Pakistan - A History in photographs

Re: Pakistan - A History in photographs

Ignore, if question is too personal, but why were they disappointed if your child was girl? what was your fault?

Jinnah traveled by AC class, Gandhi traveled in Third Class after he was thrown out of first class in Africa all through his life :slight_smile:

Amazing yaaar :k: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

For the first time I came to know that there were A.C Coaches back then!!!

The last image of the tickets gives a a sense of nostalgia.This was the form used in India till 1990’s or the end of 1990’s…

Promise of Pakistan - An Earliest Documentary of Pakistan

There was no fault at all in having a girl, like many Pakistani people my family members want to have as many boys as possible, the reason they always gave is that you have to marry the girls, do them away, the sons you keep. Even though this is 2014 and my family and Pakistani family friends live in Europe, they still have this strange thinking. Perhaps they are changing opinions now and are making less trouble about having daughters. That's what I hope. Another reason is, they often see a daughter as a potentional threat to the family honour.

All this is ridicilous, yet I see even many Pakistani people with this mentality, not just in the Netherlands, but also in the U.K. and France and I met some in Pakistan with the same thoughts. My mother was even disappointed in me not being a boy, she often told me so during my entire life.

To me, my daughter is not a burden, like any teens, she has her ups and downs, but other than that, she's a great daughter. I couldn't have wished for any other daughter. (does her homework on time without me having to tell her, helps me out if needed, works hard, listens to me when I tell her something, we do have a different opinion on certain subjects, but we both respect each others opinion, sometimes my daughter is almost like a friend to me, we share our love for certain books and movies, she never talks back to me in a nasty way, I enjoy her company every day and couldn't imagine life without her, yes, I know, she is growing up and will have her own life, I will get used to that because I want her to have a great life, when she is sad, I have a difficult time too, because I want to take her sadness away and unfortunately, I can't always do that for her, there are certain troubles in life every human has to go through which no one can take away, and perhaps shouldn't, because they are a part of life too, okay, now I have to stop typing, I'm going on and on about my child which is boring for other people, sorry if you're still reading this)

Thank you for sharing. I’m playing it right now. :slight_smile:

well, that's THE difference. Gandhii Jii represented the 'awaam and lived a life, as much as possible, that an ordinary Indian used to live while Jinnah Saab is known for his style and luxury [which isn't bad...Allah ne diyaa, Jinnah ne liyaa!] :)

What was gandhi's source of income?

-Gandhi salary as a lawyer, adjusted for inflation would be Rs. 1213960/yr today. This would put him in the upper 5% of the income group, which he gave up to join Congress

-Gandhi died without any property or a will.

He gave up his career to join congress? :hmmm:

of course, he NOT only gave up his career but also left South Africa where he was thrown out of a train for being a colored person. he wanted to fight racism and to free India from the British Raj.

wo to theek hy but look at Jinnah he handled his profession and politics simultaneously and he was a welll known lawyer.How can you be sure about gandhi what you said about him in the above post :p

simple. Islam main Ruhbaniyat nahin…

lol...aap Khud paRh leN searcxh kar ke.

lol...tabhii to aaj bhii Zardaris, Shareefs and Bhuttos baadshaahat kar rahe haiN! :D

Gandhi kept maran-brath to get Pakistan its due resources. No ?
That was nice of him.

baat Jinah ke shukr aur Gandhi ji ke faqr ki thi. aap patRi se na utren :snooty:

Maulana MoHammad Ali Jauhar and his brother Maulana Shaukat Ali in jail during agitation.

Maulana Shaukat Ali, 1932 in UK

who is this lady in the pic? gorii lagti hai…pata nahiiN kaun haiN! :hmmm:

paTrii kahaN janaab ab to sab ‘paTra’ ho gayaa hai. :smiley:

Thats a historic pic but quite disgusting:

January 1972 :: Indian Troops protecting Sheikh Mujibur Rahman on his return to Bangladesh from Pakistan

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BuXgVdSCYAAxzJ3.jpg