Pak Band Junoon Live Concert in Kashmir

Re: Pak Band Junoon Live Concert in Kashmir

well indian news channel said one of a kind in 2 decades.
DOES IT NOT TELL INDIANS/INDIAN-LIKES THAT WHO KASHMIR/KASHMIRIS BELONGS TOO??????

Everything is slowly moving towards normalcy - and yet here we have some GS members believing their own "doom & gloom" stories.

Hello moonshiner!

It may seem like a waste of time to you and in fact even very dangerous for people like you who do not want any normalcy in Kashmir to become public.

But this concert and the other development programs are important to show to all that things are getting better after Pakistan based terrorism was cut down. To the extent that people don't mind attenting concerts in thousands, in spite of the death threats!

This has shown how powerless and impotent the Pakstan supported so called 'separatists' are.

Regards
Pundit Vikram

So whats the holdup? Hold a plebiscite and shut us up once and for all.

Mufakkar Bhai

1. In some other article you want Independence for Kashmir (Janabistan).
  2. Now you talk of 'Plebiscite' ( choice was between India or Pakistan - not Independence).

Please make up you mind.

Wow what desparation! When have I ever said that the plebiscite should have only two choices? It can have the independance option too, I am all for it....but the question remains....what are we waiting for?

My answer to #64 is "can't".

If you do not know the UN conditions to the Plebiscite, please read it before replying.

You know how hard it is to discuss with people who keep changing their stance, or do not know the difference between Independence & plebiscite...

More squirming. I was merely answering the Pundit sahib who was claiming normalcy in Kashmir because of one concert. So if things are so normal then nothing should detract from asking people of Kashmir what THEY want. Call it whatever you want: independance, pleciscite, elections, democracy in action, bhookas gone mild etc. but the fact remains: if things are normal, then the Kashmiris should be given the opportunity to decide their future, no ifs or buts unless you are afraid of what they might say.

Mu fakkar Bhai - wrong answer. You still have not read the UN conditions for holding the Plebiscite. Be a good boy and read them before replying.

Jammu & Kashmir is a state in India - they can elect their own chief Minister & parties..

More squirming. If everything is "normal" and the kashmiri people have rejected separation, just ask them...that sure would shut us all up.

Just a little reminder, Jammu and Kashmir are occupied territories with a history of sham elections even admitted to by elements of the Indian government. The Indian army is present in Kashmir to help the citizens choose the "right" candidate or else.... and the Indian government doesn't even trust them from time to time, Imposing direct governor rule.

I don't know how many members here have ever been to Kashmir i have been there for 15 Days & following is what i have seen :

People are fed up with militancy i had a word with a "Shikara" owner he told me that local (Not afgan) Militants don't hurt tourist as these are the people who are pumping money in the valley. His shikara (House Boat) costed Rs.350 to 400 per day some 3-4 years back now it costs Rs.3500 to 4000 the tourism business in valley is flourishing.

I met a sledge owner (wooden sledge) he use to be a terrorist before but now is happy doing this business he told he earns enough to feed his family throughout the winter.

I remember a quote
"When a Man walks his belly is in front of his Head"

lets hope somebody shoots junoon , or maybe a landmine gets them

DR bhaijaan, your harshness can sometimes get the better of you, but your heart is in the right place :hugz:

“junoon” or salman ahmad conning people into listening to him, surely risk severe bodily harm ANYTIME they sing at a public place, let alone when singing and dancing for the Indian president while betraying the liberation-seeking Kashmiri people.

A Proof of what i was saying

Employment generation in the country increased considerably in the eight-year period – 1998 to 2005, as compared to between 1990 and 1998, according to the Economic Census released by the government recently. Employment grew at the rate of 2.78 per cent in 1998-2005, which is much higher than the 1.75 per cent recorded during 1990-98, the 5th Economic Census report said.
The report, compiled by the Central Statistical Organisation, listed the top five states in India in terms of employment generation. To know more, read on.
Jammu and Kashmir: Job growth – 6.82%
Farming, animal husbandry and tourism form an intergral part of the state’s economy. Though increased rated of terrorism and insurgency had hit the state’s tourism industry in the past, it has somewhat rebounded in recent years.
The Kashmir valley earns its revenue from sericulture, fisheries, and fruits like apples, pears, other temperate fruits as well as nuts. Wood from this area is used to make cricket bats. Kashmiri saffron too brings the state a handsome amount of foreign exchange.
In recent times, many FMCG companies have opened manufacturing units in the region. However, industrial development in the region seems a difficult proposition mainly because of the region’s mountaneous terrain and insurgency.
The Indian government has embarked on an ambitious Kashmir Railway to improve the state’s infrastructure.
In 2006, the state reported a gross state domestic product of Rs 539,850 million.

http://specials.rediff.com/money/2008/jun/02jobs1.htm

Kashmir Cantata
Junoon, the soft-rocking dervishes from Pakistan,
came as a rare musical interlude
Namrata Joshi
Outlook India
.Despite staying in the same hotel, it proved hard to pin down Salman Ahmed-the lead singer and guitarist of the Pakistani Sufi rock group Junoon-for an interview. Faced with opposition from hardliners against his concert, he preferred to lie low, doing riyaaz at the crack of dawn by the peaceful expanse of Dal Lake, instead of talking to the media. But after the success of the concert, it was quite another story-Salman had become an instant celebrity, a bigger presence in the Kashmir capital than the visiting president of India. When our turn with him finally came at 2.30 am, you could hear the joy in his voice, even at that unearthly hour.
“After performing in innumerable shows you can get jaded, till something like this comes along to energise you,” said Salman, “the response was totally unexpected, unprecedented.” The concert, organised by the South Asia Foundation (a secular, non-profit, non-political organisation with chapters in the eight SAARC nations), in association with the University of Kashmir, was indeed unique, the first of its kind in the two decades since militancy claimed Kashmir in 1989. There have been occasional concerts like those of Begum Akhtar and Farida Khanum but those were for the bureaucracy and officials. Junoon’s show was the first one for the public, packing in over 5,000 people. The venue at Chashm-e-Shahi made it even more memorable, with the majestic Zabarwan ranges providing a dramatic backdrop to the stage and the tranquil waters of the Dal Lake spread in front.
In this idyllic setting, Junoon’s music spoke of all the right things: peace and harmony, pluralism, unity and regional cooperation, of music transcending religion to bring people together. The political symbolism of the concert became more pronounced, given the fact that just a couple of days before the event, the United Jehad Council, the umbrella group of militant organisations, had passed a resolution against the show. Their leader Syed Salahuddin had urged the Pakistan government to stop Junoon’s performance since it would have a negative impact on the “disputed status” of Kashmir and send a wrong signal to the international community that “Kashmir was an integral part of India”.
Salman’s response was to dub his show a “jehad for peace”. “It’s about waging a war through the guitar rather than the gun,” he said. “Both sides of the border, we have been demonising the other, but music is a universal emotion and the success of Pakistani musicians in India, like Atif Aslam, Strings and Jal, shows another way to take the peace process forward,” he added. “We have begun something, now it’s for others to take it forward,” said Union minister Mani Shankar Aiyer who heads the India chapter of SAF.
.Junoon’s concert had cultural significance as well: it marked the opening of the Institute of Kashmir Studies at the University of Kashmir, which aims to revive the region’s rich and distinctive culture. But more than political-cultural issues, the concert’s real significance was in the way it reached out to young Kashmiris. They flocked to the venue in hordes, stood for hours in long queues; patiently bore with rigorous security checks and the scorching sun. But none of this dampened their enthusiasm. In fact, it came as a rare relief from the tensions-and tedium-of their daily lives…
“The boys here have been facing bullets in the last 20 years and the girls have hardly seen anything of life,”. observed a local journalist. Indeed, youngsters in Srinagar have very few options for entertainment other than watching TV or DVDs. There are no malls, multiplexes or clubs.“We carry our music and spend time listening to it by the lake,” said Rashid, a student at Kashmir University.
In such a limited and limiting world, the concert was a release, specially for the girls. And they seized the moment with gusto. They sat quietly as the concert began, gently moving their hands to the tunes. By the time Salman began playing the hot favourite, Sayonee, they were up on their feet, clapping, dancing and whistling in happy abandon. What helped was the fact that Junoon’s is the kind of music they could instantly connect with. It was their language, their concerns and feelings, be it Meri awaaz suno, mujhe azaad karo or Yaaro yehi dosti hai; Iqbal’s Khudi ko kar bulund itna or Bulle Shah’s Mandir dha de, masjid dha de.
“We want more such events here,” said college student Aban Mullick. The environment certainly seems conducive at the moment for fostering a lively youth culture. The town might look as though it is under siege, bathed in army hues of olive green and khaki, but Srinagar has been peaceful for a while now. The economy is looking up a little with tourists from Gujarat, south India and Bengal cavorting in .the Mughal Gardens and posing for pictures in shikaras. Life seems normal but the underlying unease is also palpable. One incident can tilt the balance-that’s the unspoken fear.
And though the young may have lost themselves happily in Junoon’s music for an evening, their frustration at the lack of opportunities in the Valley remains. The concert was but a glimpse of a normal, vibrant world, that’s still a long way out of their reach.
caption
Survival instinct: Salman Ahmed’s has got to be the best in the business. Not to be deterred by the end of Junoon as we knew it, he has soldiered on alone without Ali and Brian and made it to and in Kashmir!

http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20080609&fname=Junoon+(F)&sid=1

You don't know me or whether or not I want normalcy in Kashmir. I know for you Indians, your definition of normalcy is the mass genocide of Kashmiri people and the rape of Kashmiri people. A sick and barbaric people you are.

To the extent that people don't mind attenting concerts in thousands, in spite of the death threats!

People go to these concerts for drugs, and nothing else.

This has shown how powerless and impotent the Pakstan supported so called 'separatists' are.

No it just shows how desperate the Indians are to take a crappy concert to justify the Indian army's rape and murder of the Kashmiri people.

Hello mufakar,

Unfortunately for you I have asked a number of Kashmiri people and they are telling me increasingly that Kashmir indeed is returning to some semblance of peace ever since the number of cross-border infiltration came down dramatically. This only proves the Indian assertion that Pakistan is at the root of terrorism in Kashmir.

The Indian army will always be in Kashmir because it is a border with an enemy state that has repeatedly tried to take Kashmir away.

There is no such thing as right candidate, only right representatives.

regards
Pundit Vikram

Hello mufakkar,

Whatever for? We really don't care if you don't shut up - shout all you want.

regards
Pundit Vikram

Yes, mufakkar, keep shouting. Your shouting will not stop the barbaric and cowardly Indian army from killing innocent Kashmiris or raping Kashmiri women.

Hello Das Reich,

It is obvious why many Pakistanis will feel all is lost as the situation in Kashmir keeps improving. But Why would you wish such harsh fate for a band of musicians who are bringing some joy? It is actually natural justice that the people in Kashmir who have for so long been terrorized by jihadis out of Pakistan are somewhat entertained by musicians from Pakistan - a small token make up.

Regards
Pundit Vikram