Pakistan court quashes final Zardari case

Re: Pakistan court quashes final Zardari case

You know what, you are insulting the peoples' mendate. If that have been the criteria then who is better corrupt and bhatta khor than Mush, Chaudhry brathern of Gujrat and Altaf Bhai. People of pakistan should have then continued with these corrupt, murderers and incompetent guys.

Well, it is related. If people psyche, who they love, who they vote, who they consider hero, who that are behind ... all this was not relevant than we were not talking about 'court quashes final Zardari case'.

Think a bit, why there were cases and why these cases were written off? I am sure you remember that 3 famous letter, that is NRO. Do you remember that? :) What NRO stands for? It stands for National Reconciliation Ordinance. Why need for this NRO and why it is called 'National Reconciliation'? Well, I hope you understand that, do you.

Let me tell you. It is called 'National Reconciliation' because under this ordinance all corruption cases of people in public offices, until 1999, are squashed. Why? Because that is what people love to see. Got me? And why they love to see that? Because that is what people value and respect. They do not value any punishment for corrupts, they love them and lick the foot mark corrupt leave behind :)

So you see, all what I wrote is relevant with the topic of the thread, because the court quashed the cases due to NRO and NRO is there due to need for Pakistanis values and psyche, because that is what is psyche of Pakistanis, to love corrupts and want them to be ruled by thugs and thieves.

I am not insulting people's mandate. I am appreciating them as they elected what they are and what they value. Now it is not my fault that they elected liars and two of world most famous corrupt and thuggish personalities. :)

:hehe: and 2:00AM calls had nothing to do with that.

NRO was issued by Musharraf and Co., err actually mostly just Musharraf alone because Chaudries were totally against it. He issued it due to the pressure from Washington and London, so no he didn't do it because of people.

If Musharraf does everything people want to see, then he wouldn't be here right now. He would've retired about hmmmm 2 Years ago!

So lets not play the 'public servant' card because clearly people are not content with Musharraf or his policies. Also Pakistani people's psyche was undermined all these years, but now they were so fed up with it, they voiced their opposition through vote. In a way Musharraf committed political suicide by allowing BB and NS to return. NRO backfired, and Q-League got wiped.

Yaar … you are also getting misguied by liars and propagandist of Punjab Municipal party crooks :slight_smile:
Obviously 2.00 AM call has nothing to do with anything. You should know that in international upper echelon of politics, day and night does not matter and people can call each other at any time. Just imagine that when it is day in USA, it is night in Pakistan, and if people take note of time than no one can communicate with each other.

The title of so called Mr. 10% has been changed to Mr. “Clean”.

http://www.dawn.com/2008/03/15/top3.htm

Asif emerges as ‘Mr Clean’ after acquittal in last case

By Mudassir Raja
RAWALPINDI, March 14: Asif Ali Zardari, the co-chairman of the Pakistan People’s Party, on Friday emerged as one of the cleanest politicians in the country after he was acquitted in the last remaining corruption case against him.

Mr Zardari had been tried for over a decade and kept in prison for most of the period after being accused on more than a dozen counts of corruption.

**The only case brought against Mr Zardari by President Pervez Musharraf’s government — relating to import of a BMW car — was settled by a special court in his favour.
**Accountability Court No.3 judge Saghir Ahmed Qadri said in his order the prosecution had failed to prove charges of Mr Zardari’s involvement in the import of the 1993 model car from England and evasion of customs duty.
The court ordered that the vehicle which had been impounded from a showroom in Islamabad should be given in government custody if no one claimed it within 30 days.

The judge said the property of MNA-elect Raja Pervaiz Ashraf confiscated by the court when Mr Zardari did not turn up for hearing after his bail could not be released because the mater was pending before the Lahore High Court’s Rawalpindi bench. As Mr Ashraf had submitted a surety bond in the court to obtain Mr Zardari’s bail, his pledged property was confiscated.

Talking to reporters after the verdict, Mr Zardari’s lawyer Farooq Hamid Naek said all the cases against the PPP leader were politically motivated and they stood terminated.

He said Mr Zardari had been cleared in the BMW case on merit as it did not fall under the ambit of the National Reconciliation Ordinance because it had been filed by the National Accountability Bureau in 2001, apparently to stop the release of the PPP leader after he had obtained bail in other cases.

The counsel said his client had remained in jail for eight years and the state could not prove any charge against him. Although there could be no compensation for the long incarceration, Mr Zardari did not believe in politics of revenge, he said.

The acquittal in the BMW case has settled what is being described here as a long-drawn court battle to nail Asif Zardari. It had started with the dismissal of Benazir Bhutto’s second government in 1996 by then president, Farooq Ahmed Leghari, and arrest of Asif Zardari on a series of charges ranging from corruption and misuse of authority to involvement in murder.

**The most trying times for Mr Zardari, however, came during Nawaz Sharif’s second stint as premier. Saifur Rehman, Mr Nawaz’s trusted friend, gave himself over to pursuing the cases against Mr Zardari.

Millions of dollars were spent on laying an international network to investigate off-shore accounts, leading to the filing of cases in Switzerland and Britain, which are still pending.

Brother, are you secretary of President? It seems that before Musharraf issued NRO, he told you that he got pressurised by USA and that is the reason he is issuing NRO :D

Can you tell me how USA can pressurise Musharraf and why Musharraf would get pressurised? :)

If you had intelligently read the statements of Musharraf during those days, it seems that he embarrassed USA several times, and embarrassed USA even after issuing NRO. Musharraf declaring emergency was embarrassment for USA as USA was against it (UK ejected Pakistan from Common Wealth because of Emergency). Musharraf also gave warning to USA that if they enter Pakistan they would regret the day, as Pakistan is not only capable of defending themselves but would resist any invasion. Musharraf also told USA that overall total of 9 billion dollars Pakistan received from USA since 2001 was not aid but mostly for Pakistan providing logistic support to USA, so USA should not brag about those payments. Further, Musharraf embarrassed USA by telling them that if they are not happy than they stop all payments and find another country for their logistic support in Afghanistan.

Actually it was USA that used their paid crooks and goons in Pakistani politics, and did everything to destabilised President by buying many Journalists in Pakistani Media, buying corrupt Iftikhar and hiring Atizaz to act against government, and using American puppy poodle Nawaz to use his political influences to destabilise Pakistan. USA also used lawyers, NGOs, and so-called corrupt civil society to destabilise Pakistan. USA also wanted to use BeNazir to do American dirty work against Pakistan, and USA was officially promoting BeNazir (read the news of that time, how BeNazir campaigned in USA, and USA decided to use her in Pakistan)

For their work, Atizaz's son on behalf of Atizaz got political supports, promotions and plenty of media coverage in USA (and most likely, payments too). USA Judiciary also recommended award for Iftikhar for his service to Justice (well, USA). As for NGOs in Pakistan (like Asma Jahangir), they are mostly paid by USA and work on American agenda, so they were also out in force against Musharraf. If you do not know than find it out. BeNazir and Nawaz were also getting full support of USA and both visited USA to do Sajda and take directions from their Master on how to destabilise Pakistan.

When President realised that USA is trying to harm and destabilise Pakistan by using corrupt politicians, especially PML(N), Qazi, Imran, Atizaz, Iftikhar and some others in Judiciary, Lawyers, so-called civil corrupt society, NGOs, etc, Musharraf decided to issue NRO so that Pakistanis supporting these crooks could become happy and pressure on Pakistan can be reduced. Later, to reduce this pressure further, he let NS also come to Pakistan.

If Musharraf does everything people want to see, then he wouldn't be here right now. He would've retired about hmmmm 2 Years ago!

So lets not play the 'public servant' card because clearly people are not content with Musharraf or his policies. Also Pakistani people's psyche was undermined all these years, but now they were so fed up with it, they voiced their opposition through vote. In a way Musharraf committed political suicide by allowing BB and NS to return. NRO backfired, and Q-League got wiped

Why you believe that? Are people of Pakistan only people who support PMLN [Nawaz, Imran and Qazi) and all those like me and others who support PML(Q) and their allies are not people of Pakistan?

If people were against Musharraf than why 'Nawaz and all retarded parties supporting Nawaz in this election, including TI, JI and well ... around 30 parties' got their vote bank so much reduced?

Why so many parties had to join together along with American support and money, and used full force of Pakistani Media spreading propaganda and lies, plus mayhem of Judiciary and support of some crook flour millers, still they could not reduce the vote bank behind PML(Q) and pro-Musharraf parties?

Why PPP even after getting sympathy votes due to death of BeNazir could not increase their vote substantially and number of seats in NA to even win simple majority? [Well, PPP did not even get a third of NA contested seats].

You should know that PPP already had vote bank and if they got around 30 percent of casted vote than it is not such a big deal. ANP got 1.9 percent vote (got 1.0 percent votes in 2002) even when MMA was routed as people voted pro-Musharraf policies in this election. We have to understand that amongst Pakistani political parties, closes to pro-Musharraf policy (left to centre) is PPP, ANP and MQM ... all three are more closer to pro-Musharraf policies than even PML(Q).

Well, only anti-Musharraf parties were PML(N), JI, TI and 30 odd parties that joined into PML(N) to contest this election. What vote they got? They already had a vote bank to start with (in 2002, it could be around 25 to 26 votes in between them), and when around 30 parties joined as PML(N) to contest election against PML(Q), still they got around 19 percent of cast vote, much less vote than PML(Q), than how can one say that people voted anti-Musharraf.

As for PML(Q), actually one can say that as party, most (if not all) of their votes are direct vote to Musharraf, and if their vote is few percent lower than PPP (riding high on sympathy vote after the death of BB) then that vote bank is really enormous.

So, to say that this election showed that people are mostly anti-Musharraf is completely BS, rather, after all the mayhem that started from March 2007, such a big vote bank is really something to brag about.

Just imagine, today after 30 parties joined together as anti-Musharraf PML(N) party, they got reduced to Punjab Municipal Party (North). Is that to be proud of or shameful and pathetic thing to happen? Don't you think? And with this performance, you are boasting that people are against Musharraf, it seems quite silly :p

So, in the end, if Zardari is forgiven of all his corruption, it is not because he is clean, but because of NRO and that NRO is not because of American pressure but because of Pakistani society who love corrupts and give them so much value that government had to give Zardari forgiveness of all cases as he and similar corrupts in Pakistan can make lot of mayhem.

Don't be so naive Sa1eem. It's a known fact that NRO was issues due to pressure from Washington.

Perhaps, you could tell me how you know so precisely that Musharraf ordered NRO because people love to see that? I thought he was a savior of Nation then why allow corrupt politicians to return? I know you like to write long essays full of repetitive rants, but put some sincerity into for once.

Chances are Musharraf will settle in USA, so much for him being all tough-n-rough like u said.

joker!

Are YOU his personal secretary or did he tell YOU that he is not issuing the NRO as result of pressure from USA? :p

Aab aap atna neechay gir gayea kay 'name calling' shruu ker dee? I never knew that you will stoop this low. I do not know who is joker? ... You, Me, or those who think that NRO is issued under American Pressure. Obviosuly, those who stoop so low as to start calling names to someone they are in conversation directly or by posts are real Jokers.

Nevertheless, biggest jokers are those who think that NRO was issued due to American Pressure and was wrong, then support those who got benefit because of NRO. :)

Well, I did not claimed that NRO was issued because of American pressure and that means I was not there to see American pressure. I am only repeating what government of that time claimed and Presidency claimed, and what media and many politicians from opposition were asking before NRO was even issued, that for harmony in the country and to satisfy Pakistanis, there has to be a National Reconciliation, where all corruption cases on past (corrupt) politicians should be dropped.

So, if there is another claim about reasons behind NRO (that it was because of American Pressure), different from government of the time and Presidency claims who were responsible of issuing NRO, claim different from what was demanded by most media and many politicians before NRO, than you should ask this question from the people who are making such different claim, that if they were secratary of President and thus know some inside information that they are claiming things differently, not me :)

Don't get overwhelmed Sa1eem. I called Musharraf a joker, because that's how i see him and his party.

See what i meant about ur repetitive rants. Your entire two paragraphs consisted of two noticeable things, repeated again and again.

Good job! :)

Care to cite any references? Besides what else did Musharraf do on demand of public and media?

The way you wrote, I felt that you called me Joker. Anyhow, if you called Musharraf a joker than I am sorry, you have all right to call him whatever you like, because he is your President :)

hmm ... wait, I will write to GEO, ARY (especially PJ Mir, Javed Malik) and some other Journalists who disapeared (for instance Dr Who!) to send me a copy of what they and many politicians said (rather demanded) on TV in their programs about need for National reconciliation in the country and National Government, than I will post them to you :)

^ :rotfl: yeah blame it on journalists who “disappeared”

Wrong again!

You're on a roll bro....

Ahh ... my mistake. I am sorry again. I did not realised that Musharraf is President of Pakistan and you are not Pakistani :)

Well, I could find many if I search, but one news about talk of ‘National reconciliation’ and forgiving past mistake of politicians is here: Date of this news article is from 6 Dec 2004. If the talk by Sh Rasheed was due to American pressure, than Musharraf took long time to bring NRO :slight_smile:

http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-14726031_ITM

Pakistan minister stresses need for national reconciliation.

(From BBC Monitoring International Reports)

Text of report by Pakistani newspaper The News web site on 6 December

Islamabad: Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Sheikh Rashid Ahmad has said opposition leader and imprisoned chief of the PML-N [Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz Group] Javed Hashmi should also be released “as minor mistakes could be committed by any one”. “I had also gone to his residence in Multan to ask him not to get involved in trouble,” he said. Speaking in a private TV channel programme, Rashid stressed the need of a greater national reconciliation in the country.

Responding to a question that a component party in the government opposed creation of Pakistan, Rashid said he thought it was an inappropriate statement who so ever made it. This statement was made at a place where it should not have been made, he observed. To another question about the president’s uniform the minister said next 12 or 14 months could be every crucial because the region where we live is a centre of global crisis.

“Developments that could have implications for next two decades or so are to take place around Pakistan,” he said and added that President Musharraf had to take decisions, which no politician could have taken. Rashid supported that the president should remain in uniform to tackle the situation internally and in the region. He pointed out that professor Ghafoor served as minister in late Zia’s cabinet. “Why that uniform was good [as received],” he asked. The opposition has contradiction in its thought. The opposition leaders are unnecessarily making it an issue, he maintained. The minister observed that Pakistan was confronted with several other issues of concern like poverty, unemployment and strengthening of democracy and added that uniform was not an issue in his opinion.

Source: The News web site, Islamabad, in English 6 Dec 04

[c] BBC Monitoring