Re: Movie evening …
and if the votes dont get us anywhere , we will be flipping a coin ![]()
Re: Movie evening ...
google earth zindabad :D
Yay lol
nahi mujhe tou koi masla nahi hai…awein pooch liya
I agree 100 percent , desi do not believe in watching movie and then leaving right after. They would hang around for hours till all the dogs go home.
So if they hang around there is bound to be dinner time soon and you have to feed them. If you schedule the movie evening late meaning around dinner time then they will expect dinner in addition to all those lovely snacks you are planning to serve.
So think twice before arranging a movie evening ,or a tea party , or an ice cream party , or a dance party , or drinks only party. ![]()
actually Mirch has got a point … I am now thinking , i will keep an arrangement for a very light dinner , nothing fancy ..
How about pizza’s as dinner and then the snacks to be served during the movie ? I am planning on making a proper mahool .. like the guests will be able to get up and get their plates topped up on snacks and drinks during intervals only ![]()
^ that sounds good.
Thanks for acknowledging and appreciating my insight into a desi mind and typical desi behavior. ![]()
Now how would you stop some hungry/greedy soul to standup and go for a second round before or after the interval ? You will have to buy a long sota/danda or a whip. ![]()
why don't you do a pot luck kinds, like you make 1-2 things, let someone else bring the drinks, and someone else to bring 1 more item. For movie night we don't go for more than 2-3 snacks, host tu bas khara hi rahe na kitchen mein :(
Last movie nigth we had very light batter wali veggies( baby corn, green pepper, aalo, sweet potato, greenchilli, the big one. The batter was besan with dill, liquified with plain soda, not water, and salt and pepper)
chicken wings
pop corn bags available incase anybody wants to pop some.
Drinks self serve, chai durnig interval. The besan batter was divided in two batches, aik batch before interval aik after.
THere was another one we did a a while ago with jalapeno poppers, mini pizzas(each divided in half) and waras( like falafel)
HAVE FUN....
Dont forget the movie. ![]()
mini pizza bites
mini roast beef sandwiches
mini turkey sandwiches
melon salad
pinwheels
Reha
you are unstoppable
… such lovely ideas ![]()
CB…I am such a paitoo…![]()
Hope you have an awesome movie night!!!
It also depends what kind of movie you are going to watch ..
like if its a horror one, you may want to have lesser lights to elevate the mood. In that case, you dont want to have food that may spill or drip (like salsa or dip)
if its a drama or slow romantic movie, you dont want the food that makes too much of noise (no chips or popcorn, I guess)
similarly, placing of the food is also important, like in case of a thriller, suspense, murder mystery movie - you dont want food that needs people to leave the area to go and refill plates or drinks.
You are so wise
or it was googling at is best? ![]()
No no, it was not goggling, it was through personal experience :D
wise tips TLK :shabash's TLK:
I'd probably go for bites on cocktail sticks, as they're easy to eat, and you can prepare in advance. They also look good:
Spanish tortillia cut into cubes
Cheese and pineapple (retro I know - but I love them)
Mozzarrella/feta and cherry tomato
Chicken bites
Mini meatballs and chargrilled peppers
Salmon bites
Marinated prawns wrapped in mangetout
Sausage bites (halal/zabiha of course)
White and milk choclate dipped cherries (technically not cocktail sticks - but a similar concept)
Or forgetting the cocktail stick idea completely - popcorn chicken- yum.
Ziada Rachel Ray bun-nay key zaroorat nahi , desion key movie night hay , kuch to desi items bhee honay cha-e-a.
Rachel Ray ![]()
err, I mean Chicken Bites ![]()
If theres no Tea then sorry I’m not coming ![]()