wings and they will only succeed if I am there in the centre to guide them, exactly the way Javed Miandad did in the 1992 World Cup.

"I know people who have written us off would not trust me, but the truth is that there is a massive turn-around in the attitude of the players.

"I don’t know whether it is because of the World Cup or if they have realised that the nation has high hopes on them or maybe because they feel it is time for them to pay back the Pakistan Cricket Board that has gone all the way to support them.

“Whatever the case, this team looks geared up more than one hundred percent.”

Captain Waqar Younis added: "There is a positive frame of mind in the camp.

“The World Cup brings that automatically. If we put our heads together, and play to our full potential, I think we have got every chance of lifting the trophy.”

Both versions of Pakistan played Australia at the last World Cup.

The good version won a pool game by ten runs, then the bad version lost the final by eight wickets.

**Waqar’s ‘wounded tigers’ can lift World Cup: Afridi

By our correspondent

KARACHI: Pakistan’s dashing allrounder Shahid Afridi said on Sunday that Pakistan was like a wounded tiger and promised that it would play the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup with a vengeance.

“We have lost almost three one-day tournaments in a row, two out of three Test series and it’s too much. It’s not something we are used to as it is not the way we like to play our cricket. The boys know this and that’s precisely why they all are motivated and geared up to make amends and promise do something exceptional in the tournament,” Afridi said in an interview released from Johannesburg by the Pakistan team’s media manager.

“Imran (Khan’s) ‘cornered tigers’ did the trick in the 1992 World Cup and Waqar (Younis’s) ‘wounded tigers’ will hopefully do it this time,” Afridi said.

He added: "The team has belief in its ability and it is not scared of any team. In fact, it is the other way round as most of the teams are wary of our potential. We will play the hardest cricket we can in this tournament and leave the rest to the Almighty.

“As a true Muslim, I am convinced that hard work doesn’t go waste. The boys are training religiously with a purpose and we are optimistic that results would be favourable.”

“History shows that we, as a nation, are not accustomed to series of loses. It has to change and Inshallah it will be in the World Cup. We know that 140 million back home and billions in other parts of the world would be praying for our success. Inshallah it would be the combination of their prayers and our hard work that would produce results,” Afridi said.

Pakistan, despite a poor recent form, has been billed as one of the most dangerous sides by the pundits of the game. Most of the experts have placed Pakistan as one of the four semifinalists.

"Trust me if we reach the semifinal, we will play the final. When we are in momentum, we are difficult to stop. At full potential and flow, I think we are a better team than Australia.

“Australia or South Africa look formidable because they are winning and we are looking vulnerable because we are losing. That’s what winning or losing does to the reputation of the team,” Afridi observed.

Afridi said his team needed to get the acts together. "The key to success would be an allround team effort. Yes, there has to be one or two significant performers but overall, it has to be a team effort.

"In Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhtar we have probably the most destructive bowling attack with Saqlain Mushtaq and Abdur Razzaq to follow.

“In batting, there is Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan who share nearly 25,000 runs between them. There is variety in the team and plenty of options for the skipper and coach.”

**Pak team trains hard at Wanderers

In a positive sign, nearly half the Pakistan cricket team utilized an optional training session on Sunday morning and underwent a gruelling 150-minute training session at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

The training session had been made optional after Saturday’s tour opener against Gauteng Invitation XI that Pakistan won by nine runs.

The boys who took part in the training session included Saeed Anwar, Wasim Akran, Waqar Younis, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq and Shahid Afridi.

Pakistan coach Richard Pybus supervised the session.

Meanwhile, Wasim Akram is recovering from the stomach ‘bug’ that kept him away from Saturday’s match.

“I had stomach upset and I have been feeling very weak for the last couple of days. Today I felt better and therefore, I started nets. I think I will be alright by Monday and will be ready for Tuesday’s match against Gauteng at Lenasia,” Wasim said.

The Pakistan cricket team is to attend a civic reception on Sunday evening that has been arranged by the local authorities. **

*Originally posted by saby: *
**Waqar’s ‘wounded tigers’ can lift World Cup: Afridi

Very well said by Afridi. Lets hope he can perform up to his level in the WC.

So Far so good. Masha’allah Pakistani team is sending positive vibes. There is a good amount of positivity in all the interviews and an obviuos change of attitude is evident. I feel really good… Win or Lose, i hope they dont disgrace themselves :jhanda:

This Pakistani team looks very hyped up before this WC, something that which we didn't see in 99, 96 or even 92, they are all very anxious and want to leave their differences behind.

**Younis Khan: I think I have made a good start
Pakistan Cricket Board - 3 February 2003

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa), February 3: Pakistan batsman Younis Khan Monday said he was ready to rise to the occasion and show his majestic batting touch in the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup starting February 8th.

“I think I have made a good start. I am feeling good and confident that I would carry on the good work,” Younis, a modest and down to earth type of cricketer, said.

Younis made a blazing start to the tour when he scored a 65-ball unbeaten 94 against Gauteng at Alberton on Saturday that included 30 off the last over of Adam Bacher. Pakistan play the same opposition on Tuesday at Lenasia.

“You know, it (good performance) all comes from inside. When the atmosphere in the camp is excellent and you have good practice facilities at your disposal, you automatically want to do something extra and special. Not only me, I think all the players are geared up and motivated just because the (team) environment is so good,” Younis said.

Younis said the younger boys were trying to follow in the footsteps of the senior players. “When we see them sweating, working extremely hard and staying focused for the World Cup, naturally we get the inspiration and we start thinking if they can do it why not us. And that’s where your performance improves.”

Younis pointed out Inzamam-ul-Haq, Rashid Latif, Waqar Younis and Wasim Akram as his source of inspiration. "I am sure all the (younger) boys feel that same because these senior boys have tremendous experience. They have been through this before and when they tell something from their experience, its always spot on.

“It’s World Cup which is a great honour to play and represent your country. And when you are playing with icons like Rashid, Inzamam, Wasim and Waqar, I believe it is a perfect icing on the cake,” Younis said.

Younis averages 31.44 from 70 one-day internationals and will be playing his first World Cup. He holds Pakistan’s middle-order batting alongside Inzamam and Yousuf Youhana.

“Naturally, there are butterflies flying in my stomach. World Cup is a tournament that every cricketer likes to play. But frankly speaking I just can’t wait to go out there and do something special for my country. I know the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has done a lot for the players and the 140 million have high expectations. Inshallah, we will not disappoint them and will make them proud,” Younis said.

Younis said he had no doubt in his mind that Pakistan would be one the four semifinalists. “I am pretty confident that we will reach the semifinals. As regards the semifinal and the final, we will need a bit of luck and some good performance to cross the hurdles.”

Younis urged the followers of the game to keep faith in the Pakistan team and continue to shower it with their well wishes and prayers. “I have strong belief in our abilities and I request people back home to keep faith in us. We are preparing for the World Cup in the hardest possible ways we can. But at the same time I urge them to take cricket as a sport. It is not a matter of life and death, and there is going to just one winner at the end of the day.”

**Shoaib’s targets Aus 03/02/03
Lee “not a match winner”
Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has set his sights on Australia’s top three batsmen in the build up to the two team’s World Cup clash next week.

Pak strike bowler Shoaib Akhtar

Speaking to AFP in Karachi, Shoaib said he and his teammates are eager to win the World Cup and to do so they must start with a win over the reigning titleholders Australia.

“I want to target Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist,” said Shoaib.

“I can’t tell you how anxiously I’m waiting for this match. We’ll win it and show the world we’re there to win the Cup.”

“I want to be the best against the best and the World Cup will be an ideal event to prove that. Pakistan will surprise everyone with their performance and lift the Cup.”

Shoaib added that while many are keen to see him and Australian Brett Lee face off for the title of the world’s fastest bowler, he is concerned more with taking wickets than bowling at express pace.

“That’s not my aim,” said Shoaib.

“Lee is not a match-winner. Only when he starts winning matches for his team will he be compared with me. I’m only bothered about my performance, nothing else. Other things will not distract me from the goal - winning the Cup.”

“Lee is not a match-winner. Only when he starts winning matches for his team will he be compared with me. I’m only bothered about my performance, nothing else.”

Ahh good ol’ Shoaiby. Nice to see he’s still his own biggest fan :k: