Name that apparatus!

Re: Name that apparatus!

looks like some sort of LATHE machine.....looks more like a workshop equipment than a lab equipment ...

Well, I see a sample holder in the middle and some lens around it so it is a magnification tool of some sort.

its multi test-tube vibrator/shaker...i forgot the name of it though :D

Ah, so they're test tube holders, not lens! I still have no idea what it is.

Not quite folks...

Okay heres a clue this apparatus is related to the last piece of equipment I posted, both belong to the same scientific field. The former was a detector this apparatus is used for analysing and BBC is along the right lines yes it does have multiple sample holders and lenses, it's a specialist piece due to the fact that the material it handles is very volatile and harmfull. :)

not just a holder...it holds multiple test-tubes and shakes/vibrates in order to precipitate the solution.

Not quite but a very vey good guess… It does perform a simmilar function but it does not shake… :cb:

The arms move in and out etc… the object does not shake.

NomiCA was close when he said Lathe… if you think along the lines of CNC machine thats probably closer… :slight_smile:

Okay I dont want to leave you guys hanging so i’ll break it to you…

I didn’t mean to be so mean and give you guys a hard question. Its a Multi Counter Gamma-Ray Goniometer… You all knew that anyway though. Its for testing the output of radioactive substances. :slight_smile:

Feel free to take over the game folks I’ve had enough… :biggthumb:

bhai jaan…we all started from high school laboratory…u went to university or research institute level…:bummer:

Muje maaf kaor merey bhai… now play on.. I wont get in the way and will pass on my turn to others Okay… :biggthumb:

Your turn NomiCA :cheer:

Main sonay laga hoon paai g.....i only studied science till highschool :D......so go on have fun :D

a multi gamma ray gonadometer.. how nice.

this is the first time i am hearing its english name. mujhe laga english main koi naam nahi hoga hawan daste ka.

LOL!! This one might be useful for some Life1 folks.

Thoubah Thoubah… no matter how many of them might want to stick me in a straightjacket and cage I will not Zap them with a frightfull piece of apparatus that deals with Nuclear materials… :snooty:

It’s a common piece of lab apparatus… though it’s origins come from the medieval Apothecary proffesion. Which is akin to the desi Hakeem. :hehe:

hawan dasta aur lab…interesting and quite shocking. btw lab main is se kya kaam lete hain?

Faris jee, I wasn’t talking about the gonIOmeter..

Well it's usefull for crushing up substances prior to analysis or to help mix them into a solution... For example even basic plant extracts can be utilised to extract vital chemical agents.

For Example Garlic can be crushed to analyse the Arsenic content etc...

Oh :bummer: