New Captain - When & Who?

Re: New Captain - When & Who?

This is an imuture thought to place a call for a hangman each time Pakistan loses a match or the series for that matter.

Never forget the fact that each time a team wins or loses your own compatability of being an enthusiatic cricket follower (Fan) is on the line too.

Such are the times when your opinions and tactical analysis are more important and prime, I’m afraid the opionions and querries of the thread starter ain’t one of them. :chai:

:jhanda:

How about making younis captain of Test Team? This way he can get experience plus Inzi wont be hurt too.
just a thought, what do u guys think?

First of all the talk of Inzamam's captaincy have been there all along and not just after this series defeat. He's never been the sharpest one. Many people have said that he might look laid back and lazy but he is not, well most people are pretty damned sure that he is lazy and laid back. He lacks the guts to take bold deicions, he is not an attacking captain and he lacks the knowledge about the rules of the game as well. How the ehll can he get out a couple of months ago whileavoiding the ball and then come out after obstructing the field and tell everyone he cant understands the rule. Well dumb a** last time you were in the crease and only came out of the crease while taking evasive action, while this time around you were walking down the pitch and you stopped the ball from hitting the stumps while you are standing outside. See the different now ?? duhhhhh

He is an uninspiring captain, not very creative with his filed placing, batting order or bowler shuffling. Bringing Razzaq in the 30th over in the last match. He might as well not have bowled. He has gotten Sachin out a few times give him the freakin ball, when he got it he dismissed Sachin but by that time Sachin had already done his job.

Inzamam is and always was the wrong choice for a captain. I am not doubting his class as a batsmen but he is not tactician and a horrible captain. Younis will make a much better captain, atleast he tries to bring his players up when they are down like patting Imran Farhat when he dropped a catch, like running from the slips to the bowler giving him advice and sprinting back to the slip, showing energy to pump up the rest of the team. Inzi must be sacked or I am afriad his stupidity will cost Pakistan a shot at the world cup.

Off all the Pakistani players, Shoib Mailk looks like the most thinking player. He should be made captain.

Younis Khan - My first choice.

Other potential captains:

Shahid Afridi
Shoaib Malik
Shoaib Akhtar

We need someone aggressive with a sharp cricketing brain, and not a guy sleepwalking dreaming of biryani.

The only way Inzi can lead is by example and that's it. If he doesn't perform, he is unable to inspire his bowlers and batsmen to win games. The reason he is respected is because the players are young and lack ego. They might be flashy but we have not heard of any jelousy or ill-will between players. Inzi being lucky is banking of this great opportunity. Inzi's field placement is weak, strategy is unclear and plan is un-announced. I once heard Javed during an interview to Geo where he said something like "team combination is the most important thing, if you have that than every captain is the best". On the other hand what captain is the best. Ricky? and that's about it...Dravid is new but he again can lead with his performance.

Inzi is great and he won't mess it up for our team....not now and Inshallah not in the coming series. He helped us Draw win tests and One Days. His performance against England is for the ages. He is in a form like no other batsmen. The only thing holding him back is his age and back otherwise he is still the most trusted and reliable batsmen ever....! If we want to replace him we have to think about several things, would this move affect the team chemistry? winning % and mind set? If yes how so? Would this be a gamble? If worked Balle Balle, if not we are in deep trouble going into WC' 07. You see risk won't traslate into Victory. So, better stay put with Inzi.

Other choices after Younis would be Afridi, Akhtar and Malik. I am not in favor of Afridi and Akhtar becoming captain or vice-captain because when you step on this plate, there is just ridiculous amount of scrutinty that goes into it. Just look at Inzi before and after captaincy. How many times we talked about his accent and other things? Akhtar and Afridi are free spirit, they are great when left alone. They perform well when THEY make THEIR own plans and decision. They have done so much for the team just by being there and providing them with the energy that is needed. Malik is young, we should give him time to mature. He is a great prospect though.

You guys are amazing. You have taken down Inzi's pants from every angle. Bechara bhaalo hamara.

Anyway, I doubt Inzi will be replaced before WC. Ofcourse, if Inzi's fitness deteriorates, then he may just decide not to play ODI's regularly, in which case, Younis will make permanent captain for the ODI team, while Inzi remains Test captain.

• Of all the other candidates whose names are taken, Malik is perhaps the strongest bet. He was groomed as a captain before his shenenigans in the domestic Twenty20 tourny, and now its all up in the air.
  • Yousaf is not likely to be recalled in the role of a skipper.
  • Akhtar is not consistntly physically fit to be made captain.
  • Razzaq doesn't display the kind of attentiveness that a captain needs nor does he seem to be contributing his knowledge in the field.
  • Afridi is an intriguing choice, ofcourse. As long as he is fit, he is a permanent part of both teams, and is very senior. His patchy performances in the past never allowed him to be taken seriously. *]Other rookie choices for long term planning purposes will be Akmal, Butt and may be Faisal Iqbal. The former two have guaranteed slots in the team, and Faisal Iqbal is waiting for Inzi to retire or get unfit. Logically speaking, all these senior players/potential captains should be made skippers of their domestic teams for local tournaments and then their leadership skills be gauged before jumping ahead with anyone for the national team.

Faisal Bhai,

One good reason, for your Statements about Moyo. You just said not likely, But why?????

I would still say

1st Inzi
2nd Moyo
3rd Younis
4th Malik

Yeah, you can say that. Point is, there was a reason he was removed as vice captain. Now, your guess is as good as mine as to why. May be he didn't want to be captain. May be the powers-that-be decided he doesn't have a captain's mind or body language (though what they saw in Inzi back in '03 makes this a hilarious comparison). Whatever the case may be, I don't think he will be recalled as a skipper, unless there is a big disaster (like Younis jumps off a cliff).

It has become a mystry. Javed Miandad in his Cutting Edge claims to introduce Akram to Imran. In another Urdu book which claims to be Akram’s autobiography (which I do not believe), does not tell how Akram got to the top while still playing for Ludhyana Gymkhana.

I know one Mr. Tahir Shah, a former first-class cricketer who once used to be incharge of cricket team of Civil Line college, Lahore. He is famous for disqualifying Wasim Akram who applied to get admision in Civil LIne college on sports basis. He oversaw Akram going through bowling test and failed him :cb:

A senior colleague of mine who briefly played for Ludhyana Gymkhana, had a few weeks of nets with Akram. He does not have anything special to tell except that Akram would get longest spells during nets.

Nahi Faisal Bhai,

Does your own argument convince you yourself, and you and I both know chances of Younis jumping off a cliff are pretty slim.

So like I have been saying since 2004, why not groom Malik??? and avoid the un necessary friction, because thats where morals are built or burnt.

Aejaz

Childish, very childish.

Well said:k:

That’s the best way:k:

I think they already are.

Inzamam must remain as Captain till he retires, and similarly Younis Khan may remain vice Captain till he retires. After Inzamam, at least Younis must not lead Pak, even Butt is more suitable in this role, or even Kamran Akmal.

Not biryani, more like siree payee, parathas, lassi and to top it off with a nice and long afternoon nap.

Losing one series should not used as a criteria to judge any captains performance as a leader. Inzi was never leadership material from the begining this can be ascertained by the fact that he did not even lead a domestic side before taking over the national team. Having said that, he has shown remarkable improvement which is easily verifiable from his excellent track record. But here lies the problem. One, he has always been trying to catch up in terms of leadership abilities. Secondly, his luck may have just ended. From here Pakistan will be going to Sri Lanka, how the team performs will be extremely important for the most testing of tours ie ENGLAND. Given the teams weakness against seaming deliveries, chances are Pakistan will get a drubbing by the English team and that too just before the most important WC-07.

Basically guys, Pakistan is caught in between a rock and hard place or as we say in Karachi, yahan denee hai yah thaanay chalke. Appointing a new guy is unlikely to change anything in the immediate future, if anything ppl will look back and say why remove a established captain. Problem he problem.

In my opinion, it should be a phased transition but with clarity and objectivity. Inzi should allow Yunus Khan more matches to lead as captain so players also get used to the eventual change and till the WC-07 we all hope and pray for mota alloo staying fit.

after inzi retires younis shud be the captain

Can’t remember the source as It has been very long ago (when i was a young :slight_smile: cricket playing teener). Anyhow, it was not only Akram but other bowlers too, like Aqib and Waqar who were may be not discovered, but definitely polished by Imran. “Discover” meant here not only picking them from the street, it means he SAW that these guys had something in them and he kept those guys in the team and guided them becoming one of the best in the world, especially Akram and Waqar.

I think Inzi should stay until WC 2007
and guys please don't forget series against India, West Indies and England
I am sure he is 100% capable of leading our team from front.