PAK-SL Test series....(merged)

Aap Apni baat karen, I got pressure Supproting the Indian team, so does this mean its a universal problem, or is it only a Indo/Pak Problem.

Anyways Ehsan Bhai is Right on the dot when he says we are too harsh, and I can say the same for the Indians, yes we are too harsh, we want to win every game.

That may not always be possible, but man would I love it.

:mudhosh: :mudhosh: :mudhosh:

Hameed
Farhat
Asim
Inzi
Yoyo
Malik
Moin
Rana/Riaz Afridi
Sami
Shaoib
Kaneria
We need another spinner for the India series. Shoaib Malik (besides the chucking issue) is'nt a good enough spinner to play in a test.
Asim is the perfect man to play #3 in a test. The guy has good technique and lots of heart.
Riaz Afridi has bowled really well domestically in Pakistan, he might get a chance here as well.

i would raather see hameed at number 3!

I read in urdu newspaper today that Moin Khan has left training camp due to some personal commitment and there is a good chance that Rookie keeper Zulqarnain gets his first test cap. Hope he makes it his own or at least make an impression first up.

i would like to c riaz afridi in the team instead of rana

Whitewash will give Pakistan No.2 Test ranking

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan have the chance to claim their best-ever position in Test cricket world rankings in the coming weeks.

If Pakistan can win both matches of the forthcoming home Test series against Sri Lanka, they will climb to second spot behind Australia in the ICC Test Championship table.

Pakistan, currently placed third, play Sri Lanka in the two-Test series starting at Faisalabad on Wednesday and must win both matches to improve their rating from 105 to 110 to overtake England by one point.

England climbed to the second position in August but may have relinquished that position to either Pakistan or India (who can climb to 111 with a 2-1 win over Australia in the ongoing home Test series) before they take on South Africa in home Test series in December.

With a positive outcome in their favour, either England or South Africa could then end their head-to-head series in second place. Sri Lanka will fall just short of second if they win the series against Pakistan. A 2-0 win will put Sri Lanka third —on 108 points while a 1-0 win will boost their rating to 106.

Today, New Zealand will begin their first ever Test match against Bangladesh in Dhaka. New Zealand must win both matches of the two-match series to improve their rating from 94 to 95. If Bangladesh can draw one of the matches, they will improve their rating.

The International Test Championship table on 18 October

Team Rating

1 Australia 129

2 England 109

3 Pakistan 105

4 India 104

5 Sri Lanka 103

6 South Africa 102

7 New Zealand 94

8 West Indies 73

9 Zimbabwe 51

10 Bangladesh 1

i wish it was pak-zim test series n not pak-sl :smiley:

Sri Lanka get another shot at glory](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/OCT/078198_PAKSL2004-05_19OCT2004.html)

The champagne might still be flowing in the Sri Lankan camp, after their resounding win in the final of the Paktel Cup, but the hangover time allotted was just three days. After strangling Pakistan’s run-chase with their masterful use of their part-time spinners, Sri Lanka get another shot at glory with the two-Test series beginning at Faisalabad tomorrow.

Marvan Atapattu may be embroiled in a heated controversy with the selection committee, but he starts the series with a legacy to uphold. Arjuna Ranatunga’s men came back from the dead in 1995 to become the first team to win a series in Pakistan for nearly 15 years. That win triggered off a glittering period, with the 1996 World Cup triumph and victory in the one-off Test at The Oval in 1998 the highlights. Sri Lanka returned to Pakistan in 2000, this time under Sanath Jayasuriya, but the series result read just the same: 2-1 in their favour. **Neither team has managed to win at home in the five series they have played over the last ten years. Home disadvantage will suit Sri Lanka just fine. **

But history and figures may not mean too much to Pakistan. Bob Woolmer will be in charge for the first time in a Test and there have been clear signs of revival in the one-day version. He expressed his disappointment over Saturday’s defeat when he spoke to a few journalists after practice. “It’s a shame to have lost in the final. It was very disappointing to see the team lose despite having the potential to turning the tide. In fact they should have won the tri-series.”

More importantly, the scars of losing to India earlier in the year might not have healed and their batsmen will need to show more gumption than they did in March. Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami have shown the ability to produce shocks in bursts, but Woolmer would want the intensity sustained throughout the series. Pakistan are likely to open the batting with Yasir Hameed and Imran Farhat and both have a chance to show that promise, if persisted with, can deliver results when they matter.

Sri Lanka will rely on their top four to get them the big scores, which would then enable the spinners to get stuck in. Thilan Samaraweera has managed to cross fifty just twice in his last 14 innings and Romesh Kaluwitharana can exhilarate and exasperate in a span of a few minutes. Either Thilina Kandamby or Jehan Mubarak are set to bat at No. 6. The bowling line-up, though, may not be as spin-dominated as earlier Sri Lankan teams, with Lasith Malinga and Dilhara Fernando, both capable of making top-quality batsmen hop, backing up the canny Chaminda Vaas.

The second Test will be played at Karachi, which will host a Test for the first time after May 2002 when New Zealand abandoned their tour midway. Karachi remains a Pakistani fortress where they have lost just one Test, when England pulled off an astonishing run-chase in the twilight in 2000. But Sri Lanka will fancy their chances to go one-up at Faisalabad. After a gritty showing in Australia, they overcame South Africa in a home series and have tasted success in two one-day tournaments in the subcontinent.

And if Sri Lanka are in need of inspiration, they will do well to remember the squad of 1995, who levelled the series at Faisalabad and went on to win it soon after.

Pakistan (probable) 1 Yasir Hameed, 2 Imran Farhat, 3 Asim Kamal, 4 Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), 5 Yousuf Youhana, 6 Abdul Razzaq, 7 Shoaib Malik, 8 Moin Khan (wk), 9 Shoaib Akhtar, 10 Mohammad Sami, 11 Danish Kaneria.

Sri Lanka (probable) 1 Marvan Atapattu (capt), 2 Sanath Jayasuriya, 3 Kumar Sangakkara, 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Thilan Samaraweera, 6 Jehan Mubarak, 7 Romesh Kaluwitharana (wk), 8 Upul Chandana, 9 Chaminda Vaas, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Dilhara Fernando.

*Originally posted by Nancy Drew: *
i would like to c riaz afridi in the team instead of rana

I would like to see Rana, Riaz Afridi and Shoaib in the team, dropping Mohammed Sami.

^ THANK YOU someone agrees with me, drop sami, wat will we miss emm let’s see… a wicketless spell or 1 -2 wickets at the most, 80+ runs next to sami’s name by end of day 1 or abysmal figures @ the end of the test match… yeah won’t miss much, :ahaa: put someone else in his place who is consistent with the ball and can take wickets regularly, when was the last time sami actually took a 5 wicket haul, let’s face it a “bright prospect” a “one for the future” has to deliver rite!

rite let’s clarify something here, murali’ in 1995 took 16 wickets for sri lanka when they beat us and in 2000 he took 26 wickets when they beat us again.. so main factor in sri lanka’s triumph was murali’s performance with the ball, he took the bulk of the wickets, he isn’t around for this test series, let’s see how sri lanka perform without the legendary murali’

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
rite let's clarify something here, murali' in 1995 took 16 wickets for sri lanka when they beat us and in 2000 he took 26 wickets when they beat us again.. so main factor in sri lanka's triumph was murali's performance with the ball, he took the bulk of the wickets, he isn't around for this test series, let's see how sri lanka perform without the legendary murali'

They performed without him well at home against SAffies, I hope they don't do it here :D

I rather see more spinners beside Kaneria. Pakistan will regret the ungreatfulness they’r showing towards Saqlain Mushtaq.

Let me refresh your sport-budds that the idea is to Win a game and then show consistancy to master it and Win the Sport. Like Pakistan enjoyed a period of reign in Squash & Hockey.
Until then these periodical wins here and there mean nothing.
You can see this consistancy in Aussies and few other teams.
Ok! so you lose a few. But look at the lose margins !!! for cry’in out loud !!!

Faisalabad track will be the grave-yard of Fast bowlers,unless they play at least 3 spinners including shahid afridi who is in good nick rite now. :snooty:

Break a rule ! do some thing positive and different + Daring :rotfl:

j/k..Go with 4 Slips / 2 Gully / 2 leg slips / 1 short mid on / 1 short mid off mid wicket :smiley:

and then ask Sami to bowl juicy half-volleys outside the offstump or what ???:smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

ASK ! :eek: did you say Ask Sami :eek:
Array Bhai, ask-mask say kuch nahi hota yeh woh he kerain gay jitna atta hai.
Half & Off volley mai Bowler aur Batsman dono ko "Action Replay ka TV per extra time milta hai.
Papsi peeoo aur Wills kay lutoo mazay :bash:

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

I would like to see Rana, Riaz Afridi and Shoaib in the team, dropping Mohammed Sami.

by shoaib do u mean malik?

anyway, is a good idea to drop sami for a change!

PAKISTAN UPDATE FROM BOB

19 Oct 2004

Hi Everyone sorry that I have not been answering there has been a glitch in the system and I could not get onto the Q & A Page.
However the glitch is sorted and I will be on line tomorrow evening after the first day of the test Match.
The boys were devastaed at not winning the Sri lankan final in Lahore, they really were up for it and cannot understand why they were not able to finish it off. The side for the Test Match reflects two changes at opening and at three Imran Farhat who has scored two Test Centuries returns and Asim kamal for all of his fans will be batting at three. The Faislabad pitch looks apretty good one and they players say it resembles the the pitch that they played on against South Africa.
Wish us luck and I am looking forward to seeing how the team performns in the “Real cricket”.

As I said before please forgive me for not answering it was beyond my control
Kind Regards
BOb

So I think that puts to rest all the speculation about Yasir Hamid and Asim Kamal. Yasir will be opening with Imran Farhat and Asim will be coming at #3. The rest of the team remains the same. I think if Pakistan play both Razzaq and Malik in the test match…the bowling is gonna take some serious hammering. I think we must have Danish Kaneria for test matches…Malik and Razzaq are no where near test level bowlers.

Sky sports and Espn reported and hence confirmed that Moin is not likely to play tomorrow as he left the camp for personal reasons\ and was not back until today.

I agree with Yasir's promotion to the opening slot in tests as well. If he can do the job at one day level, why cant he do it in tests? If at all, that will make him a better player. I would like to see bowling attack consisting of Shoaib, Sami, Naveed and Danish with Malik Or Razzaq coming at number 6 with a bit of all round support. I dont think they will play Younis at number 6. Infact they shouldnt, to strike the right balance.

*Originally posted by Nancy Drew: *

by shoaib do u mean malik?

anyway, is a good idea to drop sami for a change!

Shoaib Akhtar is most of the time referred to as Shoaib, while Shoaib Malik is referred to as Malik. I meant Shoaib Akhtar :)

^ i to avoid confusion call malik sialkotia

i completely disagree with yasir being promoted to open, his natural position when he scored all those rus in domestic cricket was no.3, i know he has extremely well in odi opening, but if according to bob we are really expreimenting that match maybe asim can open, and that can be a problem because besides net he hasnt playes any competative cricket since april!