Re: Non-functional Chief Justice v Supreme Judicial Council
6 out of 13, hmmmm so what about the other 7 who did not resign?
One of the 7 was Justice Iftkihar - he took the oath under the PCO. He also validated Musharraf's military coup.
Nazriya-e-zaroorat
english please :) my urdu ran out
One of those was Justice Iftkihar - he took the oath under the PCO. He also validated Musharraf's military coup. :)
Thats what i telll my friends don't try to male a hero out of him. Its not the Iftikhar Chaudhary's persona that is important, i oppose the action coz it reflects the dictatorial style of goernance that has been trade mark of Pakistan's ruling elite.
ifti ki drama baazi bhi khatam naheen hoteen. whats next ..to gain support he will promise imposition of shariah if he gets restored to his post.
self serving ppl.
and these are our top judges...sheesh
Iftikhar said:-
Pakistan's suspended top judge Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry has reportedly expressed 'complete faith' in Justice Rana Bhagwandas who was sworn in as acting chief justice Saturday.
Justice Chaudhry, currently facing a presidential reference, believes he will receive a fair hearing before the Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) headed by Justice Bhagwandas and this could facilitate his staging 'an honourable comeback', sources close to him have said.
english please :) my urdu ran out
doctrine of neccessity, it's the legal argument that military dictators use to justify their rule. Examples follow
"I had no choice to intervene, clean the country of corruption and give power to the people because politicians made a mess of things" (ayub khan 1958)
"I had no choice to kill Pakistanis because politicians made a mess of things" (Yahya khan 1969 after taking over from ayub )
"I had no choice to kill my former boss, spread drugs and kalshinkovs and make shias and sunnis kill each other because politicians made a mess of things" (Zia ulHaq 1979)
Thats what i telll my friends don't try to male a hero out of him. Its not the Iftikhar Chaudhary's persona that is important, i oppose the action coz it reflects the dictatorial style of goernance that has been trade mark of Pakistan's ruling elite.
I am sure Iftikhar can claim Nazriya zaroorat as well?
doctrine of neccessity, it's the legal argument that military dictators use to justify their rule. Examples follow
"I had no choice to intervene, clean the country of corruption and give power to the people because politicians made a mess of things" (ayub khan 1958)
"I had no choice to kill Pakistanis because politicians made a mess of things" (Yahya khan 1969 after taking over from ayub )
"I had no choice to kill my former boss, spread drugs and kalshinkovs and make shias and sunnis kill each other because politicians made a mess of things" (Zia ulHaq 1979)
oh okay I understand it, so basically giving some lame reason to justify one's actions...
kinda like the excuses BB had for the ill planned action in karachi that harassed innocent civilians, laid seige of entire neighbourhoods and allowed rangers and tulleyto kidnap ppl for ransom etc? I mean human rights group and Un kinda noted it
or the one that nawaaz used to destroy large chunks of people's savings when he took over forieg exchange accts?
I get it, thanks for explaining :)
PS: what nazriya e zaroorat was behind SGS, and surrey palace etc? just wondering, thank you for info
Kharboozaey ko dekh kar kharbooza rung pakrta hai.
This is a pretty bogus thing to say...You very well know that these kharboozay's are pretty puraanay paapi...Abb rang parkarnay ki umarr guzar chuki hai,they are all dheshut gard ghundaas.
I knew it that Aitzaaz Hussein will be playing this "conflict of interest" card against the residing judges.
Justice javed Iqbal has 3.5 years left....acting CJ BD will retire on 11 December 2007
so will 3.5 years of Javed Iqbal will miss without being CJ...how can be he neutral.....
Justice Dogar ...also the same case
justice Ifthikhar of LHC ....i think...very seroius charges also against him of corruption......
Uulta chor kotwal ko dantai !!!!!
What a waste of energy and bandwidth this thread. There's no such thing as non-functional Chief Justice. tch tch.
Aitzaz Ahsan is a high ranking PPP-P MNA as well so he has own very big “conflict of interest”. I think the non-functional CJ should have the courage to speak out against his fellow justices if he has any concern, because he has previously reposed full confidence in ACJ Rana.
He should also speak against the witch hunt that has been launched by his supporters against their colleagues all over the country.
**Pro-CJ lawyers launch witchunt against dissenters **](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=250208)
S the net result is that anyone who did not resign supports musharraf. What logic? remember Zia's referendum. This makes his warped logic respectable.
^ yup apparently if a million people come on the streets tomorrow they'll be arguing it was only 0.5% of the people :D
Justice javed Iqbal has 3.5 years left....acting CJ BD will retire on 11 December 2007 so will 3.5 years of Javed Iqbal will miss without being CJ...how can be he neutral.....
Justice Dogar ...also the same case
Justice Iftikhar also owes his elevation to the position of CJ to the fact that he swore an oath on Musharraf's PCO. He also validated his military coup under the premise of "doctrine of necessity". So pretty flimsy allegations by PPP-P MNA Ch. Aitzaz on behalf of Ch. Iftikhar, if that is the case.
ehsan bhai kou baat naheen hota hai. but in future lets not use 2-3 people resigning as proof of some sort of didapproval avalanche.
yeh ifti banda chahta kya hai waisay, england say judges bulayein is kay review kay liye, woh ss par bhi conflict of interest lay aaye ga.
his and his lawyers yipyap on conflict of interest is annoying, he is basically saying that he feels that these, the highest level judges in the country would put their interests before law.
so who is now undermining the image of judiciary and all that jazz,
I really don't care much about Ifti. it was the principle and pigheadedness of the dictator that I am against. he broke the rules to save his own skin and he should be held accountable for it. Principle matters dictators don't.
I luuuurrrvvvv this turn of events. ![]()
May the ex-CJ ifti chaudhry saab get public chitroling on his butt cheeks. Ameen sum ameen.
You know one thing I admired about Zia was the chitroling was public. In the dailies, you’d see a picture of some poor sod with his happy cheeks facing the camera and a nice flexi cane winding towards the cheeks. Let’s bring those days back and start with ex-CJ ifti chaudhry. ~OO