Miandad's tribute to Imran Khan

between LahoriMunda, you gotta have too much time on your hand to be converting a book into pdf. If you have too much time, go wash your car or summin..

:p

Re: Miandad's tribute to Imran Khan

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

Imran capacity for hard work is an example to all aspiring cricketers. It is an example, in fact, to anyone who seeks rare accomplishment in any sphere of life. Early on in his playing days, Imran had developed a strict routine of physical training that he adhered to without fail throughout his playing days. He would run and perform his demanding aerobics daily, with no exceptions. Every day, he would 6-8 overs without fail. He wouldn’t be bowling to any batsman but would just be on his own, bowling at a single stump. There would be popping crease, and 22 yards away there would be the solitary stump. In that setting Imran would bowl 6-8 overs every day without fail – just Imran and the craft of bowling, with the rest of the world completely blocked out.

I remember watching Khan sahib doing his practice during those hot summer afternoons. He would just have the stumps without a batsman and practice all by himself. He used to go to one of the ground in Lahore its by the Quid-e-Azam library I forgot the name of that ground.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
between LahoriMunda, you gotta have too much time on your hand to be converting a book into pdf. If you have too much time, go wash your car or summin..

:p

I never said it was going to be done soon. Whenever I have a little time I write a couple of pages. It might take a while unless someone else who also have the book can work on it with me. :(

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

I never said it was going to be done soon. Whenever I have a little time I write a couple of pages. It might take a while unless someone else who also have the book can work on it with me. :(

I have the book, i might be able to work with you... the next month is going to be extremely busy for me.. But i will let you know ok??

Hmmmmmmmm!!!!! wouldnt that be piracy?

We all know how he paid Imran and the whole nation by performing astonishingly well, ahhhhhhhhhh golden memories. One of the vivid memories of that era is Miandad hugging Imran just after the WC victory, that was one of the best moments in pakistan cricketing history. Two distant high-profile personalities, uniting to get the job done for pakistan and the feeling of releif, joy, accomplishment was evident.

There used to be a program ‘Aap ki Adalat’ aired from some indian channel. Once Imran was being interviewed in that program he was asked by the commentator about the differences with Miandad, Imran said ** " We had our differences, magar Javed poori jaan laga ker Pakistan ke liye khailta thaa aur isi wajah se yeh differences kabhi itnay baray nahi huay ke humain goal se hata dein, baaki yeh ke differences tu bhaiyon main bhi ho jaatay hain "** :k:

oh yeah it would be :konfused: thanks for pointing that out. we will see how to deal with this issue :smiley: if at all.

The point being that I hope it won’t be posted here then.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

The point being that I hope it won't be posted here then.

well obviosly Ehsan bhai, not to worry at all :D I know the ethics of this board :)

Arey Ehsan Bhai aap to abhi se parishan khan khatak ban gaye. It will not be posted here... we'll just offer it to be dowloaded via MSN or something. I'll ask Teaser if he will put it on his ftp server and that way everyone can contact him.

Originally posted by saby:
I have the book, i might be able to work with you... the next month is going to be extremely busy for me.. But i will let you know ok??

That would be great. Just pick out the chapters you wanna copy and I'll pick the rest, take your time whenever you can do it would be fine. It will still be a lot quicker then me doing it by myself.

why Zaved bhai doing muskabhaji for Imran? (just making joking...not searyes)

Well, in that case the URL's for the broadcasting is also piracy... Kher, nobody really cares...

Abay Oye! :mad:
Do you want me to beat you up? :frusty2:

:stuck_out_tongue:

one point not corct may be. why Javed doing muskabhaji also writen like this in book?

‘Imran played an important role in my final ouster from the captaincy’

Javed Miandad/Saad Shafqat | July 09, 2003

A move was afoot to unseat me and make Wasim Akram the new captain of Pakistan. The origins of this move could ultimately be traced back to Imran, whose influence was still very strong. Imran was close to all the top Board officials including the chairman and the secretary, and had formally been retained as a Pakistan Cricket Board advisor.

I don’t know what Imran’s motives were; I can only guess at them. Perhaps he felt an undisturbed Miandad captaincy would overshadow his legacy. Imran had not formally retired after the 1992 World Cup. He had injured his shoulder during the World Cup and it was more or less understood that by then he had played the last of his international cricket. Just before I departed for England for the Test series, the Pakistan Cricket Board secretary, Shahid Rafi, assured me that I was going to remain as captain of Pakistan for as long as I continued to play. Imran, he said, was not in the picture at all.

Imran was very much around in England when I took the team there at the beginning of the 1992 summer. He was writing columns and articles in the English press and wrote a few pieces where I thought he was trying to disclose our weaknesses and our strategy. In one of his columns he wrote that the Pakistani batting would be most exposed on seaming wickets. It wasn’t as if he was revealing state secrets to the enemy, but it wasn’t the sort of thing you expected from your immediate past captain.

During that tour, Imran was also in contact with several members of the team, especially the younger ones. He even threw a party in which he invited the entire team with the exception of three people – Ramiz, Saleem Malik, and myself. I found this strange. Here was a man who just a few months ago was captaining from a lofty perch, unwilling to give the team’s youngsters even the time of day, now he was reaching out to these very same lowly youngsters and inviting them to dinner. Something was wrong with this picture.

My guess is that Imran’s efforts were aimed at trying to create an intrigue against my captaincy. I had a fabulous tour of England in 1992 and had no fears for the captaincy then. At the time these actions of Imran’s had not seemed important; but it all made perfect sense once I had seen my dreams of uninterrupted captaincy go up in flames after returning from New Zealand in 1992-93.

'Javed would much rather cheer for the underdog'

As I have said, part of the reason behind Imran’s behaviour was I think his fear that I would obscure his legacy. I think part of it, too, was resentment at the way the final days of his own captaincy had played out. We had won the 1992 World Cup under him, but he was not a universally admired man within that team. He was a fine cricket leader and no one doubted that, but the players’ patience with his obsession for the hospital fundraising had started to wear thin. The players had nicknamed him ‘Meter’, implying a money counter that was always ticking. Imran was well aware that none of the players was sad to see him go.

As I said, I am only guessing at Imran’s motives, though I am certain he played an important role in my final ouster from the captaincy

rediff.com, that explains it all.

actaully rediff took it all from the book "Cutting Edge". As someone else also mentioned above his feelings for Imran in the book has fluctuated a lot.

It was Worth reading this Thread… zabrdast…

Thanx To all U Guppies..

IMRAN KHAN the gr8… and.. Gr8 is Always gr8 :slight_smile:

:soldier: Pakistan Zindabad :soldier:

And… some ppl say that.. look at the Records.. some Bowlers are better than him… I admit that.. Records are better .. BUT.. Also remember..that IMRAN KHAN was out from Cricket due to injury when he was on his Peak… for Three Years…

Imagine.. anothe bowler.. who couldnot play for Peak Three yrs and, then.. Produce the records like the gr8 Imran Khan

one person saying Inran gr8 (= great). then why javed one day doing muskabhaji and one more day write book with all lafda?