Re: Pakistan announce World Cup 15
jis ko soo-soo zor se araha tha, he yelled: PEHLE MEIN!!!:o
jis ki performance pe kisi ko shaq nahi howa ![]()
If you are scared to death, better give a urine sample than peeing in the pants!!!
Blondie = Inzi
Angel Eyes = Bob Woolmer
Tuco = Akhtar making fun of Bob.
With any actor in any role, this is not good. Pak has a good selection of players, officials at their disposal and if they act as a unit and put their best, they can win this tournament.
SA were a tough opponent and Pak faced a lot of fitness and other problems, so with 1 ODI and 1 Test win with many key players unavailable, the result was acceptable and appreciateable. Now if Pak can learn and keep their key playes fit and available and form a unit, it is good, otherwise if Pak eneters this WC with their key players missing and all the problems still out there, then as u said, Tuco is right in making fun of PCB officials. :)
Umar to win a tournament a team needs leadership. One match could be won under any one leadership since a blitz of Afridi with bat could make life hell for any bowling attack and one blitz of Akhtar bullets could put any batting order under pressure and could decide a test in one session, but to extract best out of a team you need a leader like Imran, Ponting, Vaughn, Clive Loyd, Waugh. I doubt if it could be done under the leadership of someone like GW Bush or Inzi (Allah Mian Key Gai)
Leadership is just one (minor) factor. Even the best leader cannot lead a weak side to success but good leadership can increase the performance of a quality side by some margin.
Luck is one big factor, followed by Good Management (i.e. preserving & polishing talent and good selection) Lets not consider these big factors here, this leaves:
Leadership (i.e. to ensure fighting (& winning) spirit and team-work): 20
Consistent Performers: 35
Match (Competetion) Winners: 45
You did not mention Kapil Dev in your your (best) Captain's List. He won the only WC for India and as most cricketers will tell you he was not a good leader, but he got a team full of quality players. A team that won the WC final against the best side of its time and as you said (perhaps) against the best Captain ever (courtesy: Match Winner(s)).
Imran got the best team in Pak's history and if with that team he failed to lift the trophy at least 2 times then you cannot blame his leadership as there were BETTER teams out there.
Moreover, Imran played with the most consistent batsman in Pak's history, Miandad who was supported by some quality performers with bat. Similarly Akram played without much fitness issues and he was a genuine match winner with Younis, Mushtaq, Qadir. With almost the same team, Salim Malik maintained a much better winning ratio as a leader but he failed to win trophies. I am not comparing Imran or Salim Malik, my point is with a team that good anyone, with his eyes on success, could have made wonders.
Australia (led by ponting) lost to BD and England a couple of years back when their Winner, Symonds was left out for mysterious reasons. Similarly this year Aus (led by Ponting, once again) lost to England in 3 consecutive games including 2 finals, when Symonds was not-fit. On both occasions, Aus was a much much better side than Eng on any rankings and comparison.
So for any team playing against Aus, a misquoted quote (from Troy):
Symonds is one man, look what he did to us...
only way to get this guy to test +ve would be to add something to his dentonic. salay ki bateesi har waqt baher hoti hai.
Thumbs up for the quote, my favorite movie.
When are we expecting the results from chotu, papu, munu and cheema akther?
In first two matches of world cup, when Afridi will not be available, Pakistan should try:
Once Afridi is available, then Pakistan should replace Kaneria by Afridi.With above team, Pakistan will have batting depth to number 8 (when Afridi return), will have 3 Seamers in Akhtar, Gul and Asif/Rana, + Razzaq, one leg spinner in Afridi or Kaneria and one off spinner in Malik.
^^ the 2 warm-up games ![]()
Pakistan will play against Canada in warm up game.
March 6 :D
and on March 9 :( they will play against Saffies
and this time Saffies will likely face Akhtar. :) This means a good practice match for Pak.
^ lets hope that inshallah fastest and asif will be available for this contest!
fastest injured you mean ![]()
Thats another record to his name.
The most frequently injured bowler of the history of Cricket.
Who didn’t play 60% of the matches during his career due to injuries. For all record keepers, the number of missed matches have well exceeded the number of played.
Well he is a player bigger than the board (PCB) at least. He must have maintained a better ratio (i.e. at least 80-90%) if there were other stars playing in this team.
With 1 star in sky, half of this World will not be able to watch it for 50-60% of the time.
With the fastest in team,who ever can be a winner.
Anyone who is expecting Shoaib Akhtar playing in WC '07 should play videos of WC 1999 and WC 2003 during the games of WC'2007 just to watch "Shoaib Akhtar in world cup matches" :p
^ so true. Our problem is not absence of Actor. Rather it is a winning combination that clicks at the super 8 level in the Semi and Final of the tournament.
I personally believe Asif and Gul can rip apart any attack if they click together. So it is more needed that we have Asif and Gul completely fit and the batting doen't fail. If you give Gul/Asif/3rd pacer enough runs on the board they will pull it off.