My beard story (its too long and boring)

as you already have mentioned about “safai nisf iman hay” i wont talk about that. and of course you know that one of the most important and regularly followed and most emphasized faraz is “Namaz”, 5 times a day, and i’m sure you also heared about “taharat”? a faraz which has to be performed 5 times a day cannot be performed without proper cleanliness (taharat), you can easily guess the level of emphasize on cleanliness in Islam.

now about the bold part, yes i think you may be the only one!!! may be your locality is like that? or may be the “islamic men” you are talking about are not really that much islamic as you said. you start going to a masjid to offer namaz regularly on daily basis, and you will notice that those who follow islam according to sunnah, they really are one of the most clean and hygiene conscious people around! at least that’s my experience, lets hear from those who go to masjid on regular basis, and pray with these “bearded” men you claiming are not clean…

and one important thing, always remember who are the two guys you are comparing? what is their nature job? what does their work demand from them? if you compare a guy with some white color job all day siting in an air conditioned office who doesn’t have a beard with a laborer who’s job is to do very laborious work under the sun, or lets say a “chowkidar” who stands all day outside at the gate of your office, and then you claim that you smell odor from these guys but not from the one who’s siting all day in an air conditioned office, of course then you are doing no justice… and actually trying to make mockery of one of the very much emphasized sunnahs of our beloved prophet Muhammad :saw2: by just saying that people who follow this, they stink! i hope you understand the point, and wont like to face the consequences of saying so

just remember the possibilities and level of facilities available at the disposal of both…

having said that, yes one must employ ALL possible means to remain as clean as possible, and attain the level of taharat required (we are only talking about physical cleanliness, taharat, not tazkia)

and let me quot something from Quran, ALLAH :subhanahu: says, while praising men who pray in Masjid-al-quba"…Therein are men who love to cleanse themselves; and Allah loves those who cleanse themselves" (9:108)

Thank you STP, for your post.

Exactly Aceones, that's what I meant. One's supposed to 'cleanse' oneself 5 times a day. So, how can anyone who claims of being a strict follower like those I am referring to (bearded & burka followers) stink so bad to the extent of offending others? When you look at them, you naturally feel ‘respect’ for them because the instantly one assumes them to be ‘better’ muslims but it disappears the moment you get a little closer. On the top of that they consider the moderate followers to be the 'sinners' because they do not have a beard or wear a burka & they also backbite about them. There are quite a number of reasons why I call them goats & ninjas.

You know, I am never so concerned about observing who says their regular prayers & who does not because I believe saying prayers is a matter between the follower & Allah Himself. It is none of my business. So, I really do not know all of these so called strictly 'religious' followers were also regular with their prayers. It is none of my concerns.

It is not like I have not seen some real aged bearded religious figures who are true representatives of Islam in every sense. But then these are the figures whose habits are the most humble & they are not offensive to anyone by their word or actions. I do respect them from the bottom of my heart. I was merely pointing out that it is important for our religious scholars to emphasize on the Islamic FARZ which have priority over the other ones.

Which two guys? I was not comparing only two guys but a bunch of bearded & bukra Islamic followers who I happened to get around with in a prestigious college of Pakistan I was enrolled in last year (I do not regret going there because I also met so many nice & ‘normal’ people). But the bunch I am talking about, they were students. And just like you, I also thought that you never know how they manage to reach the college & you never know about their personal circumstances. That is true, you must be easy on them. BUT……… I lost my patience when I started to hear ‘not so good’ opinions of that bunch about those who were not following the same Islamic trends as them (beard & burka). The hypocrisy of those goats & ninjas were not a nice experience at all (for all of the ‘normal’ moderate followers). At every opportunity, they would try to tell you that you are a sinner for not having a beard / burka. One day, I just lost it so I said in a loud voice. I do not think any of you has a right to speak about Islam - which has strict rules on personal cleanliness & hygien – because the body odour of all of you ‘Islamic’ people is so offensive that I cannot take anything which you say seriously. Well, atleast they stopped bothering rest of the people after that. So, it was wise of me to do that because after that, they left us alone.

And no, LOL, this bunch was not from my locality & I was infact shocked to come across such strictly ‘Islamic’ people for the first time in life. In their own minds, they were the best of the believers, they claimed to know everything said in Quran & sunnah. They challenged me to participate in an arguement with them about ‘Islam’. I never claimed to know everything about Islam. I am always learning & I am sure out of whateverI know, there are so many things which still need more research to know about them completely. I told them I would consider arguing with them when I do not find them stinky which I did on a daily basis. Well, it shut them up. Maybe they also learned something ‘new’ (yet so basic) about Islam. Maybe they discovered that they did not know ‘everything’ about Islam as they always claimed earlier.

and let me quot something from Quran, ALLAH says, while praising men who pray in Masjid-al-quba"....Therein are men who love to cleanse themselves; and Allah loves those who cleanse themselves" (9:108)

Thank you so much for the quote from Quran. I am sure there are more about the subject.

sure that was wise of you, actually i guess too much wise... you did not get the point of my post, did you? that's not what i'm saying. central ideal of my previous post just for you. "those bearded and burka people (whom you are calling names) are much more cleaner, at least the ones i've had chance to see and be with."

Amazing was just thinking the same after asr when read this beautiful post.

May ALLAH give you istiqamat inshallah

Re: My beard story (its too long and boring)

^ JazakAllah khair brother for the kind words of encouragement.

Thanks Ambassador1 and Aceones! for sparing sometime and sharing your views in detail. Helps me a lot to learn and correct my self.

Salam Alaikum brother,

A very nice, and inspiring post (as always). May Allah (swt) reward you for your efforts (past, present and future). JazakAllah for sharing your experience. May we all be inspired from it. :)

^Walaikum Assalam brother. Wa iyyakum. Very nice to see you back brother after quite sometime. Really missed your contribution on this forum. Specially, when you used to write a verse and then draw a lesson from it. The wisdom in those posts inspired me and I used to email it to people I know, without your permission. I wish that you continue to share more on this forum, so that people like me can benefit.

It is amazing that these days whenever I meet an old friend, colleague, even people who used to oppose keeping beards the most, I find them with a beard. In the past you would mostly find beard on the faces of people who didn't hold a good (worldly) post in the society. But now you would find it common among most influential people in all fields of life in a Muslim Society. Therefore it has become easier for a parent, wife..etc. to accept this positive change in their son, husband..etc. Alhamdulillah

:salam2: STB! long time didn’t c ya around :slight_smile:

STP ..That is Just an amazing way to guide others without force by practicing it yourself and you ve proven to show the result that members in your family now follow a sunnah because you took the courage to stand by your love for the Prophet SAW ..

Alhamdolillah.. I am personally from a religious family .. but when i was out from family .. in school i was mocked ...in collage and in uni .. esp the days when 9/11 happened .. and not mocked just by non muslims but sadly the muslims .. i was at times saddened by the fact that why are muslims like this .. but then one day while some muslim girls were mocking me ..i tried to avoid them .. but there was one sikh girl who actually came upto me and told me that we are not of the same religion but we too also have a concept of beard .. and then this sikh girl went upto those muslim girls and had a go at them ..i.e. this sikh girl stood up for me .....for me this was an eye opener that no matter what ..you shud give priority to your religion ...from that day .. i always kept this hadith in my mind that ..

the prophet SAW said .in times of chaos..i.e. bad times ... if one keeps/follows a sunnah of mine .. he/she shall get the reward of 100 shaheed.

When I was young I grew up with visions and constant sagas of Islam's great hereos.

I came from a martial fammily and in modern days most martial fammilies sadly have adopted the Western style of clean shaven warriors as per Alexander the Great and other more recent stylists.

But all my heros were full bearded and were consumate heroes of thier times.

Rasool Allah Sallalho Alyhi wassalam has not a shadow let alone anything that can be compared to his most holy person and that alone is reason to wear the beard.

All the notable Shabah wore beards...

Muslim warriors from Khalid Bin Waleed to Alp Arsalan and from Mahmood of Ghazni to Abdel Qadir had full beards....

Okay some only wore Moustaches or were clean shaven but the majority wore full beards and I have chosen to emulate the majority.

may ALLAH blees you yaar I have also beard but that is growing very slowly so every one PRAY for me because I didnt shave much

aww:k:

May Allah (swt) make it easy for every one to follow each and every single sunnah of the prophet (saw).

@Faris_Udeen. Beautiful sharing.

Masha'Allah!

I loved reading your post. Thank you very much.

having a beard does not mean ANYTHING. It doesn't make one a better muslim. If it did then santa claus is the most perfect muslim this universe has EVER seen.

it is lunacy to believe that beard = "good muslim." A very narrow way of thinking.

Praying and Fasting doesnt make anyone a better muslim. If it did then Talibaan would be best muslims today.

This is lovely <3
Thank you for posting :)

exactly the ninjas should take baths & beard guys should clean it instead of putting oil on it, disgusting.

make a lot of sense.