Re: Mother's name vs father's name on the day of judgement
^ Yeah.
Additionally, I can also ask, "why the father's name?"
but then I'll get the typical arguments about how Islam is all about the strong connection with your father's side of the family, and how father dominates, blah blah blah, despite the fact that it was your mom who bothered to carry your sorry behind in her womb for 10 months (up to 1 month she might not be aware of her pregnancy) PLUS delivering your 13 lb self (knowing the desi appetite) in labor.
I mean, it would be so demeaning to be identified by your mother.
parents are equally necesarry. they are both noble and respectable. support from parents is a blessing that no one can replace.
i never heard that parents's names will be asked for.
perhaps this has some historical meaning to it in hadith which i would like to know about and fully understand.
a logical point is that since we associate with our parents, in any thing we do, on the day of judgement it is all the more reason to be known in realtion to them.
yet, that does not mean, that our actions are not independently accounted for in front of Allah.
any thoughts?
dushwari
next we will be worrying about what happens to kids and parents with similar names? how will we know we are indeed called? aur where is the ceremony being arranged!
^ Yeah.
... it was your mom who bothered to carry your sorry behind in her womb for 10 months (up to 1 month she might not be aware of her pregnancy) PLUS delivering your 13 lb self (knowing the desi appetite) in labor.
Duh! Even if she didn't know it would still be 9 months. Sis, 13 lb baby, aray Godzilla ka bachcha thori hai ....
^i've seen 13 lb new born babies but they are rare...........most babies are around 6 to 9 lb.
jazakAllah khair cricketplaya...........
hanibal...Adam(AS) was born without a father too.......even without a mother.
Allah knows best.
And Also, Hazrat Musa Alehsalaam....
As to my limited knowledge of Islam, on the day of judgement, we'll be called by the name of our fathers.
(Not related to the topic: I read somewhere that Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) prefered women to be known by their kuniat (their father's name) even after getting married because on the day of judgement, they'll called by their father's name. He (PBUH) did not frown upon changing the name after getting married, just prefered father's name over husband's --Is this valid?)
Duh! Even if she didn't know it would still be 9 months. Sis, 13 lb baby, aray Godzilla ka bachcha thori hai ....
maybe someone she knew was 13lb :D
^i've seen 13 lb new born babies but they are rare...........most babies are around 6 to 9 lb.
Exactly, Godzilla bhi koi aam cheez nahi hai
maybe someone she knew was 13lb :D
Exactly, Godzilla bhi koi aam cheez nahi hai
the average weight of a baby is between 6 to 9 lb......the average weight of placenta is 2 to 3 lb............and the average weight of water amniotic fluid is around 1 to 2 lb. So the overall range is between 9 to 14 lb.
the logic that the father's name is not certain is so stupid....
even if men dont know who the father is (for sure), Allah knows the truth....
this absurd logic cannot be used to justify calling ppl by their mothers' names....
and Isa (as) is a unique case, u can not use one person's case to call everyone else, billions and billions of them, by their mothers' names....
in Quran also Allah used the father's name for everyone and singled out Isa (as) to be called by his mother's name....
He can do the same on the day of Qiyama....
actually, calling one by his mother's name in arabic culture, is similar to calling him a ******* i.e. indirectly implying that his father is unknown....
so, yes, it is demeaning to be identified by one's mother....
in the west, this practice of filling out the mother's name is in use because of their culture where fathers r not identified, or usually dont even live with the mother and/or children....
the logic that the father's name is not certain is so stupid....
even if men dont know who the father is (for sure), Allah knows the truth....
this absurd logic cannot be used to justify calling ppl by their mothers' names....
and Isa (as) is a unique case, u can not use one person's case to call everyone else, billions and billions of them, by their mothers' names....
in Quran also Allah used the father's name for everyone and singled out Isa (as) to be called by his mother's name....
He can do the same on the day of Qiyama....
thats true
actually, calling one by his mother's name in arabic culture, is similar to calling him a ******* i.e. indirectly implying that his father is unknown....
so, yes, it is demeaning to be identified by one's mother....
in the west, this practice of filling out the mother's name is in use because of their culture where fathers r not identified, or usually dont even live with the mother and/or children....
here You don't have to fill mother's name in......its optional.
I meant to write Hazrat Isa, mistakenly wrote Musa...appologies.
lol you feminist
(Not related to the topic: I read somewhere that Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) prefered women to be known by their kuniat (their father's name) even after getting married because on the day of judgement, they'll called by their father's name. He (PBUH) did not frown upon changing the name after getting married, just prefered father's name over husband's --Is this valid?)
Does anyone have any references regarding this statement?!? Please share!