MEDICINE is not a JOKE!!!

Re: MEDICINE is not a JOKE!!!

**Oh paa jee…twadi meray naal kadi laraai weh?:confused: …Assi wi palwaan banday aan…laa loh zor…:2guns: **:woho: :mocking:

Kazi:hoonh:

kazi and other poeple... Hi... I am also a medic at Barts. I hope you poeple know where Barts is..

Anyways howz study going at Liverpool and Manchester..

What year are you in Kazi?

Hey Ayesha…I jus finished this year…start in august…i’m a manc, who studied in liverpool, who will be working back in manc…that make sense? LOL…

Barts…isn’t that somewhere in america…springfield…next to homers and marges? LOL…yeah know where that is…heard it’s da bomb…

BTW…what yr r u?

yeh kazi so you have finsihed this year.. congrats.
Well you dont know where Barts is.. Its same as Queen Marys but you see Barts wants it to be called Barts and the London NOT queen mary...
Ok, I have done my BSc originally cz I came very late from Pak and well Am starting this year now in sept...
meri madad kerna.. kahan sey ho aap originally? surprising to see a doc on this forum.. were u an international student?

im not from manchester and neither am i doing medicine.

im pharmacy student…but id say the first couple of years are the same…or in fact pharmacy is probably harder :snooty:

and when we start working, we get paid more than doctors. beat that :snooty:

Thanks!
Im a brit-pak, Mancunian born n bred…but a lahori at heart…

Liverpool and Manchester have similar course structure, and Alhamdulillah, it hasn’t been too overwhelming…but London ki to baat hi kuch aur hai…Bas Allah hi bajaay…LOL…joking…I’m sure you will be fine… Just don’t let it take over your life…and you will be fine

**Kazi:hoonh: **

how come u didnt go Manchester uni? its got a much better reputation etc.

Pharmacy is probably harder in first few years…I agree…thats cos they take it easy on the medics…the real deal kicks in during fourth/fith year…and as for wages…nowadays pre-registration doctors start on a salary of about £30-£36k…if i’m correct in thinking, that is kinda on par with a fully registered pharamcist’s wage…so beat it!
**Kazi:hoonh: **

pharmacists get paid better than docs in UK? :eek:

my friends brother has done his Medicine degree at Liverpool uni and its been 2/3 years…his wage is lower than that off a pharmacists…u dont get over £30k as a doctor in the first few years…the only time when a doctors pay goes up is when they become surgeons etc…otherwise its not good pay…and taking into account the oncalls etc u have to do and the stress u have at work every day…and seeing people die everyday …losing all ur emotions and normal feelings that people have..and all the other horrible things that being a doctor involves..i think im happier being a pharmacst :slight_smile:

I at one point was certain i want to do medicine…but after having talked to a couple of people in Med school…i changed my mind…its not worth the headache.

dayum then its better to be a doc in USA! All these other med techs work under docs and docs, no doubt, get the HIGHEST pay of all :smokin: dayum can’t wait till that day :blush:

how much do u get…
i means whats the pay for a junior doctor?
a GP?
hospital doctor?
surgeon?

(if u can say it in pounds that would be great :slight_smile: )

im not sure how much in pounds but right after graduation it starts at least from 40-60 K and after 3 yrs it raises up to 100k and up dependin on in which your are specializing. If I want to be a pediatrician then it will be 150 K but if a surgeon then starts from 200K and up. General Practioner would be 100 K

whats that in pounds? :bummer:

i know the numbers seem much higher in dollars…cuz 1 pound = many dollars.

but i dont know the exact figures. never mind :bummer:

to be honest, I prefer a job that is flexible and can balance family/social life with work…if i had a 500K job but no life…whats the point. am i going to take them money to my grave with me :rolleyes:

however if i had a 500k job…and i can work whenever i like and take off whichever day i like …that would be great :love:

when i do become pharmacist next year insha-allah…i want to work as locum…so i can work whenever i want to. and take off as many days as i want :slight_smile:

LOL…ok…that depends upon the individual…whether they get burnt-out and stuff…

secondly…i’m fairly upto date with my knowledge about wages…i’ve just spent days lookin over contracts and stuff…

it works like this…
we get a basic flat rate of about £22k…
then we have supplements, dependant upon the intensity of the job u r doing- this looks at your rotation, the on-call commitments etc… this is called banding…
in band 2b- we get basic times 1.5 …so thts like £33k
in band 2a- we get basic time 1.8…so thts like £39k

most hospitals outside of london will get band 2b…

whats ur friends brother called…i probably know him…he must be hiding his wage form his mum…tht lil fibber!
PS Who said it was a competition anyway???

true Impulse..very true. I am also concern about balancing things out between work and family. But then I think to get to something sacrifice is a must, specially in a medicine. And ofcourse I am not bcoming a doc for the sake of money…infact i did think of pharmacy before gettin in med school but for some reason it didnt appeal me much. I was more concerned about hand on hand contact with my patients..thats wat i enjoyed most duriing my volunteer work in hospitals. But yea bcoming a doc and working as a doc in USA is not easy..high money dont come easy in USA.

Insha’allah yours and ours dreams will come true. :k:

And oh yeah “Miss Impulse”…I know of at least 2 desi people in my year group, who were fully qulaified as pharmacists…but decided to pursue medicine…ur dissing it now…but i bet in 2/3 yrs time ul be filling out ur UCAS form!

^ for guys its different but I doubt any girl would do it who also wana keep a family.

One of them is a girl!..or should i say woman…

They both have really enjoyed it…kinda had a head-start on us lot, since they were post-grads…plus they would work locum for like a week in the hols and then they’d be financially sorted for weeks!

im not dissing it at all…its just not my cup of tea. its good u guys are doing it…but being a doctor in UK/USA is a big headache…theres many people in my class who had the grades for Medicine but didnt do it…i ask them and they all give the same answer -its a headache…the studying as well as the job. why would anyone want to be stressed out for the rest of their life…

maybe its ok to practice in some countries…but i wouldnt want to in UK.

plus, it scared me when someone told me that doctors see people dieing everyday…after a while, they get so used to it that it doesnt affect them at all…like seeing the bodies as just machines to fix.

and I hate seeing blood and theres no way i could cut open dead bodies :yukh:

and apparently doctors dont have the same emotions as normal people

ps. ur attitude is not very doctor like Mr Kazi jee
I have heard people get rejected at interviews based on their attitudes how did they manage to accept you :rotfl: